Quantcast
Need help with the !Beautycase addon please! - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-14-10, 02:47 AM   #1
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Need help with the !Beautycase addon please!

I've been looking around the internet and in a lot of different files trying to figure out what I need to do to make !Beautycase work for me on my DXE and ShockAndAwe bars.
One link I found was from the forums here but didn't do me much good other than introducing me to the addon - this is the post:
Originally Posted by nin View Post
how did you try it before? are several ways.. depends on how lazy you want too be :P you could add code in the lua or use a addon that adds borders/panels for you..i use beautycase for example and it works...

if you use addon for it look in alerts.lua for the frames you need too hook the texture too.

icon frame

Code:
local icon = CreateFrame("Frame",nil,self)
for the bar there are three frames that works.. don't think anyone is better than the other :P

Code:
local self = CreateFrame("Frame","DXEAlertBar"..BarCount,UIParent)
Code:
local statusbar = CreateFrame("StatusBar",nil,self)
Code:
local border = CreateFrame("Frame",nil,self)
I then went into my DXE folder and indeed found those lines of text and I also went and downloaded !Beautycase but, from there, I do not know what to do with those lines of text to make them work with the addon.

Can anyone help me hook the texture from !Beautycase to the DXE bars? I'll post more info if needed.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 04:08 AM   #2
nin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Im on phone so cant give you exact codes.

If you Open beautycase.lua There is a section that explains the function.

Something like "createborder(framename,size,r,g,b,adjustment)

Example for icon. Createborder(icon,3,1,1,1) last 8 digits is Rip adjust the texture

You Can change the border textures in the mediafolder.

Hope that makes sense
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 04:30 AM   #3
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by nin View Post
Im on phone so cant give you exact codes.

If you Open beautycase.lua There is a section that explains the function.

Something like "createborder(framename,size,r,g,b,adjustment)

Example for icon. Createborder(icon,3,1,1,1) last 8 digits is Rip adjust the texture

You Can change the border textures in the mediafolder.

Hope that makes sense
I really like the border textures that came with
I went into the LUA file and saw the
CreateBorder(myFrameName, 12, R, G, B, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1, 1)
etc
The part I don't understand is what to do from there, with that section, to put in the DXE code (if that is even how I do it)
Would it look something like
Code:
	local icon = CreateFrame("Frame",nil,self)
        CreateBorder(icon,3,1,1,1)
	self.icon = icon
That's the part I'm having trouble with :/ Just how to apply the code to DXE.

EDIT: I tried using what I have above and the border did indeed show up around the icon - thank you very much. May not be the proper way to do it but glad it's progress


So I've got the border on the bars and icons working great, but now I can't figure out how to get the pane to have a matching border.. I assume it's in the Core.lua file.

Result so far:

Last edited by Autonomy : 06-14-10 at 04:47 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 06:14 AM   #4
Canities
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54
Originally Posted by Autonomy View Post
So I've got the border on the bars and icons working great, but now I can't figure out how to get the pane to have a matching border.. I assume it's in the Core.lua file.
Try looking in \DXE\Widgets\ for both the health and timber bar lua files, in there you will find a couple of frames that require the !beautycase code.

Regards
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 06:38 AM   #5
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Canities View Post
Try looking in \DXE\Widgets\ for both the health and timber bar lua files, in there you will find a couple of frames that require the !beautycase code.

Regards
The health part worked out very well, the timer part not so much. It literally puts a border around the timer part and not the entire pane
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 06:51 AM   #6
Canities
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54
Originally Posted by Autonomy View Post
The health part worked out very well, the timer part not so much. It literally puts a border around the timer part and not the entire pane
Ok, one down one left!
Try looking in wondow.lua for:
local window = CreateFrame("Frame","DXEWindow"..properName,UIParent)
local faux_window = CreateFrame("Frame","DXEWindow"..properName.."Frame",window)
local border = CreateFrame("Frame",nil,faux_window)

I believe they are what your after for the whole pane, you will have to experiment with which one does what as, not being at a computer that runs WoW i'm working on a bit of guess work here :P

Regards

ps: also for the proximity window check in:
DXE\Windows\Proximity.lua
In there are some local settings for bars/statusbars and icons. You might want to check them out also.

Last edited by Canities : 06-14-10 at 06:59 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 07:28 AM   #7
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Oddly enough, the window.lua file skins the proximity window.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 07:34 AM   #8
Canities
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 54
Originally Posted by Autonomy View Post
Oddly enough, the window.lua file skins the proximity window.
Interesting, im guessing the window.lua file is used for any of the other windows (i.e. version check/proximity, etc). Glad it all worked out good

I might have to use this myself and mod the texture files for my own UI

Regards
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 07:41 AM   #9
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Canities View Post
Interesting, im guessing the window.lua file is used for any of the other windows (i.e. version check/proximity, etc). Glad it all worked out good

I might have to use this myself and mod the texture files for my own UI

Regards
Haha, awful habit of mine. Always want more.

Updated. Getting kind of closer to what I wanted!
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 09:30 AM   #10
nin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
the pane is located in core.lua

Code:
Pane = CreateFrame("Frame","DXEPane",UIParent)
a tip is too /fstack and mouseover the frame you want the name of.
  Reply With Quote
06-14-10, 11:59 PM   #11
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Is the way I wrote the code in one of my earlier posts the way I'm supposed to do it?
  Reply With Quote
06-15-10, 08:49 AM   #12
nin
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 213
Originally Posted by Autonomy View Post
Is the way I wrote the code in one of my earlier posts the way I'm supposed to do it?
you're applying the code right. just play with the settings till you find a setting that you like. sometimes you need too adjust size and stuff depending on what frame you hook it too.
  Reply With Quote
06-15-10, 11:13 PM   #13
Autonomy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jun 2010
Posts: 7
Thanks much for the help, I still can't find a way to put the border on the actual pane though.. kind of annoying. Have tried several different places in the DXE code.


Update in combat
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Need help with the !Beautycase addon please!

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off