Thread Tools Display Modes
10-29-13, 01:24 PM   #1
semlar
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,060
"realmName" no longer a valid CVar

Any instances of GetCVar("realmName") should probably be replaced with GetRealmName().

I'm not sure how early GetRealmName() returns valid information, but you might have to wait until PLAYER_LOGIN.
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 02:11 PM   #2
bsmorgan
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 219
Way to go Blizzard! Not even a release note!

I did a mass search and replace (using grepWin) but that isn't enough. Either I play with no addons or instead of playing, I spend the rest of the day doing a binary search for which addons are busted.
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 02:18 PM   #3
Dridzt
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Dridzt's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 1,360
CVar still returns data for me on 5.4.0 (EU so no maintenance yet)

Is that a 5.4.1 thing?
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 02:40 PM   #4
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 267
Originally Posted by bsmorgan View Post
Way to go Blizzard! Not even a release note!

I did a mass search and replace (using grepWin) but that isn't enough. Either I play with no addons or instead of playing, I spend the rest of the day doing a binary search for which addons are busted.
How about changing directories to the AddOns and doing:

find . -type f -exec grep "GetCVar" {} /dev/null \; | grep realmName

Should tell you what still uses realmName (or whatever you choose to replace that with).
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 02:52 PM   #5
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,877
Apparently. I've just been bitten by it after the new download.

Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
CVar still returns data for me on 5.4.0 (EU so no maintenance yet)

Is that a 5.4.1 thing?
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 10-29-13 at 03:27 PM.
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 03:26 PM   #6
bsmorgan
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 219
Originally Posted by Dridzt View Post
Is that a 5.4.1 thing?
Yes it is!
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 03:28 PM   #7
bsmorgan
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 219
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
How about changing directories to the AddOns and doing:

find . -type f -exec grep "GetCVar" {} /dev/null \; | grep realmName

Should tell you what still uses realmName (or whatever you choose to replace that with).
Since WoW doesn't (officially) run on Linux, I used winGrep which is a Windows version of grep with a GUI.
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 03:56 PM   #8
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 267
Sorry for the "Mac-only" find command. I thought Windows had adopted a bunch of the Unix commands a while back. I don't have anything more modern than Windows NT and I used to use Unix commands in that.
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 04:34 PM   #9
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,928
The same seems to be for SetCVar("raidFramesDisplayIncomingHeals", 1 ) which is used in nUI. Looking at UnitFrame.lua in the 5.4.1 FrameXML it looks like they removed that one as well. Does this mean that all cvars have been removed I wonder.
__________________


Characters:
Gwynedda - 70 - Demon Warlock
Galaviel - 65 - Resto Druid
Gamaliel - 61 - Disc Priest
Gwynytha - 60 - Survival Hunter
Lienae - 60 - Resto Shaman
Plus several others below level 60

Info Panel IDs : http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...818#post136818
  Reply With Quote
10-29-13, 05:04 PM   #10
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,877
Probably just the ones they added function calls for in 5.4.

Originally Posted by Xrystal View Post
The same seems to be for SetCVar("raidFramesDisplayIncomingHeals", 1 ) which is used in nUI. Looking at UnitFrame.lua in the 5.4.1 FrameXML it looks like they removed that one as well. Does this mean that all cvars have been removed I wonder.
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.
  Reply With Quote
10-30-13, 05:13 AM   #11
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
And apparently you can't overwrite WORLDMAP_WINDOWED_SIZE anymore without causing a guaranteed taint error every time you open the world map.

There goes easy resizing.

Edit: this workaround was added to Mapster:

Code:
setfenv(WorldMapFrame_OnShow, setmetatable({ UpdateMicroButtons = function() end }, { __index = _G }))

Last edited by Haleth : 10-30-13 at 05:30 AM.
  Reply With Quote
11-05-13, 03:36 AM   #12
AnrDaemon
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 156
Originally Posted by bsmorgan View Post
Since WoW doesn't (officially) run on Linux
http://cygwin.com/
No need to be on Linux to have a full-feature command line toolset.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » General Authoring Discussion » "realmName" no longer a valid CVar


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off