WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   Is there any way to add data to error reports? (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56493)

MuffinManKen 08-03-18 10:22 AM

Is there any way to add data to error reports?
 
At a bare minimum I'd like to get the version of the addon displayed in the error reports that users send. If I understand things correctly, there are 2 basic options:
  1. Override the errorhandler. I could do this but then I'd be fighting with standalone error handler addons like BugSack, so I'm not sure that's a good idea.
  2. Use pcall, add to the error string and then call the system errorhandler. Having to wrap everything in a pcall would be a pain and I don't know what the cost of that would be at runtime (is pcall expensive?).

Have others done something like this?

Kanegasi 08-03-18 11:20 AM

You could put a version or build number in your addon’s filenames. Players won’t be able to update your addon without exiting WoW though.

jeffy162 08-03-18 03:45 PM

It's been almost two years since I've played WoW, but I would guess that this hasn't changed, and that would be that for an addon to update you can not be "in the game". Oh, if you're playing you can still update the addons - the update just won't take affect until you log completely out of the game.

MuffinManKen 08-03-18 04:15 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by jeffy162 (Post 329294)
It's been almost two years since I've played WoW, but I would guess that this hasn't changed, and that would be that for an addon to update you can not be "in the game". Oh, if you're playing you can still update the addons - the update just won't take affect until you log completely out of the game.

Not exactly, if the lua files change you can reload the ui and it will work. TOC file changes require quitting and restarting though.

MuffinManKen 08-03-18 04:17 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Kanegasi (Post 329285)
You could put a version or build number in your addon’s filenames. Players won’t be able to update your addon without exiting WoW though.

Points for creativity, but it's a bit ugly. I think git would hate me if every single file changed every release too. :)

jeffy162 08-03-18 08:55 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by MuffinManKen (Post 329296)
Not exactly, if the lua files change you can reload the ui and it will work. TOC file changes require quitting and restarting though.

DOH!! You're correct and I'm not. Hmm ..... Go figure. :o


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:52 PM.

vBulletin © 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2019 MMOUI