WoWInterface

WoWInterface (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/index.php)
-   Lua/XML Help (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/forumdisplay.php?f=16)
-   -   UnitBuff (https://www.wowinterface.com/forums/showthread.php?t=32887)

Blixia 06-01-10 12:57 PM

UnitBuff
 
Hello,

For the first attempt of making a simple addon for wow I tried to make a wintergrasp addon. However I seem to fail to understand the LUA error reporting.

This is the error I get in-game:

Message: Interface\AddOns\wg\wg.lua:15: Usage: UnitBuff("unit", [index] or ["name", "rank"][, "filter"])
Time: 06/01/10 20:46:43
Count: 1
Stack: [C]: in function `UnitBuff'
Interface\AddOns\wg\wg.lua:15: in function `value'
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:3577: in function <Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:3509>
[C]: in function `ChatEdit_ParseText'
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:3222: in function `ChatEdit_SendText'
Interface\FrameXML\ChatFrame.lua:3246: in function `ChatEdit_OnEnterPressed'
[string "*:OnEnterPressed"]:1: in function <[string "*:OnEnterPressed"]:1>

Locals: (*temporary) = "player"
(*temporary) = nil

Now my question is how to read those errors and do the debugging.

Thanks in advance

alimjocox 06-01-10 01:01 PM

--
Message: Interface\AddOns\wg\wg.lua:15: Usage: UnitBuff("unit", [index] or ["name", "rank"][, "filter"])
--

This is the problem in ur Lua code. shows the line and location and whats wrong with it. in this case ur not using UnitBuff properly.

--
Locals: (*temporary) = "player"
(*temporary) = nil
--

looks like u've manage to include the first argument of the function but theres something going in the second argument. ((someone correct me if im wrong)) :)

Blixia 06-01-10 01:18 PM

I am currently doing this:

if(UnitBuff("player",WG_BUFFNAME))then <- line 15
//do something
else
//do something else
end

Blixia 06-01-10 01:23 PM

seems that WG_BUFFNAME had to be quoted.

thanks tho :)

alimjocox 06-01-10 01:29 PM

lol was just bout to post ;) glhf

UnitBuff("unit", [index] or ["name", "rank"][, "filter"])

notice name and rank etc.. are under quotes

Blixia 06-01-10 02:42 PM

Umh,

How can I check if a player has the buff essence of wintergrasp?

What I am trying doens't seem to work

Seerah 06-01-10 02:50 PM

Right now, you're checking for the buff called WG_BUFFNAME (that is, if you put it in quotes). If you intend for WG_BUFFNAME to be a variable holding the localized version of the buff name, then don't put it in quotes to make it a string. Whatever the variable equals will be a string already.

If this is what you were doing before when you got your error, then somehow your variable WG_BUFFNAME wasn't assigned to what you wanted it to be.

Ailae 06-01-10 02:51 PM

Code:

local WG_BUFF = GetSpellInfo(57940) -- retrieves the name of the buff in whatever locale you're using

if UnitAura("player", WG_BUFF) then
        -- do stuff
end



All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:35 AM.

vBulletin © 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd
© 2004 - 2020 MMOUI