WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Grrr.... 8.2 changes killed nUI, did it kill other UI addons? (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=57209)

Xrystal 06-17-19 03:38 PM

Grrr.... 8.2 changes killed nUI, did it kill other UI addons?
 
The last time I played on 8.2 ptr was when it was release 30495.. it was working fine then .. now at 30827 something has been changed in the game that affects nUI's loading sequence, with no error codes .... guess its a 295 file debug run to find out at which point it stops rofl.

Has any of the other UI addons had the same problem ? And if so, can anyone point me in the right direction :)

MunkDev 06-17-19 03:40 PM

Not sure if related, but I sometimes do not get Lua errors on login, but get them after reloading. If you haven't checked this yet, try that out first.

Xrystal 06-17-19 03:49 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MunkDev (Post 332403)
Not sure if related, but I sometimes do not get Lua errors on login, but get them after reloading. If you haven't checked this yet, try that out first.

Yeah, I thought that too .. tried reloading and even went back to the version before which worked also but that doesn't work either. Kicking myself that I didn't check it sooner than a month after the last check.

Xrystal 06-17-19 04:08 PM

Well, decided to install bugsack and !buggrabber .. totally forgot that I didn't have it installed as the built in error report has been adequate so far ..

Anyway, buggrabber found 14 errors that must have been introduced due to 8.2 changes ..

1. Main > Action[SetPoint] failed because[SetPoint would result in anchor family connection]: attempted from: WorldFrame:SetPoint.",
2. StatusBars > attempt to index field 'parent' (a nil value)"
3. ChatFrame > attempt to call method 'registerScalableFrame' (a nil value)"
4. InfoPanel > attempt to call method 'registerSkinnedFrame' (a nil value)"
5. Same as 4 for Minimap
6. Minimap Location Frame > attempt to call field 'HideDefaultFrame' (a nil value)",
7. UnitFrames > attempt to call method 'TableInsertByValue' (a nil value)"
8. ChatFrame > attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'hScale' (a nil value)"
9. FrameMover > attempt to call method 'setScale' (a nil value)"
10. Power Bars > attempt to perform arithmetic on field 'vScale' (a nil value)"
11. XPBars/ButtonBars > Couldn't find region named 'nUI_BottomLeftBar'"
12. Same as 7 for a different Unit Frame
13. Same as 9 for bag bar
14. Minimap Location Frame > attempt to perform arithmetic on upvalue 'center_x' (a nil value)"

Most of those errors ( from memory ) are due to an earlier failure to set up the base nUI frames. Seeing as they are reliant on the WorldFrame I suspect they changed something there that is affecting nUI's startup process. Hopefully that cuts the debug code down signficantly.


Edit:
This is the only change I could see on Gethe's site for 8.2 changes that may be related

Nameplates anchoring is now restricted to only those in the same anchor "family". This was done to disable drawing lines to nameplates. Unfortunately nothing to explain what an anchor family is.

Xrystal 06-17-19 06:38 PM

Well, it looks like the problem is due to this line that Scott has had in the addon since day 1.

WorldFrame:SetPoint( "BOTTOM", nUI_Dashboard, "CENTER", 0, 0 );

It essentially resizes the WorldFrame so that the addon UI doesn't obscure the game frame. It looks like this may no longer be feasible/allowable.

Fizzlemizz 06-17-19 06:54 PM

Resetting the ViewPort still works on the PTR. My UI toggles the size up-down for Alt-Z without error

Code:

WorldFrame:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", 0, 0)
WorldFrame:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, (bottom * (2668 / currentYResolution)))


Xrystal 06-17-19 07:56 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Fizzlemizz (Post 332410)
Resetting the ViewPort still works on the PTR. My UI toggles the size up-down for Alt-Z without error

Code:

WorldFrame:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", 0, 0)
WorldFrame:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, (bottom * (2668 / currentYResolution)))


Thanks, I think in nUI's case it may be the reference frame that is in question based on the error reported. I've added it to my mental list of things to look into..

Calesta 06-22-19 01:27 PM

I use LightViewPorter for a lightweight viewport addon and it too was affected by the changes made to the PTR in early June. I get the following error message.

Action[SetPoint] failed because [SetPoint would result in anchor family connection]

I'm not a programmer so I have no idea how to 'fix' it, but I thought I'd share it here because this was the only reference to the issue I could find. I just wanted to let you know that you're not the only one affected.

If anyone has a 'fix' for this change, then I'd encourage you to share it here because I'm guessing that a number of addons with related functionality will be affected when the patch hits.

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 01:33 PM

Possibly to do with the new secure anchoring system. If you anchor to a restricted frame or a frame that inherits a restricted template or a frame that even briefly glances sideways at a restricted frame you could end up with a problem.

That said, just adjusting the size of the WorldFrame using SetPoint without reference anchor works.

Calesta 06-22-19 01:46 PM

Is that a one-time fix or do you have to do it every time you load the game?

Do you just use the code you shared above? In game? Or add it to a file in the addon?

Apologies for the 20 questions. :)

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 01:58 PM

In LVP's core.lua file, after the line "frame:SetFrameStrata("BACKGROUND")" and before "frame:SetPoint(point1, UIParent, point1)" you could try adding

Code:

frame:ClearAllPoints()
No guarantees, I just saw this suggested elsewhere even though it's not been needed in the past and my addon certainly doesn't ClearAllPoints even for mutiple ViewPort size changes with Alt-Z. Unless it also has to do with timing as I don't make any adjustments until after PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD.

Calesta 06-22-19 03:02 PM

Thanks! Your code inserted into the core.lua file where indicated didn't seem to fix the problem.

I might be out of luck with this addon as the author doesn't play any more. It's such a lightweight, simple addon and it's worked for many expansions / patches with no changes needed. If you know any good alternatives, then please share them in the thread and maybe others can benefit from your recommendations when searching on this issue.

A bit frustrating that it was working fine on the PTR until just recently. Blizzard made a change in the last few weeks to something that probably didn't need it in a patch release.

I appreciate the responses and didn't mean to derail the thread from the original issue. I just wanted to make the poster aware that it wasn't just nUI that was affected.

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 03:13 PM

I would try removing all add-ons apart from LVP (and bugsack/buggrabber) and log-in again just in case it's the "frame that even briefly glances sideways at a restricted frame" and nothing to do with LVP.

Calesta 06-22-19 03:25 PM

I just tried disabling all addons save for !BugGrabber, BugSack and LightViewPorter. The viewport doesn't appear and the error message remains unchanged in BugSack.

I'm guessing that means it definitely an issue with LVP, right?

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 03:34 PM

Can you post the contents of your config.lua file?

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 03:41 PM

Comment out the four lines that start with "blackbox(" by placing two dashes in front of them eg.

Code:

-- blackbox("TOPLEFT",    "TOPRIGHT",    "BOTTOM", "TOP");

Calesta 06-22-19 03:48 PM

Commenting out those four lines worked! The viewport appeared and I didn't get any error messages.

I thought that the function 'blackbox' was the whole point of the file and was needed to create the viewport, but apparently not. What's the point of core.lua then? :)

In any case, thanks so much for helping to troubleshoot my issue!

Fizzlemizz 06-22-19 03:55 PM

The BlackBox created "surround/border" frames that was presumably to hide the television "noise" effect some older versions of WoW could get when you peeked behind the WorldFrame and didn't cover it with UI elements.

The last three lines in Core.lua do the real work of adjusting your view into the game.

WorldFrame now seems to be a "restricted" frame for anchoring other frames.

Code to create the error in 8.2:
Code:

local frame = CreateFrame("Frame")
frame:ClearAllPoints()
frame:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", WorldFrame)
frame:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", UIParent)


Calesta 06-22-19 04:09 PM

Thanks for clearing that up. Hope this helps others when they search for the issue! :)

Zam89 06-26-19 12:59 AM

Hi,

I have the same Issue with this code:

Code:

local function movePlacement(self)
        self:ClearAllPoints()
        self:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT", WorldFrame, "BOTTOMRIGHT", 0, 300)
end

This is where the function will be set to the Tooltip:

Code:

GameTooltip:HookScript("OnTooltipSetUnit", movePlacement)
GameTooltip:HookScript("OnTooltipSetQuest", movePlacement)
GameTooltip:HookScript("OnTooltipSetSpell", movePlacement)
GameTooltip:HookScript("OnTooltipSetDefaultAnchor", movePlacement)

It sets the GameTooltip to the Bottom right, but it seams that we can not anchor it to the WorldFrame.

Any idea how to fix this?

Thanks.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:30 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI