Quantcast
Scrolling Combat Text - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-26-05, 01:48 PM   #1
Grayhoof
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 54
Scrolling Combat Text

Scrolling Combat Text v2.82

I generally answer all questions about SCT on the offical forums at http://forums.worldofwarcraft.com/th...mp=1#post27803 .

However, feel free to comment or ask questions here too =)
  Reply With Quote
05-26-05, 09:11 PM   #2
Remelio
 
Remelio's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 696
Love this mod. Keep up the good work!
  Reply With Quote
08-10-05, 10:14 AM   #3
Garoun
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Garoun's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 25
(Don't know how I missed this before I posted mine :/ I looked through every single page, sigh)

Grayhoof, have you done any work on making custom events fire on a class per class basis in the sct_event_config.lua file? Was curious since I'm running into the issue of seeing things like Overpower! when I'm on my rogue :P. I saw your post about the localizations file but I use the 'Flag SCT text' so even though I force a " " into the field I'll get * *. Is there anyway to have a 'Class' based SCT_Event_Config = { } array such as SCT_Event_Config_<class> = {} that runs based on which class you used.

I use this code currently to work around the issue if anyone cares to use it: (used the 'gar' prefix as to avoid possible interference with other variables in the program)
Code:
--[[ Goes after the comment block ]]
     local garPClass, garLocClass = UnitClass("player");

     if (garPClass == "Warrior") then
          gar_TargetDodged = "Overpower!";
     else
          gar_TargetDodged = "-Evaded-";
     end
     ChatFrame1:AddMessage(garPClass .. ' class custom SCT events loaded.');

--[[ Example custom event ]]
SCT_Event_Config = {
[11] = {name=gar_TargetDodged, search="dodges", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256, iscrit=1},
};
Standard Disclaimer: If you don't know what you are doing don't go editing files because you will most likely break something and I take no responsibility. Do so at your own risk. As always BACK UP original files before you go screwing with them .
  Reply With Quote
08-10-05, 07:40 PM   #4
Brawler
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 1
Scrolling combat mod...

I turned everything on with this mod and created a profile for my character, but it does not scroll the damage, spells being casted, debuffs, or anything it is supposed to. Anyone know why?
  Reply With Quote
08-12-05, 12:10 PM   #5
Garoun
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Garoun's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 25
Originally Posted by Brawler
I turned everything on with this mod and created a profile for my character, but it does not scroll the damage, spells being casted, debuffs, or anything it is supposed to. Anyone know why?
Things to check:
Enable Scrolling Combat text is checked in the top left corner
Show Events as Message is UNchecked
Text Opacity slider not set to 0%

Go from there and post back, I'll try to reply of Gray hasn't
  Reply With Quote
11-03-05, 01:09 AM   #6
spotpuff
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1
SCT - rogue "riposte" message

Is there any way to add a Rogue-only "RIPOSTE!" message when parrying in combat?

I currently have the following in sct_event_config.lua


[22] = {name="Riposte!", search="(.+) attacks. You parry.", r=0/256, g=0/256, b=256/256, iscrit=1, class={"Rogue"}},

IT doesn't work; all I get is "Parry!" I ONLY WANT THIS FOR ROGUES! Not warrior/shaman.
  Reply With Quote
11-16-05, 06:01 AM   #7
Bravos
A Kobold Labourer
 
Bravos's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by spotpuff
Is there any way to add a Rogue-only "RIPOSTE!" message when parrying in combat?

I currently have the following in sct_event_config.lua


[22] = {name="Riposte!", search="(.+) attacks. You parry.", r=0/256, g=0/256, b=256/256, iscrit=1, class={"Rogue"}},

IT doesn't work; all I get is "Parry!" I ONLY WANT THIS FOR ROGUES! Not warrior/shaman.
Code:
[22] = {name="Riposte!", search="You parry", r=0/256, g=0/256, b=256/256, iscrit=1, class={"Rogue"}},
Try using less detail in your query and also make sure that [22] isn't already being used by something else. The reason you get "Parry!" is because that is hardcoded in the sct.lua and not anything you did.

Also make sure your event line isn't commented out.
  Reply With Quote
02-20-06, 12:05 PM   #8
Platipus
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1
SCT question

i got the SCT mod. and i want the damage that i deal to the beast/humanoid/etc to show up above <b>my</b> character. how do i do this?
  Reply With Quote
03-16-06, 08:27 AM   #9
JayK
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
SCT Error

When i get hitted i keep get this SCT error


How to fix this?

Last edited by JayK : 03-18-06 at 04:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
03-18-06, 04:29 AM   #10
JayK
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 2
Hello? Can somebody help me please?...
  Reply With Quote
04-07-06, 10:49 AM   #11
Movarrin
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 12
I cannot post to the WOW forums. Imagine, work expecting not to surf the web!!


Anyway perhaps someone can help me with my issue. I have the latest version of SCT. Love it.

I went into the event config lua and uncommented the information about all my damage, my heals and my dots.

I uncommented these 2 lines.
--Your DOTS
[14] = {name="*1: *2 (*4)", argcount=4, search="(.+) suffers (%d+) (.+) damage from your (.+). %((%d+) resisted%)", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256},
[15] = {name="*1: *2 (*4)", argcount=4, search="(.+) suffers (%d+) (.+) damage from your (.+).", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256},

I never see this. Can anyone help?
  Reply With Quote
04-08-06, 08:59 PM   #12
troxxy
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
Sct

Hi can some one help me on my error?


the image doesnt seem to work but the error is " Interface\Addons\sct\sct.lua:1222: attempt to index local 'color' (a nil value) "

i cant solve this =\ please help

Thanking in advance

Last edited by troxxy : 04-08-06 at 09:03 PM.
  Reply With Quote
04-09-06, 04:09 AM   #13
mew
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
SCT - removing individual events +add

this post is about Scrolling Combat Text, or SCT.

is it possible to remove individual events, for example the "Windfury!" message?

when you do a windfury, you get the buff thing saying " [Windfury Attack] " and the " Windfury! " message. and im using this Windfury addon "Damn Windfury" that calculates the total windfury damage and displays it in the SCT, so i would like to remove the other two.

i can remove the other thingie by removing all buffs, but i'd like them on...

is it possible to remove those two messages individually?

Last edited by mew : 04-09-06 at 06:09 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-09-06, 08:53 AM   #14
Korash
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 4
@mew you should be able to remove the Windfury! message in your sct_event_config.lua.

[1] = {name="Windfury!", search="You (.+) Windfury", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256, iscrit=1},
is the line. Either delete it or just add -- infront of it, making it look like:

--[1] = {name="Windfury!", search="You (.+) Windfury", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256, iscrit=1},

@troxxy
Grayhoof posted a solution to your problem on the mainsite. Either get the latest version of Titan Honor Plus or deactivate the Titan Honor into SCT option via right clicking on Titan Honor Plus and unchecking the SCT option.

Last edited by Korash : 04-09-06 at 08:57 AM.
  Reply With Quote
04-09-06, 01:21 PM   #15
Viperb0y
A Murloc Raider
 
Viperb0y's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 8
Hi,

hm.. I found a bug (?) in SCT:

If you play a Warrior and don't have the "Execute" Ability you still get displayed the nessage "Execute now". Maybe you can make that this message only appear if there you have learned the ability / have to level to use the ability.
  Reply With Quote
04-09-06, 02:31 PM   #16
mew
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
Originally Posted by Korash
@mew you should be able to remove the Windfury! message in your sct_event_config.lua.

[1] = {name="Windfury!", search="You (.+) Windfury", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256, iscrit=1},
is the line. Either delete it or just add -- infront of it, making it look like:

--[1] = {name="Windfury!", search="You (.+) Windfury", r=256/256, g=256/256, b=0/256, iscrit=1},
thank you, that helped. tho, the "Windfury!" got replaced by "Extra Attack!" but doing the same to that line make it disappear. and now im satisfied.
  Reply With Quote
04-10-06, 08:36 PM   #17
fred
A Cobalt Mageweaver
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 208
Is it possible to have Titan bar support?
  Reply With Quote
04-21-06, 08:44 PM   #18
smite
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 2
SCT sct_event_config.lua

I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to ask for help in, but heres a shot. Please let me know if I need to move this question.

I just installed the latest SCT, it's great!

I cutomized the sct_event_config.lua file to look for a specific event in my combat log, it does, and it displays the text I told it to.. great.. How can I modify the font size (perhaps font style also) for this one particular message?

Thanks!

Smite
  Reply With Quote
04-21-06, 09:41 PM   #19
BTShrump
A Cyclonian
 
BTShrump's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 46
Originally Posted by smite
I'm not sure if this is the correct forum to ask for help in, but heres a shot. Please let me know if I need to move this question.

I just installed the latest SCT, it's great!

I cutomized the sct_event_config.lua file to look for a specific event in my combat log, it does, and it displays the text I told it to.. great.. How can I modify the font size (perhaps font style also) for this one particular message?

Thanks!

Smite
I don't think you can, not for one event
__________________

Time Spent in WOW:
3 hours a night to raid
2 hours a day to farm
300 hours a day to work on UI
>_<
  Reply With Quote
04-22-06, 08:11 AM   #20
Ravendave
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 1
SCT is broken

Every time an event happens that would trigger sct I get this message and nothing happens: " Interface\AddOns\sct\sct.lua:826: attempt to call global 'SCTGlobalParser_ParseMessage' (a nil value) "

nothing comes up other than this large error message. Please help!
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » Scrolling Combat Text

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off