WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   WoD Beta archived threads (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=151)
-   -   Tooltips / UnitExists("mouseover") == false on certain units (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=49595)

sezz 08-07-14 06:28 PM

Tooltips / UnitExists("mouseover") == false on certain units
 
Sorry, no idea how to describe this properly as english isn't my native language.

There are currently a lot of units ingame that return false when checking for UnitExists("mouseover"), so my tooltip modifications don't work because I can't get any information about the unit that belongs to the tooltip and the tooltip stays hidden.

This can be easily tested at Bladespire Fortress in Frostfire Ridge next to the Flight Master with the Frost Wolves and Frostwolf Peons:



Tooltips are correctly displayed when using no tooltip addon or when I target them (it also doesn't work with PhanxTooltip, but that's the only other tooltip addon I tested).

Also the name text is green , but they are neutral (UnitReaction() returns 4 when I target them and the default Blizzard tooltips also show the name in yellow), so maybe it's only a bug? ;)

Phanx 08-07-14 09:08 PM

What happens when you run this (while the default GameTooltip is showing the unit):

/dump GameTooltip:GetUnit()

semlar 08-07-14 10:23 PM

I can't get to the area you're talking about, but "mouseover" works fine with every frost wolf I've come across.

Do you have a more convenient unit to test with, preferably one in an area that doesn't need to be unlocked.

sezz 08-07-14 11:45 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Phanx (Post 294993)
What happens when you run this (while the default GameTooltip is showing the unit):

/dump GameTooltip:GetUnit()

This is what I get:

Code:

Dump: value=GameTooltip:GetUnit()
[1]="",
[2]="mouseover"

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 294997)
I can't get to the area you're talking about, but "mouseover" works fine with every frost wolf I've come across.

Do you have a more convenient unit to test with, preferably one in an area that doesn't need to be unlocked.

Maybe it's an issue with their faction ("Frostwolf Orcs"), you propably didn't come across one of those ;)

I think I also had the same issue with Gazlowe, right after you built your garrison (but _before_ moving away from the spot where you had to wait while it was building), I will create a level 100 and try to find one of those buggy NPCs.

semlar 08-07-14 11:57 PM

What you're describing sounds like a phasing issue, maybe the units aren't being replaced with something you can properly interact with.

sezz 08-07-14 11:57 PM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 294997)
I can't get to the area you're talking about, but "mouseover" works fine with every frost wolf I've come across.

Do you have a more convenient unit to test with, preferably one in an area that doesn't need to be unlocked.

Okay, found an easy way, takes ~10 seconds to test :)

- Create a level 90 horde character on one of the leveling realms (Template: Frostfire)
- Accept the quest from Farseer Drek'Thar
- Farseer Drek'Thar + Thrall + Archmage Khadgar will stop having tooltips (if you complete the quest and do the next one ("Of Wolves and Warrior") tooltips start working again on those 3 units)

semlar 08-08-14 01:48 AM

Okay, the units are being replaced with some sort of cinematic type characters.

Their GUID becomes this format: "ClientActor:3:1:1", "ClientActor:3:1:2" and "ClientActor:3:1:3"

They don't appear to respond to the "mouseover" unitID, but trigger UPDATE_MOUSEOVER_UNIT regardless.

They seem to be playing out scripts, rather than behaving like real units so maybe they aren't capable of being interacted with.

They trigger neither the normal mouseover lighting effect nor the new outline mode for mouseover, although they do show the outline if you target them and mouse off, except they show the outline color of whatever you last had targeted.

I'm guessing they're just bugged for now.


sezz 08-08-14 04:58 AM

Thanks semlar, didn't think about checking the GUID.

I'll just show the original tooltip content for now and wait what Blizzard decides to do with them ;)

p3lim 08-08-14 06:30 AM

What I've found out to be odd about the tooltips on beta, is that sometimes UnitName('mouseover') returns nil :s
If that happens I have to scan the tooltip for it.

siweia 08-20-14 10:59 PM

It seems like blizz did some changes in the mouseover function.

For the nameplate addons, I can no longer update the debuff just by mouseover the nameplate.
It only updates at my current target nameplate.

Phanx 08-21-14 12:25 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by siweia (Post 295749)
For the nameplate addons, I can no longer update the debuff just by mouseover the nameplate.

This is probably less a function of any nameplate-specific changes in the API, and more a function of the nameplate addon(s) you're using not yet having been updated for the GUID changes in WoD, since nameplate addons generally identify nameplate units by GUID.

semlar 08-21-14 08:29 AM

I haven't noticed any changes whatsoever to nameplates.

siweia 08-22-14 09:39 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by semlar (Post 295762)
I haven't noticed any changes whatsoever to nameplates.

As I mention above, if you try to cast your dots to a target by mouseover macro, the target nameplate would not update the debuff. Unless you set that as target.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 02:58 PM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI