Thread Tools Display Modes
03-28-08, 06:54 PM   #1
hipjipp
A Cliff Giant
 
hipjipp's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 79
Exclamation Anti-Error Addon

Could anyone who know proper LUA-coding have the mercy to write a addon that kills all errors in the errorframe but without the ace-libs? I'm tired of having ErrorMonster taking up second most in the list due to ace addons...
  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 07:02 PM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
Now... My guess is that as soon as you disable Error Monster, you'll see another Ace addon's memory take 2nd on the list due to library usage. Why? Because all mods share one set of libraries.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 07:07 PM   #3
hipjipp
A Cliff Giant
 
hipjipp's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 79
no, its actually only ErrorMonster and CowTip that are using ace-libs in my addon collection now.. slimmed it down as much as possible without losing functunality... But it'd be really nice if anyone would like to do this.
  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 08:29 PM   #4
Gemini_II
A Molten Giant
 
Gemini_II's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 762
I use BugSack and have never seen it in my Top 20, but it's an Ace addon. Sorry.

I know the Auctioneer team have an ImprovedErrorFrame addon but I am no longer familiar with what it does nor how much memory it uses.
__________________
Retired prior to 3.2, before all challenge was removed.

  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 08:58 PM   #5
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
If you really just want to kill off the error messages, not store them, you can always run:

/script seterrorhandler(function() end);

Or better yet, remove all your error-managing addons and then uncheck the "Show Lua errors" box in the interface options. You shouldn't see the error messages anymore.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 09:24 PM   #6
Rigorous
Noggenfogger Anonymous
 
Rigorous's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 420
Originally Posted by Gemini_II View Post
I use BugSack and have never seen it in my Top 20, but it's an Ace addon. Sorry.
BugSack and ErrorMonster do two different things.

BugSack is a front-end for BugGrabber...and BugGrabber catches interface/lua errors.

ErrorMonster mutes messages like:
* Ability is not ready yet.
* Not enough energy
* There is nothing to attack.
* That ability requires combo points
* Your target is dead
* Another action is in progress

(taken directly from ErrorMonster wowace wiki).
__________________
"I guess I kinda lost control, because in the middle of the play I ran up and lit the evil puppet villain on fire. No, I didn't. Just kidding. I just said that to help illustrate one of the human emotions, which is freaking out. Another emotion is greed, as when you kill someone for money, or something like that. Another emotion is generosity, as when you pay someone double what he paid for his stupid puppet." - Jack Handy
  Reply With Quote
03-28-08, 10:28 PM   #7
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
Ah, now this makes a little more sense :P

Anyway, if you just want to hide all of those errors, you can always do a /script UIErrorsFrame:Hide() for a quick fix
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
03-29-08, 03:30 AM   #8
Gemini_II
A Molten Giant
 
Gemini_II's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 762
Originally Posted by Rigorous View Post
BugSack and ErrorMonster do two different things.
I remember reading that once awhile back. Thanks for correcting and reminding me.
__________________
Retired prior to 3.2, before all challenge was removed.

  Reply With Quote
03-29-08, 04:27 AM   #9
hipjipp
A Cliff Giant
 
hipjipp's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 79
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
Ah, now this makes a little more sense :P

Anyway, if you just want to hide all of those errors, you can always do a /script UIErrorsFrame:Hide() for a quick fix
Morning people!

Thanks for the help, i'm gonna try to put the "UIErrorsFrame:Hide()" into one of my hiding LUA files and see if it helps.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Anti-Error Addon


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off