Thread Tools Display Modes
11-27-10, 11:32 PM   #1
Yooya
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
The "Perfect" Action Bar Border.

Hello,

I'm looking to get the perfect 1px action bar border. Currently I'm using rActionBarStyler and rActionButtonStyler (Luna). This gives me that perfect border, but I need to use a size of ~36 to get the perfect look, when I'm looking for something smaller

Any helping me here?
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 12:02 AM   #2
jeffy162
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
jeffy162's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2,364
You might try Button Facade with ButtonFacade: PixelSkin.
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 05:07 AM   #3
v6o
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 399
When you mention perfect 1px borders you should turn off ui scaling, if you use it, and let WoW handle the scale for you (1:1 px)

If that's not something you would like you could always try moving the action bars pixel by pixel and see if you can find a location where the pixels are not smeared.
__________________
I stopped playing back World of Warcraft in 2010 and I have no plans on returning.
This is a dead account and if you want to continue any of my addons or make a fork then feel free to do so.
This is your permission slip.

If you need to contact me, do so on Twitter @v6ooo

Best regards, v6.
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 06:11 AM   #4
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
I use seperate frames for each button and add a backdrop to those with border size 1 / action bar scale. Perhaps not the most efficient but I found it's the only way to get a proper 1-pixel border.
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 12:31 PM   #5
Zagrei
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Zagrei's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
I use seperate frames for each button and add a backdrop to those with border size 1 / action bar scale. Perhaps not the most efficient but I found it's the only way to get a proper 1-pixel border.
That must take a while to set up If I had time, I would do that... maybe I could borrow your code? It's in FreeUI, I assume.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 12:33 PM   #6
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
It's handled by code, I didn't actually write out individual frames for each button (though I could, it'd be mainly copy-paste, but it'd be way too much code).

It's in my UI, just a bit I added into a modded rActionButtonStyler.
  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 11:42 PM   #7
Yooya
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Thanks for the help guys. I'm definitely going to look at one you've done Haleth, and see if I can reproduce it myself. If I can't, that sucks, but I got a nice look without action bars and I don't exactly need them as long as I have a way to track cool downs without it - which I do.

I'll throw a little link down here to show (the UF is an oUF_P3lim edit) what I'm working on. Just 'cause I can.

  Reply With Quote
11-28-10, 11:53 PM   #8
Zagrei
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Zagrei's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 246
I got it working perfectly, thanks Haleth! Had to change the UI around a bit to accomodate, but the changes were for the better, anyway
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-29-10, 10:25 PM   #9
Yooya
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 20
Originally Posted by Zagrei View Post
I got it working perfectly, thanks Haleth! Had to change the UI around a bit to accomodate, but the changes were for the better, anyway
I couldn't get it. Would you mind doing just an upload of your action bars for me Zagrei? I'm a bit new to all of this and it would be a big help.
  Reply With Quote
11-29-10, 11:52 PM   #10
Zagrei
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Zagrei's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 246
Originally Posted by Yooya View Post
I couldn't get it. Would you mind doing just an upload of your action bars for me Zagrei? I'm a bit new to all of this and it would be a big help.
I use Dominos, first of all. Second, I had to do some LUA editing to get it to work, such as removing all of the FreeUI calls (fonts, textures, etc), and replacing them with my own. Then, I also had to change a but of the scaling that Haleth uses, because when I scaled Dominos around, it wouldn't be pixel perfect anymore.

Honestly, other than that, I just copied-and-pasted Haleth's code, made those modifications, and it works like a charm.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
01-03-11, 02:48 PM   #11
aiikachi
A Cyclonian
 
aiikachi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Forgive me for necro-ing this thread, but I have been trying to modify Haleths code all day to also work on Class/Shapeshift bars to no avail--is there some way to do this, and I am just failing miserably at it?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
01-03-11, 08:49 PM   #12
Karudon
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 15
use instead of textures backdrops, its 100% pixelperfect
  Reply With Quote
01-04-11, 07:54 PM   #13
aiikachi
A Cyclonian
 
aiikachi's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 44
Well, I managed to do what I wanted...but now my concern seems to be a memory leak. Memory is an issue for me sooo...Is there any other events I can register or whatnot to make this work without my memory going up constantly?
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » The "Perfect" Action Bar Border.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off