WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Carbonite Archive (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=158)
-   -   Where do we go from here (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=44574)

Rythal 10-01-12 12:17 AM

Where do we go from here
 
While we have been thankful to faatal & haavok for the addon we know and love, we are now standing on the thresh-hold.

The source has been released to us, The source is actually very nice to work with since it is broken down into what controls what, and seperate files for each part of it. This will make fixing it a lot easier for myself and any others who chose to, along with allowing all the things we wanted and hoped for to come to reality.

I have uploaded the version a lot of us were already using, even tho it's still not perfect. And as of now I'm not doing anymore updates. (no don't get scared explanation coming)

It just wouldn't make sense to continue updating the massive 26k line beast I have been, not when we have this wonderful orderly meal given to us by them. So I need to redo all the changes I've done up to this point, just to get us on stable footing for moving forward. Once i've reached that point, then we can look at what not I only I want but what you the community wants, and work towards creating the Carbonite we always hoped and dreamed for.

mondoz 10-01-12 12:31 AM

Your hard work is much appreciated!

Teakettle 10-01-12 12:53 AM

Thank you for the updates, I find the map and its features to be very helpful.

What version of the GPL is the code released?

-- Found it - Version 3 (from the readme file)

schizophrena 10-01-12 01:20 AM

I'm sure the open source will save you countless months worth of sleepless nights, but you will still be putting in many I'm sure. Thank you for your willingness to take on the project and your time to upgrade it back to a very worthy and fixed status.

One thing you may also want to explain is how people who are interested in writing and supplying code for you can go about it. I am not one of those types, my understanding is extremely limited and I don't have the time to learn or do it either - but I know this will be a question of many.

Rythal 10-01-12 01:23 AM

I'll be using WI's git services for that, I already created the GIT, and will upload the source once it's up to date.

tinyu 10-01-12 04:55 AM

One thing that I've requested multiple times is a option to completely disable Carbonites Flight Timer because the times keep changing depending on the direction the taxi is going, if it goes towards the desitinion it counts down if its moving away it counts up.

Also a complete overhaul of the Options window would be a definate must, perhaps utilize Blizzards option menus?

robszr2 10-01-12 06:12 AM

Where will you be uploading the file to once you have it updated? Will it still be on carboniteaddon.com or will it be on wow interface?

Mardread 10-01-12 06:31 AM

Direction
 
Hi Rythal,

First, a big thank you to Faatal and Havok for opening up the project. I believe this is the right step for them to do as they no longer play the game and have their own lives that take priority for them. I am sure everyone appreciate's the hard work you are about to undertake in this huge addon.

Now, my suggestions for this beast:

1. Map.

Before using Carbonite full time, I used Cartographer 3. Even though it never left the development stage, this minimap addon was almost perfect and allowed the "Google" style of maps. The part that made it awesome to me was that it did not add the zoomed out maps that Blizzard uses for default. It just used the detailed maps all the time. This is not really practical when the map is opened up for full display though. My understanding of the map right now is that there is no difference between the minimap and map other than display size. This is a good idea as it sort of combines the two into one. I would just like to keep the main maps out of the minimap display and just leave the detailed maps permanently. When in map view, then the artwork maps can display just like they do now. I don't really know if this can be done, but it's just a suggestion and an opinion.

2. Quests.

I actually like the quest watch frame along with it's look. I have not been able to find a suitable replacement for it anywhere, although Questhelper 2 had a pretty cool setup (I think this addon is dead, but not quite sure) and integration. I also like the quest log. So other than fixing the database and pathing(?), this is good to go.

3. Nodes.

I do use this feature, but not all the time. I don't know how important this part is to the whole addon, but I think it could probably be dropped because there are other addons which actually do a better job (Gatherer, GatherMate2). I think allowing the integration of these into Carbonite would save you time. Again, only an opinion.

4. Enhanced Social Window.

I do not use any of these features and turn them off. If you wish to streamline the addon, this would probably be a good place to start.

5. User Interface.

I use Aurora for everything in my interface (I used to use Skinner). To allow better integration with custom interfaces, you could allow for third party addons to change the look of the UI. Just another suggestion.

6. Options Menu.

I agree with tinyu for an options menu overhaul. Right now, the addon saves settings for each individual character. Why not make it a universal setting for all characters. Everytime I make a change in my interface, I have to log into each character I have and import settings from the saved character. This is a cumbersome method and more suited for action bars and unit frames. Make it universal across the board. Or, you could simplify this by using the same profiles method that most addon authors use.

7. Tracking Hud.

I like the look of this over TomTom, but adding additional options to turn on/off parts of it as tinyu mentioned would be cool. Not necessary though.

That's my list.

Ok. So this is a long list. It's all suggestions and I am sure many folks will have more to input and disagree with what I have written. I like the changes that you have already made and I am sure you will make choices that the majority of the community will enjoy. Thank you again for taking over and keeping this great addon alive.

-Mardread

tinyu 10-01-12 06:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Mardread (Post 265517)

6. Options Menu.

Right now, the addon saves settings for each individual character. Why not make it a universal setting for all characters. Everytime I make a change in my interface, I have to log into each character I have and import settings from the saved character. This is a cumbersome method and more suited for action bars and unit frames. Make it universal across the board. Or, you could simplify this by using the same profiles method that most addon authors use.

Some people have completely different setups for each character so the way I see it is the only way to go is to have both a "per character" and "universal" save option.

Also with your comment about the way Carbonite handles gather nodes, it only does it badly because it's never been updated properly (AFAIK) and when I played I like the blinking minimap node alerts carbonite had :D

Rythal 10-01-12 07:03 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by tinyu (Post 265519)
Some people have completely different setups for each character so the way I see it is the only way to go is to have both a "per character" and "universal" save option.

Also with your comment about the way Carbonite handles gather nodes, it only does it badly because it's never been updated properly (AFAIK) and when I played I like the blinking minimap node alerts carbonite had :D

I will most likely be converting the options over to ace3config / ace3db to give easy access to profiles. Also the localization will be ace, since right now it's a mess of both hardcoded localization and the localization.lua (noticed that while adding the new node types).

the blinking minimap nodes was nice, but the flicker of other icons was a problem which I couldn't track down at the time... hopefully me or someone else will find why it happens.

tinyu 10-01-12 07:14 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rythal (Post 265522)
the blinking minimap nodes was nice, but the flicker of other icons was a problem which I couldn't track down at the time... hopefully me or someone else will find why it happens.

Should be "easier" to track down with the source code.

clipper 10-01-12 07:19 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rythal (Post 265486)
Once i've reached that point, then we can look at what not I only I want but what you the community wants, and work towards creating the Carbonite we always hoped and dreamed for.

I remember an early version of your fan update had a checkbox like "Use Blizzard's Quest POI" or something like that, which caused it to use the Blizzard map blobs instead of checking Carbonite's internal db. Is there even any reason for Carbonite to maintain an internal quest location db now that WoW natively supports that? It seems that's always been one of the last things to get fixed whenever a new zone opens up, and of course it's always the first thing everyone needs when a new zone opens up.

Btw, please do not remove the per-character settings, many of my toons use the map in very different ways.

Also, I do use the enhanced social window, I like the way it maintains the "friends list" across different toons without needing to use Blizzard's RealId crap.

Things that I really, really miss from when Carbonite was being more regularly updated:
  • The gather nodes being in the right place
  • The map nodes for world objects like forges, anvils, Inns, Banks, flight masters, et al, being complete and correct.
  • I really miss the internal database of what merchants sold which items. Carbonite used to be able to able to point me to the nearest merchant who sells Crystal Vials or whatever.
  • Hey could we please add Flight Trainers to the list of trainers it can point us to? :)
Thanks man, I am *so* looking forward to Carbonite getting back to what it once was (the most awesome addon I've ever seen, for any game!)

Rythal 10-01-12 08:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clipper (Post 265525)
I remember an early version of your fan update had a checkbox like "Use Blizzard's Quest POI" or something like that, which caused it to use the Blizzard map blobs instead of checking Carbonite's internal db. Is there even any reason for Carbonite to maintain an internal quest location db now that WoW natively supports that? It seems that's always been one of the last things to get fixed whenever a new zone opens up, and of course it's always the first thing everyone needs when a new zone opens up.

Btw, please do not remove the per-character settings, many of my toons use the map in very different ways.

Also, I do use the enhanced social window, I like the way it maintains the "friends list" across different toons without needing to use Blizzard's RealId crap.

Things that I really, really miss from when Carbonite was being more regularly updated:
  • The gather nodes being in the right place
  • The map nodes for world objects like forges, anvils, Inns, Banks, flight masters, et al, being complete and correct.
  • I really miss the internal database of what merchants sold which items. Carbonite used to be able to able to point me to the nearest merchant who sells Crystal Vials or whatever.
  • Hey could we please add Flight Trainers to the list of trainers it can point us to? :)
Thanks man, I am *so* looking forward to Carbonite getting back to what it once was (the most awesome addon I've ever seen, for any game!)

The problem with use blizzards POI is it only worked in the current zone since it relies on map data provided by blizzard. When there is no map data because either the quest doesn't provide any or your in another zone it errors (like is happening now).

per-character is going no where, when it goes to aceDB you'll have the same profile style window you already have with many addons and can copy or save as you wish per character, or save as default etc.

clipper 10-01-12 08:43 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rythal (Post 265534)
The problem with use blizzards POI is it only worked in the current zone since it relies on map data provided by blizzard. When there is no map data because either the quest doesn't provide any or your in another zone it errors (like is happening now).

Oh, so *that's* what's going on...
And yet, I'm almost sure that some of the quests that aren't currently working *are* in the same zone that I'm in...? I'd have to go back and check, but I don't think I've received any quests outside of the Jade Forest yet.

gOOvER 10-01-12 08:47 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rythal (Post 265500)
I'll be using WI's git services for that, I already created the GIT, and will upload the source once it's up to date.

Would be great when you also host on Github. A lot of work is todo and Github is better for social coding, because Carbonite has not only 10 Lines of code. :)

Nothing against WI Git. :)

In past i started to implement AceLocale, to make Carbonite ready for Multilanguage, but i stopped, because of old Licence.

With GPL i will start again, if you are intressted in help :)

Btw: What do you think about to rename Carbonite to osCarbonite? (os = OpenSource)

Rythal 10-01-12 08:49 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by clipper (Post 265536)
Oh, so *that's* what's going on...
And yet, I'm almost sure that some of the quests that aren't currently working *are* in the same zone that I'm in...? I'd have to go back and check, but I don't think I've received any quests outside of the Jade Forest yet.

aye... anytime one doesn't work, if you look at the blizzard map (alt-m) it won't have it either, so while it looks like it's a problem with Carbonite not picking it up, it's actually blizzard never set anything for it. Thats why the internal quest databases were used, and internal is used by any questing addon... the blizzard one is just to unreliable.

Rythal 10-01-12 09:04 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by gOOvER (Post 265538)
Would be great when you also host on Github. A lot of work is todo and Github is better for social coding, because Carbonite has not only 10 Lines of code. :)

Nothing against WI Git. :)

In past i started to implement AceLocale, to make Carbonite ready for Multilanguage, but i stopped, because of old Licence.

With GPL i will start again, if you are intressted in help :)

Btw: What do you think about to rename Carbonite to osCarbonite? (os = OpenSource)

does github allow us to talk & discuss pushes / pulls from the code? I admit i'm new to the whole git thing, I've pulled code before but never actually actively participated / pushed. I'm looking for something that lets us all push new changes (from what i've seen here i'd have to add people to the project manually), allows ticket creation, and allows us to comment / discuss changes & pushes.

As for a rename, i'm cautious about it... when you consider the tens of thousands of people who use it, only a very very tiny fraction come to the forums, none of them have any clue a new person is now running the show. If we rename it, that means a lot of people will just see carbonite not being updated and abandon it. But i do also see the points in favour of renaming it along with a new beginning.

gOOvER 10-01-12 09:08 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rythal (Post 265542)
does github allow us to talk & discuss pushes / pulls from the code? I admit i'm new to the whole git thing, I've pulled code before but never actually actively participated / pushed. I'm looking for something that lets us all push new changes (from what i've seen here i'd have to add people to the project manually), allows ticket creation, and allows us to comment / discuss changes & pushes.

Yes it does. :) if you wish, you can add at every codeline a comment :)

Github have also a Bugtracker & if need a Wiki :)

Muezick 10-01-12 09:10 AM

What great news to wake up to.

Thank you Havok and Fataal and thank you thank you Rythal! I will be closely following all of this. I'm a huge fan of you Rythal! Can't wait for modulized Carbonite and a stable healthy version!

Tohrture 10-01-12 09:34 AM

Good news indeed! I'm so glad they decided to release it, Thank you for putting your time into this.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:10 AM.

vBulletin © 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2020 MMOUI