Thread Tools Display Modes
05-01-06, 04:39 PM   #1
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Post EnchantMe

EnchantMe

EnchantMe is a simple addons that contains a list of all enchants an Enchanter can have, with tooltips showing required reagents.
Enchants are listed in a sorted order by type, and can be linked in chat, by shift-clicking the desired enchant.

Now there's no excuse for asking the enchanter which reagents are required!

The Download Page can be found here:
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...fo.php?id=4924
  Reply With Quote
05-01-06, 05:44 PM   #2
British
A Defias Bandit
 
British's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 2
Sounds nice.

Any chance to add where the formula drops/sell/whatever ?
  Reply With Quote
05-02-06, 04:10 AM   #3
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by British
Sounds nice.

Any chance to add where the formula drops/sell/whatever ?
At the time, I have no plans on adding that information, mainly because I would either have to collect all that data myself, which is a much bigger task than just finding out which enchants are available, and finding the tooltip IDs for them. The other option would be to contact some of the online item databases, such as thottbot, allakhazam and wowguru, and ask if I could get their data.
So at the time, there are no plans adding that feature, but I might do so in the future.
  Reply With Quote
05-02-06, 08:29 PM   #4
Gryphon
An Aku'mai Servant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 30
Nice, can you add MobileFrames support?
  Reply With Quote
05-03-06, 02:18 AM   #5
Tekkub
A Molten Giant
 
Tekkub's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Nice. This, just like macrostop, is a very nifty, unique, "why didn't someone think of this alreay?" kind of mod. Your code is faily slim to boot, which is a good thing.

Ideas/recommendations:
* Shift your code towards a more OOP approach, it's cleaner reading, maintaining, and it doesn't litter the global namespace with tons of functions.
* Don't add vendor locations, that will only bloat up your code. Fizzwidget's AdSpace will already do this anyway.
* Get rid of those semicolons! They're so annoying in lua *grin*
  Reply With Quote
05-03-06, 02:42 AM   #6
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by Gryphon
Nice, can you add MobileFrames support?
Never used MobileFrames, so don't know how it works (guess I could look it up).
The EnchantMe window looks and acts like a "normal" UIPanel, meaning like the Who-window etc. It's registered in the UIPanelWindows table, meaning the default UI will "move it around", if you open other windows.
The name of the frame is "EnchantMe_Frame", if this helps in any way.

Originally Posted by Tekkub
Nice. This, just like macrostop, is a very nifty, unique, "why didn't someone think of this alreay?" kind of mod. Your code is faily slim to boot, which is a good thing.

Ideas/recommendations:
* Shift your code towards a more OOP approach, it's cleaner reading, maintaining, and it doesn't litter the global namespace with tons of functions.
* Don't add vendor locations, that will only bloat up your code. Fizzwidget's AdSpace will already do this anyway.
* Get rid of those semicolons! They're so annoying in lua *grin*
Well, the code is actually somewhat old, for both EnchantMe and MacroStop. MacroStop is from November last year, and EnchantMe from December (was released the day 1.09.0 came out, but had it running through PTR). There is actually still a check in the code, to check if it's 1.09.0 or newer, I for some reason have forgotten to remove! Addons I've been working on later, have taken a more OOP approach - which you can see if I release them, but I might rewrite EnchantMe to OOP, when I release an updated version in a near future. Although the new version is mainly to add German and French translations.

As for the semicolons: they will always be there
I'm so used to semicolons from C and Java. The only place I don't use semicolons is when I'm compressing macros. And you might think they are annoying, I, on the other hand, think they help readability.
  Reply With Quote
02-15-07, 03:21 PM   #7
AnduinLothar
Nobody of Importance
 
AnduinLothar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 95
Think you can add a FeatureFrame window toggle button? It's easy, just optdep FeatureFrame and add a line into your loading code. Here's the spec:

Code:
--[[
--	RegisterButton
--
--	Allow you to create a button of your mod in the FeatureFrame.
--
--	Usage:
--
--		FeatureFrame_AddButton ( FeatureFrameRegistrationObject[name,subtext,tooltip,icon,callback,testfunction] )
--
--	Example:
--
--		FeatureFrame_AddButton (
--			{
--				id = "MyAddOnID";
--				name = "My AddOn";
--				subtext = "Is very cool";
--				tooltip = "Long Tool\n Tip Text";
--				icon = "Interface\\Icons\\Spell_Holy_BlessingOfStrength";
--				callback = function()
--					if (MinimapFrameFrame:IsVisible()) then
--						HideUIPanel(MinimapFrame);
--					else
--						ShowUIPanel(MinimapFrame);
--					end
--				end;
--				test = 	function()
--					if (UnitInParty("party1")) then
--						return true; -- The button is enabled
--					else
--						return false; -- The button is disabled
--					end
--				end
--			}
--			);
--
--		A button will be created in the Features Frame.
--
--		Description must not be more than 2 words, you should put a longer description in the tooltip.
--
--	]]--
BTW, Feature Frame is a part of Cosmos, but is also standalone, just a simple place to put buttons so you don't have to remember slash commands.
  Reply With Quote
05-22-07, 09:08 PM   #8
brknsoul
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 18
Linking Enchants from the EnchantMe window causes disconnections as of patch 2.1

Main reason, is the links now have a different linking formula.
  Reply With Quote
05-23-07, 11:06 AM   #9
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by brknsoul
Linking Enchants from the EnchantMe window causes disconnections as of patch 2.1

Main reason, is the links now have a different linking formula.
Thanks for the update. I checking the addon out on the PTR, and there were no problem linking at that time, but guess they restricted it later on in the PTR cycle to only support the new way. Unfortunately, I won't have the time to update this until June 1st, as I'm away from home until that date.
  Reply With Quote
05-31-07, 10:11 AM   #10
Siz
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 52
The only thing that changed was the color of enchant links. It's ffd000 instead of ffffff.

Open up EnchantMe.lua and go to line 33. Change the line from this:
Code:
ChatFrameEditBox:Insert("|cffffffff|Henchant:" .. this.EnchantID .."|h[" .. this:GetText() .. "]|h|r");
to this:
Code:
ChatFrameEditBox:Insert("|cffffd000|Henchant:" .. this.EnchantID .."|h[" .. this:GetText() .. "]|h|r");
  Reply With Quote
10-08-07, 09:47 PM   #11
dglass
A Kobold Labourer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1
It would be great if the EnchantMe list could indicate in some way (change of color maybe) which enchants have been applied to the gear my character has equipped.

Would that be unpleasantly difficult to add?
  Reply With Quote
10-09-07, 10:49 AM   #12
TazGolem
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 7
Love the Addon and cant live without it anymore. Proffesion link is great for all the other professions but it doesnt seperate the enchants into seperate armor locations like EnchantMe does so it cant quite replace it.
Any chance this will be updated with the new enchants that got upgraded from AQ as well as the other new enchants.
  Reply With Quote
10-10-07, 02:44 AM   #13
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
dglass:
Not unpleasantly difficult, I might consider it

TazGolem:
Sure, I'll update it. Personally I've just gotten used to using my profession links addon instead, and just searching for "bracer" to find enchants for my bracers, etc, so simply forgot to upload the new version of EnchantMe
  Reply With Quote
11-22-08, 05:26 AM   #14
Psoewish
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Psoewish's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 447
Ok 3 things ...

1) this addon sounds extremely useful, though I have no use of it myself (because I am an enchanter on my mage :P), it certainly is for a lot of other people.

2) Someone asked to add a feature so we can see where the formulas drop/get sold/etc.

I suggest you check out this mod if you want that functionality, it works for all professions too.

3) What does OOP mean? :P
  Reply With Quote
11-26-07, 11:22 AM   #15
rorep
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Missing Enchants

Since Patch 2.3 there have been new enchants added to the game and i was wondering if you was or could add these to the enchantme mod?

I have used this mod for a very log time and would really miss not having an up to date version in game.
  Reply With Quote
04-25-08, 08:49 AM   #16
rorep
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Is there another

Is there any other mod out there like this easy simple mod. i just want a list of all the enchants available in the game and what mats they require within WoW not anything else and this mod done this for me plain and simple.

Is there any other mod out there the same..... or will this ever get an update
  Reply With Quote
11-10-08, 06:24 AM   #17
bainmeister
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1
UPDATE ? Please, Please, Please, Please, Please,

i love this add on. I would love a WOTLK version. Even if initially this worked with version 3.02+. We could wait until it was updated with new enchants from the game. At this point i just want it to turn on, something it stopped doing after 3.0 version came out
  Reply With Quote
11-12-08, 07:59 AM   #18
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
I'll see if I can get an updated version available later today
  Reply With Quote
11-21-08, 11:55 PM   #19
kilthro
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 5
Was there ever an updated version of this posted?

If there is I apologize for missing it.
  Reply With Quote
11-22-08, 11:22 AM   #20
Maldivia
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 12
Originally Posted by kilthro View Post
Was there ever an updated version of this posted?

If there is I apologize for missing it.
Well, had some problems, and then wotlk came out and the race to 80 kind of started - but there should be an updated version available now
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » EnchantMe


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off