Quantcast
HybridScrollFrame row background colour - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-03-21, 09:31 AM   #1
Ylaana
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
HybridScrollFrame row background colour

This is my first addon. I have a list which is basically Meorawr's HybridScrollFrame demo, just with a different dataset.

https://gist.github.com/Meorawr/7d67...7a875db3fd1d7a

If an item's itemName exists within a given itemArray, I want to colour the row background, which I've done like this:

Code:
button.Text:SetText(item.text or "");

local tex = button:CreateTexture(nil, "BACKGROUND")
tex:SetAllPoints()
tex:SetTexture("Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background")
tex:SetGradientAlpha("HORIZONTAL", unpack({0.15,0.6,0.15,1, 0.15,0.6,0.15,0}))
button.Texture = tex
button.Texture:Hide()

if ItemExists(itemArray, item.itemName) then
    button.Texture:Show()
end
This puts the background in as expected for the right items on load, but when I scroll down, the coloured background 'sticks' to the top of the list, and ends up colouring the background of the items I scrolled past. I also noticed that some rows appear to get the background applied more than once(?) as the opacity/gradient varies between them. I've attached images of the initial view (1), and what happens when you scroll down (2) and back up (3).

I'd be very grateful if someone could point me in the right direction.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	itemlist1.png
Views:	22
Size:	231.5 KB
ID:	9615  Click image for larger version

Name:	itemlist2.png
Views:	15
Size:	227.4 KB
ID:	9616  Click image for larger version

Name:	itemlist3.png
Views:	16
Size:	230.9 KB
ID:	9617  
  Reply With Quote
05-03-21, 10:38 AM   #2
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,622
Off the top of my head it sounds like the problem is happening because you are coloring the display rather than marking the value as being colorable. As in there may be 1000 items but only 20 bars. You only want to color the bar that contains the item you want to have colored and uncolor the other bars.

If you set the default bar color it should ensure that each bar is uncolored until you ask it to color it based on the item.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
05-03-21, 11:20 AM   #3
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,392
Code:
button.Text:SetText(item.text or "");

local tex = button:CreateTexture(nil, "BACKGROUND")
tex:SetAllPoints()
tex:SetTexture("Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background")
tex:SetGradientAlpha("HORIZONTAL", unpack({0.15,0.6,0.15,1, 0.15,0.6,0.15,0}))
button.Texture = tex
button.Texture:Hide()
This indicates that you are creating a new background texture every time you scroll and update a row of the scrollframe. Each row will end up with multiple textures on top of each other with the previous ones permanent display state being what it was before you create and assign the new one with button.Texture = tex

You could apply the texture to the Background element of the HybridScrollDemoListItemTemplate section of the XML (this defines what each row will look like). You can then just set the colour etc. (highligh or default) of the background texture when you set the text.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 05-03-21 at 11:40 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-12-21, 02:15 PM   #4
Ylaana
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Thanks, that's exactly what I needed!

I've made some further changes, and it's all working - but not on player login. The rows don't get coloured until you do an interface reload, but printing the values inside the functions to the console returns the right data. I've tried registering PLAYER_LOGIN and adding it to the events with a self:RefreshLayout() but that doesn't change anything.

Is the code taking too long to run? Have I missed something obvious? I don't really know how to fix this and further improve/optimise the code. I've put my addon files in here: https://pastebin.com/u/Ylaana/1/tPZRxwDK

Any advice is greatly appreciated (and I hope someone will find the addon useful ).
  Reply With Quote
05-12-21, 02:56 PM   #5
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,392
I can't see anything usable in the Pastebin page but then again, I'm not a Pastebin expert.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
05-12-21, 03:19 PM   #6
Ylaana
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
Sorry, I've set them all to public now so you should be able to see them. Here are the direct links:

https://pastebin.com/aK9HQctf
https://pastebin.com/ajc1CuYC
https://pastebin.com/nEf8Cy12
https://pastebin.com/KaXaKLH8
  Reply With Quote
05-12-21, 08:50 PM   #7
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,392
I don't have many Glyphs except a couple on a Druid (Cheetah etc.) so I'm not sure how to get one to display as active or in confict.

You do your RefreshLayout OnShow and and on receiving a GET_ITEM_INFO_RECEIVED event.

Frames by default are shown (your xml frame does not have the hidden attribute) so you won't get an initial refresh unless you receive an event or manually hide/show the frame (the OnShow script is set after the frame is created ie. already shown).
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 05-12-21 at 09:58 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-13-21, 03:03 AM   #8
Ylaana
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2021
Posts: 4
To determine which glyphs are active, the addon looks in your spellbook for any spells that have glyphs attached to them and puts those in a table. It then compares that table to the names of the glyphs in GlyphData.lua for your classID, and if a match is found the row background should be green. It also checks the conflicts to see if the active glyphs are in an exclusive set, so the other glyphs in that set are coloured red. I've attached an image of what it looks like on a paladin with the Valorous Charger's Bridle glyph on Divine Steed, which is exclusive with the Vengeful/Vigilant/Golden Charger's Bridles and Glyph of the Trusted Steed, and on a priest with the Shackle Undead and Voidling glyphs, with the latter being exclusive with the Glyphs of the Lightspawn and Sha.

Because Marks (of the Cheetah/Dolphin/etc.) are made by scribes but aren't technically glyphs (i.e. not trackable through the spellbook), I included them in the list but they won't get coloured in the same way as 'regular' glyphs, as Blizzard don't currently have an API call in place that would allow me to obtain that information from the barber shop interface. I don't know if I should just hide them altogether because a lot of people I spoke to about these Marks weren't even aware they existed, so I suppose just making them visible in this way could be helpful.

Manually hiding/showing the frame by clicking the close button and then using /gl to show it again doesn't update the row colours, nor does triggering RefreshLayout on the PLAYER_LOGIN or PLAYER_ENTERING_WORLD events. I even tried on SPELLS_CHANGED and learning a new glyph to see if that would do anything, but again with no luck. I do want to make it so that learning a new glyph automatically refreshes the row colours, but that probably means re-scanning the spellbook to see what's changed and running through the active/exclusions lists again.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	paladin.png
Views:	15
Size:	122.4 KB
ID:	9626  Click image for larger version

Name:	priest.png
Views:	9
Size:	97.7 KB
ID:	9627  
  Reply With Quote
05-13-21, 11:40 AM   #9
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,392
Code:
local glyphedSpells = GetGlyphedSpells()
You're setting up your lookup table of glyphs when your addon loads before much of the character data has been gathered especially when first loggin in. Doing this also means the information in the table doesn't change even if spells are updated during play.

This table needs to be refreshed when new data is available (the chached spell information won't have been flushed during a /reload which is why it is already available so early "second time in").

Something like adding glyphedSpells = GetGlyphedSpells() to your cache_writer OnEvent script (might refresh too often but gives you an idea of what's going on).

Code:
button.GlyphActive:SetTexture("Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background")
button.GlyphActive:SetGradientAlpha("HORIZONTAL", unpack({0.15,0.6,0.15,1, 0.15,0.6,0.15,0}))
 
button.GlyphConflict:SetTexture("Interface\\Tooltips\\UI-Tooltip-Background")
button.GlyphConflict:SetGradientAlpha("HORIZONTAL", unpack({0.6,0.15,0.15,1, 0.6,0.15,0.15,0}))
As with the texture originally, your resetting the highlight file and gradient every time you scroll. While this doesn't create the problem seen previously, it's doing things over and over again that only need to be done once. You could move this to your XML with

Code:
 
<Texture parentKey="GlyphActive" setAllPoints="true" file="Interface\Tooltips\UI-Tooltip-Background">
	<Gradient orientation="HORIZONTAL">
		<MinColor r="0.15" g="0.6" b="0.15" a="1"/>
		<MaxColor r="0.15" g="0.6" b="0.15" a="0"/>
	</Gradient>
</Texture>
<Texture parentKey="GlyphConflict" setAllPoints="true" file="Interface\Tooltips\UI-Tooltip-Background">
	<Gradient orientation="HORIZONTAL">
		<MinColor r="0.6" g="0.15" b="0.15" a="1"/>
		<MaxColor r="0.6" g="0.15" b="0.15" a="0"/>
	</Gradient>
</Texture>
As an aside, unpack({0.15,0.6,0.15,1, 0.15,0.6,0.15,0}) is creating a table just to unpack it straight away and then discard it.
Code:
button.GlyphActive:SetGradientAlpha("HORIZONTAL", 0.15, 0.6, 0.15, 1, 0.15, 0.6, 0.15, 0)
Is the same without adding the middle step.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 05-13-21 at 12:20 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » HybridScrollFrame row background colour

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off