Thread Tools Display Modes
09-16-07, 08:26 AM   #1
Rabscuttle of Executus
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rabscuttle of Executus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Trying to hide the zone bar above minimap with lua

I have succesfully hidden the day/night button, the zoom buttons, and the world map button (all simple stuff) but cannot find a way to hide the zone location bar at the top of the map, because I don't know the frame name. I can hide the text, or the "x" toggle button but not the bar itself. I tried

/script ChatFrame1:AddMessage(GetMouseFocus():GetName())

with my mouse cursor over the frame but that just returns the frame name "MinimapCluster", which hides the whole minimap.

This is an example of how I am hiding the frames:

minimap_clock="GameTimeFrame";

function MyMiniMap_OnLoad()
getglobal(minimap_clock):Hide();
end

Really all I need is the name of the frame but I can't find it. Maybe someone out there knows the name of it?

Thanks.
 
09-16-07, 08:32 AM   #2
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
You could use Discord Frame modifier to find frames. When you have the frame finder open it hows the name of the frame it's parent and a bunch of other stuff.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
 
09-16-07, 08:46 AM   #3
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
I would personally use Where's My Cow
 
09-16-07, 09:12 AM   #4
Rabscuttle of Executus
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rabscuttle of Executus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
Ok, thanks guys

The lazyness in me was hoping someone could just tell me the frame name but I guess I'll just use where's my cow, it looks useful.

edit: Well Where's my Cow is a neat little addon but it doesn't help me much. I'm still not finding the frame name. The closest I can get is still MinimapZoneTextButton. Perhaps it doesn't have one? I'm confused because I know it is possible to hide that frame, I've seen the effect form other addons, ex. the hiding location text/bar options with simpleMiniMap. And yes, I did look at the code for simpleMiniMap, but I didn't get it, as, I'm sure you can tell, I am a novice, and the methods used are completely different then mine (ie not completely basic like my way).

Last edited by Rabscuttle of Executus : 09-16-07 at 09:26 AM.
 
09-16-07, 09:28 AM   #5
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
Code:
<Frame name="MinimapCluster">
  <Frames>
    <Button name="MinimapZoneTextButton">
      <Layers>
	<Layer level="BACKGROUND">
	  <FontString name="MinimapZoneText">
This one? It's a button not a frame, maybe why you cannot catch it my mouseovering.
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
 
09-16-07, 09:39 AM   #6
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
I'm 100% shure DFM knows it. I'm hiding it with DFM.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
 
09-16-07, 10:04 AM   #7
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
Ok accordiing to Bongos2_MapBar these frames should do it:

MinimapZoneTextButton
MinimapToggleButton
MinimapBorderTop
 
09-16-07, 10:51 AM   #8
Rabscuttle of Executus
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rabscuttle of Executus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
MinimapBorderTop! That's gotta be it.

Let me try...

edit: Thanks for the help guys, a lot. That did it.
 
09-16-07, 10:55 AM   #9
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
Originally Posted by Rabscuttle of Executus
MinimapBorderTop! That's gotta be it.

Let me try...

edit: Thanks for the help guys, a lot. That did it.
np always happy to help
 
09-16-07, 11:09 AM   #10
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
When you are trying to find elements of the stock UI, you can always get the official UI kit and look directly at the files, in this case:
...\World of Warcraft\Blizzard Interface Data (enUS)\FrameXML\Minimap.xml

The download page is here:
http://www.blizzard.com/support/wow/?id=aww01671p
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
 
09-16-07, 11:25 AM   #11
Sithraza
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Sithraza's Avatar
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 57
and u can try "simpleminimap" what i use, its great, it has every type of shape you want for it, and its fully customizable
 
09-16-07, 12:22 PM   #12
Rabscuttle of Executus
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Rabscuttle of Executus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 102
shweet.

Downloaded the blizzard interface addon kit, now won't have to bother anyone over frame names again (hopefully).

Of course I could just use simpleMiniMap but where is the fun in that?

Last edited by Rabscuttle of Executus : 09-16-07 at 12:25 PM.
 
03-06-08, 04:09 PM   #13
Cralor
Mmm... cookies!!!
 
Cralor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 772
EDIT: I will try out DFM. This might do what I want. Woops...

EDIT2: I am successful with DFM. I had to add the Voice and Map buttons, but it is really what I was looking for. :P


Sorry to bring a old thread back...

But I have a question regarding this.

I was able to take Rabscuttles /script ChatFrame1:AddMessage(GetMouseFocus():Hide())

As you can see I changed the last part to Hide. This managed to have my minimap frame hidden.

Now, I'd like to make it into a mini addon.

I recently took out SMM and am using Carbonite Quest. I don't need a minimap anymore and I wanted to keep the Blizzard one hidden.

If someone could help me make an addon that always has the minimap on hide so that I don't have to keep doing the code, that'd be great.

Thanks!

Oh, and I want to make it so I still can see the minimap buttons, too.
__________________
Never be satisfied with satisfactory.

Last edited by Cralor : 03-06-08 at 04:49 PM.
 
03-06-08, 04:49 PM   #14
Dreadlorde
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dreadlorde's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 2,302
MinimapCluster:Hide();

or

Minimap:Hide()

Buttons will be hidden too.
__________________

Funtoo - Plan 9 - Windows 7
 
05-16-18, 01:26 PM   #15
alipica
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2018
Posts: 1
Hiding the zone button at the top

I know this is a very old thread, but I thought this might still be useful to someone. It works as of Legion (7.3.5). I got it out of the SpartanUI lua:

Code:
MinimapZoneText:Hide();
Minimap.ZoneText = Minimap:CreateFontString(nil,"OVERLAY","SUI_Font10");	
MinimapZoneText:ClearAllPoints();
MinimapZoneText:SetAllPoints(Minimap.ZoneText);
MinimapZoneTextButton:ClearAllPoints();
MinimapZoneTextButton:SetAllPoints(Minimap.ZoneText);
 

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Trying to hide the zone bar above minimap with lua

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off