Thread Tools Display Modes
08-18-15, 07:38 PM   #1
griffonmtl
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
Background texture does not tile. Can you help me?

Hello everyone,

I've started to learn how to do some AddOn (mostly for fun) and i have some problem with a background of a Frame. While I can put the image I want as background, it does not tile correctly. It tiles horizontally but not vertically (as you can see on the attached picture). I was wondering if someone can advise me on what is the problem with my code:

Code:
<Ui xmlns="http://www.blizzard.com/wow/ui/"
    xmlns:xsi="http://www.w3.org/2001/XMLSchema-instance">
	<Script>
		print("ALLOOOOOO")
	</Script>
	<Frame name="TestUI" hidden="false">
		<Anchors>
			<Anchor point="Center" />
		</Anchors>
		<Size>
			<AbsDimension x="200" y="200" />
		</Size>
		<Backdrop bgFile="Interface\AddOns\HelloWorld\bg001.tga" tile="true"
			edgeFile="Interface\DialogFrame\UI-DialogBox-Border">
			<TileSize>
				<AbsValue val="32" />
			</TileSize>
			<EdgeSize>
				<AbsValue val="32" />
			</EdgeSize>
			<BackgroundInsets>
				<AbsInset left="11" right="12" top="12" bottom="11" />
			</BackgroundInsets>
		</Backdrop>
	</Frame>
 </Ui>
I did not provide the lua code, since there is nothing on it yet. Also, the file is power of 2 tga.

In advance... thanks
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	2015-08-18 21_28_43-World of Warcraft.jpg
Views:	409
Size:	15.8 KB
ID:	8621  
  Reply With Quote
08-19-15, 02:07 AM   #2
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 2,313
I'm sure someone is going to point out that you should code in pure Lua instead of using XML since it's easier to debug with. That put aside, I don't see any problem with your code minus a couple unnecessary bits. I'd chalk it up as one of the many quirks Blizzard has on their end.
__________________
WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
08-19-15, 02:30 AM   #3
Yukyuk
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
Yukyuk's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2015
Posts: 179
Had the same problem with with my second addon that now is in development.
So I made my own 1024 by 1024 tga backgrounds. Big enough so the is no need for tiling.
Downside is that they are almost 4mb each.

And I second the advice for using using lua instead of xml.
In my first addon I started with xml for my frames.
Allthough it was a great learning process, at times it was pretty frustrating.
Xml is very unforgiving to typos and hard to debug.

Oh, and welcome to the club of lua/xml users.
Enjoy the ride and have fun.
__________________
Better to fail then never have tried at all.
  Reply With Quote
08-19-15, 07:08 AM   #4
griffonmtl
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 2
LOL I've just saw that the <sript> part was just to check if the xml file was loaded correctly. I just want to use the xml for the frame and keep the lua for coding and assigning the event to the frames.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Background texture does not tile. Can you help me?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off