Quantcast
3.3 LFG button hidden when carbonite enabled. - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-08-09, 10:29 PM   #1
xero
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 1
3.3 LFG button hidden when carbonite enabled.

As the post title says, carbonite hides the LFG button when queue'd with the new dungeon finder system and theres no way through the settings to get it to display.
 
12-08-09, 10:59 PM   #2
TehMutt
A Kobold Labourer
 
TehMutt's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 1
I thought so, nice to know it wasn't just me. Since dungeons are/were buggy after the patch, the minimap button seems to be the only fix, but you're right, I can't get it to show.
 
12-09-09, 12:14 AM   #3
Hiker
A Murloc Raider
 
Hiker's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
I'm having the same problem... so with Carbonite enabled there's no way to teleport to a dungeon via the "Dungeon Finder". At least not that I can see. If anybody knows a solution please post.

Thanks
 
12-09-09, 12:26 AM   #4
holedweller
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 2
Exclamation De-Merge the MiniMap

For some reason, the LFG icon doesn't fall into the Carbonite button menu. So the only way to use the LFG feature is to separate Carbonite from the MiniMap. It will still show up on the MiniMap as long as you don't have it merged, even with the button menu on.
 
12-09-09, 03:36 AM   #5
Zaghar
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 6
This new button appears to be part of the blizzard mini map frame and not its own separate button. If someone could figure out the script to "Teleport to and from the instance" you could make a macro for it.
 
12-09-09, 04:11 AM   #6
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
I did 2 runs using the Dungeon finder so far. It asked me to teleport each time. I figured there may be a missing minimap button, but had not looked for it yet.

I fixed it. Will be in next version.

You can hack it yourself in the meantime by searching in Carbonite.lua for
"MiniMapBattlefieldFrame", and adding "MiniMapLFGFrame", after it.

Line end would be >>> "MiniMapBattlefieldFrame","MiniMapLFGFrame",}

Quotes are required.
__________________
faatal

Last edited by carboniteaddon : 12-09-09 at 04:14 AM.
 
12-09-09, 05:48 AM   #7
Copacetic
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 1
Thank you! So far it has worked for me. Still have to test the "enter instance" from the button. But it has at least showed up for me with the rest of the minimap buttons. Thanks again!!
 
12-09-09, 05:59 AM   #8
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by Copacetic View Post
Thank you! So far it has worked for me. Still have to test the "enter instance" from the button. But it has at least showed up for me with the rest of the minimap buttons. Thanks again!!
Great. Let us know if you have any further problems with it. Hope to have a bug fix release by this weekend.

The sun will be coming up and I'm off to sleep. I'll check the forums again tomorrow afternoon.
__________________
faatal
 
12-09-09, 07:37 AM   #9
aurora0809
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 8
adding the port to instance icon

i dont knwo if im doing something wrong but when i try and open the carbonite.lua page it says windows cannot open this file...how do i get passed this to be able to rewrite in carbonite?
P.S. ive never written my own addons if you couldnt tell!
 
12-09-09, 07:41 AM   #10
Vis
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Vis's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 1,824
You can open up .lua files using any text editor you'd like.

I personally recommend Textpad. Its free to evaluate, and the low purchase price of the software is a great deal for what you get.

Here's a link directly to their homepage: http://www.textpad.com/
 
12-09-09, 09:15 AM   #11
nick5454
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
So when can we expect to updated version to be released with the LFG fix?
 
12-09-09, 09:20 AM   #12
nick5454
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 11
Originally Posted by Vis View Post
You can open up .lua files using any text editor you'd like.

I personally recommend Textpad. Its free to evaluate, and the low purchase price of the software is a great deal for what you get.

Here's a link directly to their homepage: http://www.textpad.com/
For Visual Studio users ( Express is free ) there is an add in that lets you edit WOW Lua projects. It can be done there even though it's overkill.

It works very well.
 
12-09-09, 11:19 AM   #13
Hiker
A Murloc Raider
 
Hiker's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
I fixed it. Will be in next version.

You can hack it yourself in the meantime by searching in Carbonite.lua for
"MiniMapBattlefieldFrame", and adding "MiniMapLFGFrame", after it.

Line end would be >>> "MiniMapBattlefieldFrame","MiniMapLFGFrame",}

Quotes are required.
You guys are awesome, thank you!
 
12-09-09, 03:19 PM   #14
Colacola
A Defias Bandit
 
Colacola's Avatar
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 2
Thanks for the advice on fixing this problem with LFG button. For those of you just now looking into this.....

find the lua file in the carbonite folder....

open it up...

click "edit"

search for "MiniMapBattlefieldFrame"

copy/paste "MiniMapLFGFrame" just after the comma

save and close the lua

good to go
__________________
 
12-09-09, 05:03 PM   #15
Sepioth
A Molten Giant
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 894
Originally Posted by nick5454 View Post
So when can we expect to updated version to be released with the LFG fix?
Read post #8 ... 3 posts ABOVE yours ..

Thanks Carb team ... glad to see Carb updated for 3.3 as the patch was released. Great Job.
 
12-09-09, 07:41 PM   #16
lovswr
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lovswr's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
I did 2 runs using the Dungeon finder so far. It asked me to teleport each time. I figured there may be a missing minimap button, but had not looked for it yet.

I fixed it. Will be in next version.

You can hack it yourself in the meantime by searching in Carbonite.lua for
"MiniMapBattlefieldFrame", and adding "MiniMapLFGFrame", after it.

Line end would be >>> "MiniMapBattlefieldFrame","MiniMapLFGFrame",}







Quotes are required.

I did exactly as you said. It is not working for me. Can you post a pic of what I SHOULD be looking for on the mini map?







edit: Here is the entire modified line from my Carbonite.lua

{"NXMiniMapBut","GameTimeFrame","TimeManagerClockButton","MiniMapWorldMapButton","MiniMapMailFrame","MiniMapTracking","MiniMapVoiceChatFrame","MiniMapBattlefieldFrame","MiniMapLFGFrame",}

Last edited by lovswr : 12-09-09 at 07:45 PM.
 
12-09-09, 09:12 PM   #17
lovswr
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
lovswr's Avatar
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 21
Well I'm an idiot. I forgot about the button bag & there it is at the far right.




oh, is there a way to move the button bag around?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_120909_204952.jpg
Views:	1518
Size:	581.3 KB
ID:	3630  
 
12-09-09, 11:01 PM   #18
twistdshade
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
twistdshade's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
/click MiniMapLFGFrame

Make this into a macro for a temporary quick-fix
 
12-11-09, 02:01 PM   #19
PersephanieTwistingNether
A Murloc Raider
 
PersephanieTwistingNether's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 6
Originally Posted by carboniteaddon View Post
I did 2 runs using the Dungeon finder so far. It asked me to teleport each time. I figured there may be a missing minimap button, but had not looked for it yet.

I fixed it. Will be in next version.

You can hack it yourself in the meantime by searching in Carbonite.lua for
"MiniMapBattlefieldFrame", and adding "MiniMapLFGFrame", after it.

Line end would be >>> "MiniMapBattlefieldFrame","MiniMapLFGFrame",}

Quotes are required.
Thank you for the help but i use Minimap Button Frame as well. will I need to do anything different to the text to make it work for that?
 
12-11-09, 03:57 PM   #20
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by lovswr View Post
Well I'm an idiot. I forgot about the button bag & there it is at the far right.

oh, is there a way to move the button bag around?
Looks like it is doing what Carbonite can do, except Carbonite does not put a big window frame around the buttons, which I would not want myself.

What addon is that?
__________________
faatal
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » 3.3 LFG button hidden when carbonite enabled.

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off