11-18-08, 06:43 PM   #1
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer

Windows or Ubunto?

I've been considering switching from Windows to Ubunto recently, and I was curious if some of the people here that have used both could give some pros and cons. My first impression of Ubunto was from from a SS that was posted, I believe it was Dreadelord's. It looks awesome, but looks can be deceiving.

I'll start with pro# 1.

1) Ubunto is Free.
11-18-08, 06:45 PM   #2
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
The only Con I can think of is that Blizzard does not officially support Linux... so you will get no official technical support from them.
11-18-08, 06:52 PM   #3
Yhor
A Pyroguard Emberseer

I've been playing since mid 2005 and have never 'contacted' Blizzard for anything with successful results. I use an authenticator as well for security of my account (not failsafe, but it's a great tool). I think WoWI has better support for WoW anyway, at least in my experience.
11-18-08, 07:08 PM   #4
saanlem
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
Pike of Aspect of the Hare rubs WoW on Linux.
Check her site here.
11-18-08, 07:20 PM   #5
Vyper
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard

Originally Posted by Yhor View Post
I've been considering switching from Windows to Ubunto recently, and I was curious if some of the people here that have used both could give some pros and cons. My first impression of Ubunto was from from a SS that was posted, I believe it was Dreadelord's. It looks awesome, but looks can be deceiving.

I'll start with pro# 1.

1) Ubunto is Free.
Pros:
2) Ubuntu has lots of support from the community
3) Linux is often more efficient
4) Symbolic links are great for addon devs
5) If you want software to do it, chances are its both available and free.
6) Often time more secure.

Cons:
1) No native client
2) WINE is sometimes buggy
3) Linux sometimes has a steeper learning curve
4) GNOME? KDE? XCFE? OpenBox? OMG I can't decide! (actually I can... I love GNOME (ubuntu default))