Quantcast
Blizzard combatlog frame - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-27-09, 05:36 PM   #1
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Blizzard combatlog frame

Is there a way to hide the Blizzard CombatLog when in a group?
  Reply With Quote
12-30-09, 06:47 PM   #2
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Bumping for anyone who may know of an addon or a way to hide the blizzard combat log while in a group.

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
12-30-09, 10:05 PM   #3
zero-kill
A Firelord
 
zero-kill's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 497
Switch to General?
  Reply With Quote
12-30-09, 10:16 PM   #4
Akryn
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 479
Originally Posted by ffxiedyn View Post
Is there a way to hide the Blizzard CombatLog when in a group?
Could you be more specific? The best guess I can come up with is that you have the combat log undocked from the other chat tabs, and off somewhere by itself, and you want it to only show up when you're solo?

If that's correct then yes you can do that; although I'm not aware of an addon specifically intended for that purpose.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 09:29 AM   #5
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Originally Posted by Akryn View Post
Could you be more specific? The best guess I can come up with is that you have the combat log undocked from the other chat tabs, and off somewhere by itself, and you want it to only show up when you're solo?

If that's correct then yes you can do that; although I'm not aware of an addon specifically intended for that purpose.
Yes, this is it precisely, sorry for my vagueness.

I use Chatter as well, and have the combat log positioned over a KGpanel to the bottom right of my screen.

I also use the same panel as a background to my Grid, which is configured to show up when in a group.

However, Chatter does not have an option to make the combat log frame fade out when in a group.

Do you know of a way I can accomplish this?

Thanks.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 09:39 AM   #6
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Sorry, replied to a post, but the post seems to have been removed.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 12:00 PM   #7
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,768
Yeah, sorry. I gave you some code for the wrong thing because I wasn't awake yet. Then I forgot to come back to you.

What you want is this script for your kgPanel: http://www.wowace.com/addons/kg-pane...r-5-main-party

But instead of self:Hide() and self:Show(), you'll use ChatFrame2:Hide() and ChatFrame2:Show(). At least that should work for you.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 01:31 PM   #8
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Thanks, this script will hide just the blizzard combat log frame, and not my KGpanel, correct?

I use the panel as a background graphic, and I do not want it hidden.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 01:51 PM   #9
Taryble
A Molten Giant
 
Taryble's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 811
The change Seerah said to use causes the frame named "ChatFrame2" to hide while in combat, and be shown out of combat. "ChatFrame2" is the Combat Log, without exception (that I'm aware of).
__________________
-- Taryble
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 01:55 PM   #10
Polarina
A Theradrim Guardian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 63
Originally Posted by Taryble View Post
The change Seerah said to use causes the frame named "ChatFrame2" to hide while in combat, and be shown out of combat. "ChatFrame2" is the Combat Log, without exception (that I'm aware of).
I'd rather use COMBATLOG instead of ChatFrame2.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 05:56 PM   #11
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
The only "Script" portion of the kgpanels addon that I can find is under "default panels"

I copy/pasted your text, seerah, as well as tried to use COMBATLOG after ChatFrame2 had no effect.

Anyone know what I am doing wrong?

My combat log does not hide when I join a group.
  Reply With Quote
12-31-09, 09:26 PM   #12
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
Originally Posted by ffxiedyn View Post
My combat log does not hide when I join a group.
Well that's because the script Seerah provided you with isn't supposed to hide when you join a group, but when you engage in combat.
  Reply With Quote
01-01-10, 12:06 AM   #13
Akryn
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 479
Originally Posted by MoonWitch View Post
Well that's because the script Seerah provided you with isn't supposed to hide when you join a group, but when you engage in combat.
That link points to code that will show a frame in a raid. Just follow the directions on the page, noting the change to make it hide when not solo:

In each Panel set the OnLoad script

lua Code:
  1. self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD")
  2. self:RegisterEvent("PARTY_MEMBERS_CHANGED")
  3. self:RegisterEvent("RAID_ROSTER_UPDATE")

Then in each Panel OnEvent script:
lua Code:
  1. if GetNumPartyMembers() < 1 then
  2.     ChatFrame2:Show()
  3. else
  4.     ChatFrame2:Hide()
  5. end

Last edited by Akryn : 01-01-10 at 12:14 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-01-10, 07:52 AM   #14
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
NVM, i have totally figured it out, thanks for all the help!

Last edited by ffxiedyn : 01-01-10 at 08:25 AM.
  Reply With Quote
01-03-10, 04:31 PM   #15
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Akryn, your code worked well for a 5man grp, my combat log hides when i join a 5man grp.

do you possibly know a way i could also make it hide when i join a raid grp?

the code provided by seerah's link doesn't make it hide on either event.

thanks.
  Reply With Quote
01-03-10, 04:48 PM   #16
Akryn
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 479
Originally Posted by ffxiedyn View Post
do you possibly know a way i could also make it hide when i join a raid grp?
Replace the first line with:

if GetNumPartyMembers() + GetNumRaidMembers() < 1 then
  Reply With Quote
01-04-10, 04:20 AM   #17
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
thanks akryn, worked like a charm.

having an issue tho, sometimes my combat log re-docks itself to my chat frame after i leave a 5man or raid.

anyone know how to make this stop?

thanks.

Last edited by ffxiedyn : 01-05-10 at 07:11 PM.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-10, 12:16 PM   #18
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
Bumping for anyone who may know a way to keep the combat log from re-docking to the chat log after i leave grp/raid.

thanks.
  Reply With Quote
01-06-10, 05:49 PM   #19
Akryn
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 479
Originally Posted by ffxiedyn View Post
Bumping for anyone who may know a way to keep the combat log from re-docking to the chat log after i leave grp/raid.

thanks.
Perhaps you can edit your OnLoad code to do so, although I haven't tried it (I'm not really sure how the docking is implemented):

lua Code:
  1. self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD")
  2. self:RegisterEvent("PARTY_MEMBERS_CHANGED")
  3. self:RegisterEvent("RAID_ROSTER_UPDATE")
  4. local dummyF = function()end
  5. ChatFrame2.ClearAllPoints = dummyF
  6. ChatFrame2.SetPoint = dummyF
  7. ChatFrame2.SetHeight = dummyF
  8. ChatFrame2.SetWidth = dummyF
  9. ChatFrame2.SetAllPoints = dummyF
  Reply With Quote
01-06-10, 06:54 PM   #20
ffxiedyn
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
ffxiedyn's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 165
i used this script for my target panel, yet the target frame (not the panel its on) still shows even when im out of combat.

Show a panel based on being in combat

OnLoad

self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED")
self:RegisterEvent("PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED")

OnEvent

if event == "PLAYER_REGEN_ENABLED" then
self:Hide()
elseif event == "PLAYER_REGEN_DISABLED" then
self:Show()
end


anyone know a way to make it show only when in combat, as well as my player frame?

thanks

Last edited by ffxiedyn : 01-06-10 at 07:08 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Blizzard combatlog frame

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off