12-30-21, 01:26 PM   #1
JahirahDK
An Aku'mai Servant

Question Ingame Forum

I've long been intrigued by the idea of an ingame message board as an alternative to an online web forum and in my search I've scoured every imaginable site I can think of only to find one or two projects, both outdated and long disbanded.

Along the way I came across information mentioning the difficulty involved in developing such an addon...
I'm not a developer so I have no clue as to why that is, or even if it's true...
Anyone able to enlighten me in layman's terms?
12-30-21, 02:46 PM   #2
Tim
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Addons cannot connect to the internet which means no way to keep a database for everyone to sync to for their in game forum. There's a bit more but, don't really need to go more in-depth from what I've already stated.
Battle Tag: Mysterio#11164
Current PC Setup: PCPartPicker List
12-30-21, 05:51 PM   #3
JahirahDK
An Aku'mai Servant

So I guess the ingame calendar is an exception to that because it's a Blizzard module?
12-30-21, 07:04 PM   #4
Kanegasi
A Molten Giant

The ingame calendar is like any other part of the UI, it uses functions to request data from Blizzard's servers. There is no "Internet connection" there. The only exception to "Internet connection" in the UI is when the help UI accesses Blizzard's help articles.
12-30-21, 10:12 PM   #5
DahkCeles
A Cliff Giant

Actually, it is in fact possible to do what you are asking. However, the richness of the feature will be hamstrung by throttling in addon message traffic. So you probably won't find that its any better than using the in-game guild and communities UI that already saved a limited number of offline messages.