Quantcast Write name to Macro addon? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
09-08-19, 01:25 AM   #1
bizzy401
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Write name to Macro addon?

This is for Classic

I am looking for a player frame addon that I could right click on a player frame and click an option to write a macro;

For example, say you are in a dungeon. The tanks name is "Joe". You could right click Joe's player frame and click "Set as Tank" and it would write a macro that like this;

Code:
#showtooltip
/use [harm][@Joe-target]Frostbolt
Is this even possible? I understand that Macros can't be written during combat, but something like this would be great to use at the beginning of the dungeon. This would be a way to get around not having focus...any help would be appreciated.
  Reply With Quote
09-08-19, 11:38 AM   #2
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,671
Set the tank to be your focus, then use
Code:
/cast [@focustarget] Frostbolt
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
09-08-19, 12:33 PM   #3
bizzy401
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Set the tank to be your focus, then use
Code:
/cast [@focustarget] Frostbolt
There is no focus in Classic
  Reply With Quote
09-08-19, 01:10 PM   #4
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,346
I'm not sure if macros can use them but aren't there raid or party specific values .. raid1, party1 etc that you can use, adjust the macro prior to combat once the groups have been set in place.

Just a thought.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
09-08-19, 07:39 PM   #5
bizzy401
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 10
Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
I'm not sure if macros can use them but aren't there raid or party specific values .. raid1, party1 etc that you can use, adjust the macro prior to combat once the groups have been set in place.

Just a thought.
Yeah, I adjust my macro prior to the dungeon as it is now, but I was just looking for an addon that simplified this. Thanks, though.
  Reply With Quote
09-08-19, 10:01 PM   #6
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,346
I don't think you get any simpler than the @unit options. With Classic removing target specific elements what you are already doing is the next simplest thing unfortunately. Unless of course there is something out there that hasn't been documented yet.
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Classic - AddOns, Compliations, Macros » Classic - AddOn Search/Requests » Write name to Macro addon?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off