Quantcast
Out of date addons - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
07-15-05, 11:43 PM   #1
EpiTeK
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
Question Out of date addons

Is there a way to like renew addons by myself. Like don't change nething just put them to date
  Reply With Quote
07-15-05, 11:58 PM   #2
Gello
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 492
At character select screen, hit the AddOns button in the lower left, then check the option named something like "Use Out-Dated AddOns"
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 04:49 PM   #3
EpiTeK
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 3
No I can load them , but I want to put them to date
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 04:54 PM   #4
Vayder
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Vayder's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 23
either search for the addons your using one by one, or wait for the compilation your using to be updated
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 05:46 PM   #5
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 782
there is a prog in the top ones at curse-gaming.com that will scan your files and update them. its called WoWToc I think
__________________
WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

Anyone that needs what they want
And doesn't want what they need
I want nothing to do with
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 06:03 PM   #6
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
Originally Posted by Kaelten
there is a prog in the top ones at curse-gaming.com that will scan your files and update them.
*Beats Kalten severely*
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 06:20 PM   #7
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 782
whhat? all it does is make them say they're not out of date? *rubs forhead and his other 2000 parts that cair has thourghly thrashed*
__________________
WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

Anyone that needs what they want
And doesn't want what they need
I want nothing to do with
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 06:27 PM   #8
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
YOU of all people, should know better than to tell people to go in and change their toc numbers!

BAD Kaelten, BAD!
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 06:59 PM   #9
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
/sigh

I'm sorry



It's just that changing toc numbers, if you aren't the author of the mod(s) in question, is a Bad Idea™, and to have a mod author, who should know better, suggesting it ... gah!



Sowwy
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:03 PM   #10
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 782
lol. I'm sorry, I actually wasn't aware that its the 10th deadly sign ( I already have private versions of 8 and 9)

Is there any particular reason why its frowned upon, I mean I'm aware that its possible to mess something up for the un initiated to go in and mess with stuff, but beyond that.
__________________
WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

Anyone that needs what they want
And doesn't want what they need
I want nothing to do with
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:09 PM   #11
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
*blink* *blink blink* *boogle*

Read this.
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:12 PM   #12
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 782
hehe, I figured it had something to do with this, I guess I'm just bad though in the fact that I don't do this, hehe.

*slaps his own wrist*
__________________
WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

Anyone that needs what they want
And doesn't want what they need
I want nothing to do with
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:23 PM   #13
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
Yes, but there is a difference. You are a mod author, you know that changing the toc number doesn't actually fix anything that is wrong. And you have an idea of what you are doing to be able to fix it, if the original author doesn't update. That isn't saying that the average joe-mod-user is stupid, just that the average joe-mod-user isn't a programmer and doesn't know the ins and outs of fixing code. For the average joe-mod-user, changing the toc number themselves just means that when something is actually broken, they don't know why they are suddenly getting error messages, since as far as their WoW is concerned, all the mods are up-to-date. If on the other hand, they don't change the toc number, if they start getting error messages, they can look at their listing and go "oh, okay, this mod hasn't been updated yet, it's probably the one causing the problem" and they go look for updates. So, telling the average joe-mod-user to update their toc numbers is a Bad Idea™.
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:25 PM   #14
Kaelten
Jack's raging bile duct
 
Kaelten's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 782
hehe agreed and point ceeded.

__________________
WowAce.com & CurseForge.com Adminstrator
Developer of Ace3, OneBag3, and many other addons and libraries
Project lead and Mac developer for the Curse Client

Anyone that needs what they want
And doesn't want what they need
I want nothing to do with
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:26 PM   #15
Itanius
Wrath of Evil
 
Itanius's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 31
With the "Load AddOns anyways" option, TOC numbers are irrelevant anyways. It's not really that big of a deal...

/adds fuel to the fire
  Reply With Quote
07-17-05, 10:28 PM   #16
Cairenn
Credendo Vides
 
Cairenn's Avatar
Premium Member
WoWInterface Admin
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 7,113
Precisely, Itanius, and the "Load Outdated Addons" is the {quote} proper {unquote} way for the average joe-mod-user to deal with patch day, until they can get updated versions of their mods from the authors.
__________________
“Do what you feel in your heart to be right — for you’ll be criticized anyway.” ~ Eleanor Roosevelt
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Co-Founder & Admin: MMOUI
FaceBook Profile, Page, Group
Avatar Image by RaffaeleMarinetti
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Out of date addons

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off