Thread Tools Display Modes
11-17-14, 03:49 PM   #21
sirann
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
So in this situation since we're setting the value to nil, but leaving the key the same, no taint is caused?
  Reply With Quote
11-17-14, 04:07 PM   #22
Vrul
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Vrul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 404
This is my understanding of how it works (feel free to correct me if I am wrong):

Anything that has a nil value just means there is no data assigned to it. Assigning a table key a nil value removes the entry from the table since it has no data. Taint is tracked for each individual data reference and since nil represents a lack of data there cannot be any taint associated with it.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-14, 05:21 PM   #23
semlar
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,060
Modifying a value that the interface later accesses taints the function that accessed the value, it doesn't matter whether you set it to nil or something else.
  Reply With Quote
11-17-14, 05:30 PM   #24
sirann
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 142
So essentially just move the frame and set the scale to 0.0000001 is your best solution?
  Reply With Quote
11-17-14, 06:09 PM   #25
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Removing/changing things in UIPARENT_MANAGED_FRAME_POSITIONS does not break anything. I do it, and Nevcairiel does it in Bartender4, and I'm sure other addons that I don't use do it, and it's fine. Taint is not necessarily bad. Taint is only bad if it gets in the way of a secure code path, but tainting values in UIPARENT_MANAGED_FRAME_POSITIONS does not do that, and has not ever done that. While it could theoretically do that in the future, you can apply the same argument to anything, and then you'll never write any code at all.

You can alternatively set a "ignoreFramePositionManager" flag on the button:

Code:
DraenorZoneAbilityFrame.ignoreFramePositionManager = true
However, this won't stop the UI from moving other frames to accomodate the expected location of the zone ability button; you can't do that without either causing Big Scary Taint, or hooking a lot functions and calling a lot of SetPoint methods.

However #2, the DraenorZoneAbilityFrame isn't a secure frame, so if you just want to kill it, you should just be able to do the old hide-on-show trick:

Code:
DraenorZoneAbilityFrame:SetScript("OnShow", DraenorZoneAbilityFrame.Hide)
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
12-05-14, 12:51 AM   #26
style-fetisch
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 3
I use MoveAnything.

And post in the Chat /move DraenorZoneAbilityFrame
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Move DraenorZoneAbillity Button?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off