WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   General Authoring Discussion (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=20)
-   -   frame.setEnabled() ???? (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=56115)

demanl 03-22-18 09:17 AM

frame.setEnabled() ????

Hello,

I apologize if this has been already asked and answered already :(

But I'm new to wow coding and I'm working with some pretty old addon code (nUI) trying to learn and understand it all....

I came across some code that "element.frame.setEnabled( enabled);" which is generating a

"attempt to call field 'setEnabled' (a nil value)" error message.

I'm assuming that the method "setEnabled" used to exist for frames and has been removed and replaced with something better...but for the LIFE of me I can't find s**t about this anywhere...:(.

I did find that the method setEnabled exists for buttons and such...but no info of it ever having anything to do with frames.

Can anyone shine some light on this for me please....point me in the right direction...:)

TYIA :):banana:

VincentSDSH 03-22-18 09:31 AM

:SetEnabled() only has one context currently. That is not to say that it can't be added to a frame for a particular addon for a particular rationale. Excepting the above, as far as I can recall, frames weren't enabled/disabled in that way but rather by :Show(), :Hide(), and the now deprecated :IsVisible() and its replacement :IsShown().

You'd need to drop in the Lua or give us a source-addon for the code to look into it further.

Resike 03-22-18 09:50 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by VincentSDSH (Post 327318)
:SetEnabled() only has one context currently. That is not to say that it can't be added to a frame for a particular addon for a particular rationale. Excepting the above, as far as I can recall, frames weren't enabled/disabled in that way but rather by :Show(), :Hide(), and the now deprecated :IsVisible() and its replacement :IsShown().