WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   nUI: Technical Support (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=92)
-   -   Reset font size (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=31580)

seawolf 03-30-10 08:28 AM

Reset font size
 
Is it possible to reset the font size to the default size. I have changed it in the tab above the chat frame. But the smallest size there is bigger than when i installed nui. It only goes down to 12 in the tab. What can i do?

spiel2001 03-30-10 08:46 AM

nUI doesn't alter what font sizes are available in the chat frame configuration panel and, in fact, I believe nUI's default font size is actually smaller than 12pts.

Anyway, if you were able to set a smaller size prior to installing nUI, it was likely the result of another chat mod. nUI is compatible with both Chatter and Prat, so you may want to look at using one of those.

seawolf 03-30-10 09:02 AM

no my problem is that i changed it to 12, but it is too big. i want it back to nui's default size (10 i think).

Xrystal 03-30-10 09:38 AM

Well, as Scott said there isn't anywhere in the nUI files that I could see a specific font being set up. However, I found the following in the chat-cache.txt file for each user :

WINDOW 1
NAME General
SIZE 16
COLOR 0 0 0 0
LOCKED 1
UNINTERACTABLE 0
DOCKED 1
SHOWN 1

This might override nUI's initial setting of 11 set up in the layout files. You could try renaming the chat-cache.txt file and see if it then uses the nUI default font size.

I personally use Prat for the full control but outside of that I think that might be all you can do as nUI doesn't save or use anything beyond loading up the initial defaults.

If you're au fait with macro scripts you might want to see if this helps you in game. This is the blizz code for getting the font settings and may help you to adjust things without an addon.

Code:

local name, fontSize, r, g, b, a, shown, locked, docked, uninteractable = GetChatWindowInfo(<CHATFRAMENAME>:GetID());
if ( fontSize > 0 ) then
  fontSize = <NEWFONTSIZE>;  -- Change if you want here
  local fontFile, fontHeight, fontFlags = <CHATFRAMENAME>:GetFont();
  fontFile = <NEWFONTFILE>;  -- Change if you want here
  <CHATFRAMENAME>:SetFont(fontFile, fontSize, fontFlags);
end

Wowwiki Links :
http://www.wowwiki.com/API_GetChatWindowInfo
http://www.wowwiki.com/API_Font_GetFont
http://www.wowwiki.com/API_Font_SetFont
http://www.wowwiki.com/World_of_Warc...ndow_Functions

It looks like the SetFont setting may need a reloadui which means a script macro may not be the solution unless it saves the change before the reload.

spiel2001 03-30-10 09:54 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xrystal (Post 183371)
If you're au fait with macro scripts

Damn Europeans... always getting all huffy with those fancy phrases they steal from each others cultures!

~evil grin~

:D

Xrystal 03-30-10 10:06 AM

rofl.

Yeah and we spell words wrong .. I mean centre/colour ??? like that makes more sense than center/color rofl. Thankfully I'm a programmer so those are easy for me to remember rofl.

spiel2001 03-30-10 10:12 AM

Not to mention that whole Z versus S thing.

:D

Petrah 03-30-10 10:30 AM

Quote:

Originally Posted by spiel2001 (Post 183367)
nUI doesn't alter what font sizes are available in the chat frame configuration panel and, in fact, I believe nUI's default font size is actually smaller than 12pts.

Anyway, if you were able to set a smaller size prior to installing nUI, it was likely the result of another chat mod. nUI is compatible with both Chatter and Prat, so you may want to look at using one of those.

There must be a bug somewhere (maybe in wow itself?). I can't remember which one of my posts it was where I was testing for another bug, but I did mention that the font in the chatbox (with only nUI installed, deleted cache, renamed/moved interface/wtf folders) was suddenly huge beyond anything I've seen. I can't remember if refreshing fixed it or not.

seawolf 03-31-10 01:58 AM

well prob solved with chatter. But still think it is weird that there is no way to reset nui to the way it was when i installed it:)

spiel2001 03-31-10 04:18 AM

Well... the way it works at present is that nUI sets up defaults when you first install it. After that, it assumes that if you change the settings it's because you want them that way, so it doesn't try to set it back to the defaults. Admittedly, nUI's chat integration is anemic at best... but that's the way it is at present. I have long intended to do something about chat like a WIM style functionality, I just need the time to work on it.

Xrystal 03-31-10 05:23 AM

Rofl, I was surprised there wasn't at least a way to reset it either. There's been many a time when I have tried a font setting and realised it was too big, too small etc. Hence prat to the rescue. The font setting side of the addon is all I am using it for :D At least conciously.

Although the GUI plugin may, come to think of it, allow people to reset it. I've never used it myself so not sure what else is there font wise.

Xrystal 04-01-10 04:00 PM

Rofl, and now we have a post with the opposite problem.

Now how on earth can nUI both overwrite and not overwrite the font settings :D

http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...703#post183703

Warpig44 04-02-10 09:22 AM

May I horn in on this thread?

I set the font to 14 and each time I log out / back in it is significantly smaller. I am not using any chat mods so I am a little confused as to what might be causing this.

Any help would be appreciated.

Xrystal 04-02-10 09:36 AM

Warpig, can you see if you can find that chat-cache.txt file I mentioned earlier in the thread. It should contain the settings you make to the chat frames in there including the size. Would be interesting to see if the blizzard chat frame is not updating its chat cache information after nUI sets its default up.

EG.

WoW loads up - sets main information
nUI loads up - sets its defaults
>>> Now does WoW recheck its chat information in an onupdate routine ?

If the last stage never happens that would explain why it is not taking your changes into account.

Warpig44 04-02-10 10:12 AM

Ok I found the file, do you want me to paste it's contents here?

I will PM it to you, WTH.


Quote:

Originally Posted by Xrystal (Post 183808)
Warpig, can you see if you can find that chat-cache.txt file I mentioned earlier in the thread. It should contain the settings you make to the chat frames in there including the size. Would be interesting to see if the blizzard chat frame is not updating its chat cache information after nUI sets its default up.

EG.

WoW loads up - sets main information
nUI loads up - sets its defaults
>>> Now does WoW recheck its chat information in an onupdate routine ?

If the last stage never happens that would explain why it is not taking your changes into account.


Xrystal 04-02-10 10:34 AM

Okay, I can see from that file that you have either used my guild chat plugin or have a special chat tab set up for guild chat. It's set for 14 point font. The Combat Log is set up for 12 point font and the general is set up for 14 point font as well.

Now I take it that you are talking about the general chat frame ? Or are you talking about the guild chat frame or the combat log frame ? Or all of them ?

Do they all seem to reset to the small size ? Or just the general or combat or guild or a combination. let me know which chat windows you are changing and which ones are staying with those changes and which ones are being reset. That might help confirm some things for me.

Warpig44 04-02-10 10:43 AM

The info I PM'd you was copied as I was in game and after I had reset the font to 14, all windows general, guild, combat change to 12 point or smaller whatever the default is.

I do have your guild chat mod installed yes and have not modified chat in any way other than that.

Quote:

Originally Posted by Xrystal (Post 183813)
Okay, I can see from that file that you have either used my guild chat plugin or have a special chat tab set up for guild chat. It's set for 14 point font. The Combat Log is set up for 12 point font and the general is set up for 14 point font as well.

Now I take it that you are talking about the general chat frame ? Or are you talking about the guild chat frame or the combat log frame ? Or all of them ?

Do they all seem to reset to the small size ? Or just the general or combat or guild or a combination. let me know which chat windows you are changing and which ones are staying with those changes and which ones are being reset. That might help confirm some things for me.


Xrystal 04-02-10 10:46 AM

Okay, I'll be logging into game shortly so will try it all out without Prat installed and see what happens when I change stuff.

Warpig44 04-02-10 10:51 AM

Thank you very much.

Xrystal 04-02-10 11:05 AM

2 Attachment(s)
Okay... lets see...

With prat I had set up my frames as follows :

WINDOW 1
NAME General
SIZE 16

WINDOW 2
NAME Combat Log
SIZE 16

WINDOW 3
SIZE 16
-- Hmm, this is my GuildChat Addon Frame .. guess I need to find a way to name it huh ?

WINDOW 4
SIZE 16
-- And this is my WhisperChat Addon Frame .. same again here I assume rofl

WINDOW 5
SIZE 16
-- And this is my Chat Addon Frame .. Another one to change

Anyway, turned off Prat and logged in .. despite the frames themselves reporting size 16 fonts the display is clearly alot smaller .. image 1 attached ..

Hmm, went to change the font to 16 and no change .. set it to 12 and it went smaller .. so the screenshot below is at size 16 .. changing to the various sizes below ...

Window 1 - 18
Window 2 - 12
Window 3 - 14
Window 4 - 16
Window 5 - 16

chat-cache.txt file now contains the following:
WINDOW 1
NAME General
SIZE 18

WINDOW 2
NAME Combat Log
SIZE 12

WINDOW 3
SIZE 14

WINDOW 4
SIZE 16

WINDOW 5
SIZE 16

As expected. However, I can tell you that I had to toggle between 16 and 18 for a few with the font being used as the sizes are very similar.

Logged back in and screen 2 is the result. Chat Window settings as I had set them and not reset to another size.

Is it possible that the sizes you are setting are so similar to the last size that you are not noticing the size difference ? Try going from 12 to 16 or 18 and you should see a difference. Then log out to desktop and log back in.

Okay, just logged to the character selection screen in case that was the difference but no go .. changed combat log from the tiny 12 to the large 18 and it stayed when I logged back in.

Is there anything else you are doing different from me ?


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:42 AM.

vBulletin © 2024, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2022 MMOUI