Thread Tools Display Modes
02-16-15, 03:05 PM   #1
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Made a powershell script (sorry linux users) for easy force updating:
https://gist.github.com/p3lim/3385bc34b82a7f1cd0cc
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 12:06 PM   #2
Niketa
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Niketa's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 54
Sorry if this is a nub question, but it's requiring me to put my credit card information in to use this app on Heroku. Will I be charged for using this app? Or is it basically just there to stay on file and I shouldn't get charged (using only this app)?
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 12:31 PM   #3
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Niketa View Post
Sorry if this is a nub question, but it's requiring me to put my credit card information in to use this app on Heroku. Will I be charged for using this app? Or is it basically just there to stay on file and I shouldn't get charged (using only this app)?
Heroku does indeed require a credit card when registering, but don't worry, unless you're making a large application, you won't ever get charged for anything.
They charge for something called "dynos", which are basically instances of virtual machines, and you can increase the amount and power for each application you've got.

This app is very small, it will never require anything serious, so go with the default choice when creating an app (ONE dyno, 1X power), as seen in this screenshot, and this setup is completely free, no hidden fees or anything:

  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 02:12 PM   #4
Niketa
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Niketa's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 54
Okay thanks!

Edit: Nevermind, I think I derped.

Last edited by Niketa : 03-19-15 at 02:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 02:50 PM   #5
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
The wait time is in intervals, you can configure how many times it should check, and how often (with limits of course).
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 09:21 PM   #6
Niketa
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Niketa's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 54
I'm having trouble getting it to even check at all. I honestly don't know much about any of this at all, so I wouldn't be surprised if it's a silly mistake.

Here is my log:
Code:
-- Edited
I kind of messed around with changing some of the keys trying to see if that's what was messing it up, but nothing seemed to help. The last I have it is set as default values. Also I couldn't get it to do anything at first until I realized the thing about taking the "webhook" out of the url for the app. I saw you mentioned you had updated that, but I don't think it was updated in the wiki under the addon list page (which is where I found the instructions).

Anyway, I kind of left it alone for a while so I could make some changes to my addon and then came back to try again when I finished. I've tried resending the webhook several times and it still won't do anything. I see in your log it starts doing it's business but the most it's wanting to do so far is just get the addon list.

Here is my addon.js:
Code:
[
{
"path": "BusyAndAway",
"repo": "busy-and-away",
"curse": "busy-and-away",
"wowi": "22492",
"changelog": true
}
]

Last edited by Niketa : 03-19-15 at 10:43 PM.
  Reply With Quote
03-19-15, 10:34 PM   #7
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
I fixed the old details in the wiki, thanks for letting me know.
Also, you should use a different name for the app on Heroku, as suggested in the wiki.

Edit: sorted out in private messages, it was just confusion around outdated documentation on the wiki.

Last edited by p3lim : 03-20-15 at 07:09 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-10-15, 06:01 PM   #8
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Niketa View Post
Sorry if this is a nub question, but it's requiring me to put my credit card information in to use this app on Heroku.
It looks like this requirement could be avoided if you (p3lim) removed the dependency on the Papertrail logging app/plugin.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
08-11-15, 05:51 AM   #9
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
It looks like this requirement could be avoided if you (p3lim) removed the dependency on the Papertrail logging app/plugin.
Papertrail is not a requirement, and the version I've added as an option is free anyways.

Even if I removed it as an option, Heroku still requires any user to register a credit card.
  Reply With Quote
08-11-15, 09:41 PM   #10
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
Papertrail is not a requirement, and the version I've added as an option is free anyways.

Even if I removed it as an option, Heroku still requires any user to register a credit card.
"Credit card information is not required for free apps without add-ons. It becomes a requirement once you wish to own more than 5 apps at a time, or to use add-ons other than postgresql:dev or pgbackups:plus –– even if the add-ons are free."

It doesn't matter that Papertrail is free; its mere presence triggers the verification requirement. It didn't appear to be optional, or removable, on the deployment screen, which is where I stopped since I'm not interested in giving an entity that claims it won't charge me any money information that has no purpose other than charging me money.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-15, 06:12 AM   #11
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
"Credit card information is not required for free apps without add-ons. It becomes a requirement once you wish to own more than 5 apps at a time, or to use add-ons other than postgresql:dev or pgbackups:plus –– even if the add-ons are free."

It doesn't matter that Papertrail is free; its mere presence triggers the verification requirement. It didn't appear to be optional, or removable, on the deployment screen, which is where I stopped since I'm not interested in giving an entity that claims it won't charge me any money information that has no purpose other than charging me money.
They must have changed their policy, when I was developing this they required a credit card just to make an app, no matter if it was free or not.

Considering that, I'm gonna remove Papertrail from the package. It's still nice to have for debugging, although Heroku's CLI can be used just as well:
Code:
heroku logs --app name-of-your-app
  Reply With Quote
07-21-16, 12:17 AM   #12
LaRIC
Premium Member
 
LaRIC's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
.pkgmeta

Atm my addon is hosted on Curseforge using their packager. I would prefer to use this method to host on github and release on both wowi and curse at the same time.
But I wonder how I replicate the functionality of the .pkgmeta?
My current pkgmeta looks like this.


Code:
externals:
    libs/LibStub:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/libstub/mainline/trunk
        tag: latest
    libs/CallbackHandler-1.0:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/callbackhandler/mainline/trunk/CallbackHandler-1.0
        tag: latest
    libs/AceAddon-3.0:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/ace3/mainline/trunk/AceAddon-3.0
        tab: latest
    libs/AceDB-3.0:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/ace3/mainline/trunk/AceDB-3.0
        tag: latest
    libs/AceTimer-3.0:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/ace3/mainline/trunk/AceTimer-3.0
        tag: latest
    libs/AceEvent-3.0:
        url: svn://svn.wowace.com/wow/ace3/mainline/trunk/AceEvent-3.0
        tag: latest
enable-nolib-creation: no
  Reply With Quote
07-21-16, 05:53 AM   #13
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by LaRIC View Post
[color=#e5e5e5]Atm my addon is hosted on Curseforge using their packager. I would prefer to use this method to host on github and release on both wowi and curse at the same time.

...
For this tool to work (in it's current implementation) you need to use the repository on both GitHub and CurseForge.
  Reply With Quote
07-21-16, 11:20 AM   #14
LaRIC
Premium Member
 
LaRIC's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 23
Originally Posted by p3lim View Post
For this tool to work (in it's current implementation) you need to use the repository on both GitHub and CurseForge.
Well that is fine. but how do I do with my externals? Should I change them from externals and just embed them manually or how should I go about it?
  Reply With Quote
08-08-16, 11:42 AM   #15
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
0.6.1 is out, changes:
  • Now using HTTPS to communicate with WoWInterface too.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-16, 09:08 PM   #16
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
CurseForge has been redesigned, I can not guarantee this project will work until I've had a look at it.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-16, 11:23 PM   #17
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
0.7.0 is out, changes:
  • Fixed warnings being thrown for positive responses from WoWInterface API
  • Use the new compatibility API from WoWInterface (thanks to dolby!)
  • Updated parsing of CurseForge and their website updates

APP will now flag the correct compatible game versions, first by checking the interface version in the toc file, with a fallback to the default (latest) game version.
  Reply With Quote
04-29-17, 04:05 AM   #18
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Forgot to update here for the last few versions, but here are the changes:

0.7.1 is out, changes:
  • Fixed changelog not being pushed correctly.

0.7.2 is out, changes:
  • Fixed interface version detection

0.7.3 is out, changes:
  • Fixed force updating
  • Fixed CurseForge parsing
  • Added support for WowAce as a fallback when project was not found on CurseForge
  • Updated entire stack to latest versions
  Reply With Quote
11-06-17, 08:21 AM   #19
alar
A Defias Bandit
 
alar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Awesome tool, really.
I was wondering if would be possibile to polish a bit the answers for updatelist and force.
  • updatelist:
    I noted that if the gist contain a broken json, no warning is given.
    Maybe an answer with
    status: (success:failure)
    data: addons.json content
    would be nice
    force:
    status: (success/failure) message: descriptive result (could be updated to version x.x.x)
__________________
-----
(English is not my first language, assume my intent is always to be nice. If something looks rude blame my english, not me)
My addons:
OrderHallCommander
GarrisonCommander
ItemLevelDisplay
AlarArtRemover
  Reply With Quote
11-06-17, 11:57 AM   #20
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Originally Posted by alar View Post
Awesome tool, really.
I was wondering if would be possibile to polish a bit the answers for updatelist and force.
  • updatelist:
    I noted that if the gist contain a broken json, no warning is given.
    Maybe an answer with
    status: (success:failure)
    data: addons.json content
    would be nice
    force:
    status: (success/failure) message: descriptive result (could be updated to version x.x.x)
Good suggestions, however I've personally switched to a different system, so this project likely won't see any updates from me in a while, aside from things like bugfixes and PRs.

The system I'm using has a detailed guide (written by me) here:
http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=55801

Advantages are:
  • No need to set up a server (Heroku) and keep it up-to-date
  • Settings are stored per-project (alike the .pkgmeta), not hidden in settings/gists
  • No need to poll CurseForge for updates, which can't be guaranteed
  • More widely adopted by larger projects (BigWigs in particular), so it should be considered more stable/long-term available

My guide has a hard dependancy on Git, but the script can just as well be run locally (which is way harder with this proxy project)

Last edited by p3lim : 12-14-17 at 04:17 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Dev Tools » Addon Packager Proxy


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off