Thread Tools Display Modes
03-31-12, 06:55 AM   #1
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Chat Tab

Is it possible to adjust chat tab width?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 07:28 AM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
This thread may have the answer:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=43089
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 08:07 AM   #3
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Well, this is what I have, but it seems to do nothing

local tab = _G['ChatFrame'..i..'Tab']
if tab then
tab:GetFontString():SetFont("Fonts\\Munierg.ttf", 8, "MONOCHROMEOUTLINE")
--fix for color and alpha of undocked frames
tab:GetFontString():SetTextColor(0,0,0,0)
tab:SetWidth(15)
end
end

The bold underlined part being what I added. It doesn't throw any errors, it just does nothing, as far as I can tell.
Hmmm, mebbe if I used SetSize instead of SetWidth?
__________________

Last edited by Kendian : 03-31-12 at 08:10 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 09:58 AM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
15 is small... Did you try a bigger number?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 10:45 AM   #5
Aftermathhqt
A Molten Giant
 
Aftermathhqt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 784
Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
Well, this is what I have, but it seems to do nothing

local tab = _G['ChatFrame'..i..'Tab']
if tab then
tab:GetFontString():SetFont("Fonts\\Munierg.ttf", 8, "MONOCHROMEOUTLINE")
--fix for color and alpha of undocked frames
tab:GetFontString():SetTextColor(0,0,0,0)
tab:SetWidth(15)
end
end

The bold underlined part being what I added. It doesn't throw any errors, it just does nothing, as far as I can tell.
Hmmm, mebbe if I used SetSize instead of SetWidth?
try

LUA Code:
  1. function SkinTab(self)
  2.  
  3. _G[self..'TabText']:SetFont(font, fontsize, fontflag)
  4. _G[self..'TabText']:SetShadowOffset(1, -1)
  5. _G[self..'TabText']:SetShadowColor(0,0,0)
  6. _G[self..'TabText']:SetJustifyH('CENTER')
  7. _G[self..'TabText']:SetWidth(500)
  8.  
  9. end
  10.  
  11. for i = 1, NUM_CHAT_WINDOWS do
  12.     SkinTab('ChatFrame'..i)
  13. end

Last edited by Aftermathhqt : 03-31-12 at 10:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 11:14 AM   #6
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
I'm an idiot, I was trying to edit core.lua. instead of fading.lua.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	chat tab.png
Views:	586
Size:	87.1 KB
ID:	6857  
__________________
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 01:14 PM   #7
Aftermathhqt
A Molten Giant
 
Aftermathhqt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 784
Originally Posted by Kendian View Post
I'm an idiot, I was trying to edit core.lua. instead of fading.lua.
What for addon are you using? :P
  Reply With Quote
03-31-12, 05:11 PM   #8
Kendian
A Molten Giant
 
Kendian's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 614
Is Rchat
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Chat Tab


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off