Quantcast UseQuestLogSpecialItem vs. the world - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-14-14, 04:33 AM   #1
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
UseQuestLogSpecialItem vs. the world

Dear Blizzard,

Your new objective tracker is the most delicate of flowers in a winter storm. Even looking sideways at seemingly unrelated things, like the world map, poisons it, rendering its quest item buttons unusable. It's even worse than the infamous and still-overly-sensitive-after-all-these-years UIDropDownMenu system.

You could solve the quest button problem very easily by making the UseQuestLogSpecialItem only require a hardware event, rather than it being a completely protected function. I understand you don't want addons automatically using quest items without the player making decisions, but I really don't see any serious potential for abuse if it requires a click/keypress. It's a quest that probably takes 5 minutes and zero thought beyond looking for the dot on the map -- side note: WTB epic quest chains back from vanilla! -- not raid progression or tournament PvP.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 05:18 AM   #2
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 753
*sign with 10 letters*
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 06:11 AM   #3
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,071
I've never used that API, but coincidentally I was thinking about it yesterday. Is it possible to securely hook UseQuestLogSpecialItem()? I'd imagine that would solve most of the problems.
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 06:20 AM   #4
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
Is it possible to securely hook UseQuestLogSpecialItem()? I'd imagine that would solve most of the problems.
It's possible to securely hook anything:

Code:
hooksecurefunc("CastSpellByName", function(spell, target)
    print("You are casting", spell, "on the", target or "target", "unit.")
end)
But that doesn't solve any problems, since a secure hook just tells you that the function was called, and what arguments (if any) were passed to it; it doesn't magically let you call functions you're not allowed to call from addon code, and it doesn't let you affect the behavior of the original function.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 09:01 AM   #5
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,346
Signed here too ... I was quite surprised that literally reparenting the main frame broke the buttons security.

What makes it worse is that some of the items aren't physically in the bags to use manually that way, so I sure hope those ones work by clicking on the mobs in question.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 12:41 PM   #6
JDoubleU00
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
JDoubleU00's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 427
...Signed...

I do use the addon http://www.curse.com/addons/wow/questitembuttonfix, but Blizzard has broken all quest addons.
__________________
Author of JWExpBar and JWRepBar.
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 01:38 PM   #7
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
Yes please! This keeps breaking for me and I've absolutely no idea why.
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 01:39 PM   #8
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,346
Hmm Interesting ..
Managed to get it not error out in my addon with the following minimal code:

Lua Code:
  1. ObjectiveTrackerFrame:SetAllPoints(frame)
  2. ObjectiveTrackerFrame:SetWidth(frame:GetWidth())
  3. ObjectiveTrackerBlocksFrame:SetWidth(frame:GetWidth())
  4. ObjectiveTrackerBlocksFrame:SetHeight(XObjectivesDB.ScrollHeight)
  5. ObjectiveTrackerBlocksFrame:SetPoint("LEFT",30,0)  
  6. frame:SetScrollChild(ObjectiveTrackerBlocksFrame)

frame being a ScrollFrame parented to UIParent or with nUI Infopanel as necessary.

However, this offsets the tracker lines too far to the left and and makes the POI Icons and check marks not appear properly or at all.

The line that fixes that is :
DEFAULT_OBJECTIVE_TRACKER_MODULE.blockOffsetX = 30
But the moment you use that or any of the specific modules versions it kicks out the error.

Also, the use of these two lines after that code (although not sure if I need it now I'm not re-parenting as such) also produces the error.
ObjectiveTracker_Update()
QuestObjectiveTracker_UpdatePOIs()

The moment I remove those 3 lines from the equation it allows you to click the button.

Edit:
I wonder if creating your own module stops the error. Might have to be something to look into at some point.
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 12-14-14 at 01:42 PM.
  Reply With Quote
12-14-14, 02:30 PM   #9
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,346
After reading Resike's post elsewhere regarding this problem and I have rigged up the following mini addon.

Lua Code:
  1. local addonName,addonData = ...
  2.  
  3. local myScrollFrame
  4.  
  5. addonData.Options = {
  6.     FrameWidth = 500,
  7.     FrameHeight = 150,
  8.     IsMovable = true,
  9.     HasBorder = true,
  10. }
  11.  
  12. addonData.SetMovable = function(self,frame)
  13.     if not frame then return end
  14.     frame:EnableMouse(true)
  15.     frame:SetMovable(true)
  16.     frame:RegisterForDrag("LeftButton")
  17.     frame:SetScript("OnDragStart",function(self)
  18.         self:StartMoving()
  19.     end)
  20.  
  21.     frame:SetScript("OnDragStop",function(self)
  22.         self:StopMovingOrSizing()
  23.         self:SetUserPlaced(true)
  24.         self:SetClampedToScreen(true)
  25.     end)
  26.  
  27.     frame:SetScript("OnHide",function(self)
  28.         self:StopMovingOrSizing()
  29.         self:SetUserPlaced(true)
  30.         self:SetClampedToScreen(true)
  31.     end)
  32. end
  33.  
  34. addonData.AddBorder = function(self,frame)
  35.     local border = CreateFrame("Frame",_G[frame:GetName().."Border"],frame)
  36.     border:SetFrameLevel(frame:GetFrameLevel()-1)
  37.     border:SetFrameStrata(frame:GetFrameStrata())
  38.     border:ClearAllPoints()
  39.     border:SetPoint("TOPLEFT",-10,10)
  40.     border:SetPoint("BOTTOMRIGHT",35,-10)
  41.  
  42.     local backDrop = {      
  43.         bgFile = "Interface/Tooltips/UI-Tooltip-Background",
  44.         edgeFile = "Interface/Tooltips/UI-Tooltip-Border",
  45.         tile = true,
  46.         tileSize = 16,
  47.         edgeSize = 16,
  48.         insets =
  49.         {
  50.             left = 4,
  51.             right = 4,
  52.             top = 4,
  53.             bottom = 4
  54.         },
  55.     }                      
  56.     border:SetBackdrop(backDrop)
  57.     border:SetBackdropBorderColor( 1, 1, 0, 1 )
  58.     border:SetBackdropColor( 0, 0, 0, 1 )
  59.  
  60.     frame.border = border
  61. end
  62.  
  63. addonData.BuildScrollFrame = function(self,name,parent,options)
  64.     parent = parent or UIParent
  65.     local frame = CreateFrame("ScrollFrame",name,parent,"UIPanelScrollFrameTemplate")
  66.     frame.ScrollBar = _G[frame:GetName() .. "ScrollBar"];
  67.     frame.ScrollBar:SetPoint("LEFT",frame,"RIGHT",5,0)
  68.     frame:SetWidth(options.FrameWidth - 55)
  69.     frame:SetHeight(options.FrameHeight - 20)
  70.     if options.HasBorder then
  71.         self:AddBorder(frame)
  72.     end
  73.     if options.IsMovable then
  74.         self:SetMovable(frame)
  75.         if not frame:SetUserPlaced() then
  76.             frame:SetPoint("CENTER",parent,"CENTER",10,-10)
  77.         end
  78.     else
  79.         frame:SetPoint("CENTER",parent,"CENTER",10,-10)
  80.     end
  81.     ScrollFrame_OnLoad(frame)
  82.     frame:UpdateScrollChildRect()
  83.  
  84.     frame:SetScript("OnScrollRangeChanged",function(self,xrange,yrange)
  85.         ScrollFrame_OnScrollRangeChanged(self, xrange, yrange)
  86.         self:UpdateScrollChildRect()
  87.     end)
  88.  
  89.     frame:SetScript("OnVerticalScroll",function(self,offset)
  90.         addonData:OnVerticalScroll(frame,offset)
  91.         self:UpdateScrollChildRect()
  92.     end)
  93.  
  94.     frame:SetScript("OnMouseWheel",function(self,delta)
  95.         ScrollFrameTemplate_OnMouseWheel(self, delta)
  96.         self:UpdateScrollChildRect()
  97.     end)
  98.  
  99.     return frame
  100. end
  101.  
  102. addonData.OnVerticalScroll = function(self,frame,offset)
  103.     if offset == 0 then return end
  104.     local scrollbar = _G[frame:GetName().."ScrollBar"];
  105.     scrollbar:SetValue(offset);
  106.     local min;
  107.     local max;
  108.     min, max = scrollbar:GetMinMaxValues();
  109.     if ( offset == 0 ) then
  110.         _G[scrollbar:GetName().."ScrollUpButton"]:Disable();
  111.     else
  112.         _G[scrollbar:GetName().."ScrollUpButton"]:Enable();
  113.     end
  114.     if ((scrollbar:GetValue() - max) == 0) then
  115.         _G[scrollbar:GetName().."ScrollDownButton"]:Disable();
  116.     else
  117.         _G[scrollbar:GetName().."ScrollDownButton"]:Enable();
  118.     end
  119. end
  120.  
  121. local function CreateScrollFrame()
  122.     myScrollFrame = addonData:BuildScrollFrame("XrystalScrollFrame_ObjectivesTracker",UIParent,addonData.Options)
  123. end
  124.  
  125. local OTFMoving
  126. hooksecurefunc(ObjectiveTrackerFrame, "SetPoint", function(self)
  127.     if not myScrollFrame then return end
  128.     if OTFMoving then return end
  129.     OTFMoving = true
  130.     self:SetMovable(true)
  131.     self:SetUserPlaced(true)
  132.     self:ClearAllPoints()
  133.     self:SetPoint("TOPLEFT", myScrollFrame, "TOPLEFT", 30, 0)
  134.     self:SetScale(1.1)
  135.     self:SetWidth(addonData.Options.FrameWidth - 30)
  136.     self:SetHeight(1000)
  137.     myScrollFrame:SetScrollChild(self)
  138.     self:SetMovable(false)
  139.     OTFMoving = nil
  140. end)
  141.  
  142. --DEFAULT_OBJECTIVE_TRACKER_MODULE.blockOffsetX = 30
  143. CreateScrollFrame()

Feel free to try it out .. the questitems don't taint as long as I don't use that blockoffset value, if I don't use the blockoffset value it misaligns as it uses that every update to set the alignment of each block.
__________________
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Wish List » UseQuestLogSpecialItem vs. the world

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off