Quantcast McRun - Official thread - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-18-10, 02:50 PM   #1
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
McRun - Official thread

This thread is for discussion of my McRun framework and any of my McRun addons.

I'm happy to answer any questions from people trying to write McRun addons, or users trying to figure out how to use them. I'm also open to any feedback on the framework itself (especially proposed additions to McLib).

And yes, I'm nuts!

The McRun page linked above has a list of McRun addons (the ones that I know about, anyway... Post here if you want yours added)
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by Cogwheel : 05-20-10 at 08:18 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-18-10, 09:00 PM   #2
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,196
I think I just swallowed my own tongue.
Wow.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of NPCScan and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 12:24 AM   #3
Ferous
Sheer Sense of Doom
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 863
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
I think I just swallowed my own tongue.
This has been a huge fear of mine IRL for some time for some reason, I pray you didn't...
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 03:08 AM   #4
xandora
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
xandora's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 188
I would LOVE to see how addons actually work with this.

It looks amazing.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 06:44 AM   #5
Wella
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Wella's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Would someone like to explain to me what this does to someone who knows nothing about addon coding?

:(
__________________
Addons I use, not that any of you care
* Bejeweled - For boring 5 minute flights to Tanaris
* Genie - Blizzard really should have implemented bag sorting by now
* ncHoverBind - I'm a Lock, what can you expect?
* oGlow - Agan, a missing feature
* Recount - Derp
* ShooShards - Another missing feature


"Your idea is good. So i will try it."
- popmissa
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 08:12 AM   #6
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by xandora View Post
I would LOVE to see how addons actually work with this.

It looks amazing.
Here's a sneak peek of CogsBar McRun:



After the McRun framework (~5 macro slots), what you see there took 3 macro slots (really, just over 2) for the addon plus one character-specific macro for configuration. Once I get the state-based paging finished it'll be ready for its close-up!

Originally Posted by Wella View Post
Would someone like to explain to me what this does to someone who knows nothing about addon coding?

Essentially it's an addon framework that loads code from macros, which are stored on the server. No addons required, and you have access to the modifications no matter what computer you play on.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 09:00 AM   #7
Petrah
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Petrah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 2,988
Originally Posted by Cogwheel View Post

Essentially it's an addon framework that loads code from macros, which are stored on the server. No addons required, and you have access to the modifications no matter what computer you play on.
So would you be able to use Target For Me without having to have the addon installed, and would you still only have to use just 1 button?
__________________
♪~ ( ) I My Sonos!
AddOn Authors: If your addon spams the chat box with "Addon v8.3.4.5.3 now loaded!", please add an option to disable it!
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 10:10 AM   #8
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Petrah View Post
So would you be able to use Target For Me without having to have the addon installed, and would you still only have to use just 1 button?
That all depends on how Target For Me is written. If it has to use a lot of pre-programmed data (info on dungeons, the mobs that you're looking for, etc.) then it probably wouldn't be a good fit (literally).
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 04:52 PM   #9
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Small update: CogsBar McRun is finished, and I'm throwing together some documentation as we "speak"

Edit: et voilą: http://cogwheel.info/wow/CogsBarMcRun.html
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]

Last edited by Cogwheel : 05-19-10 at 05:13 PM.
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 05:46 PM   #10
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
Nifty, Cloud addons.

Although why not seperate McRun into a separate addon and allow for better addon-> macro compression?
  Reply With Quote
05-19-10, 10:45 PM   #11
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Slakah View Post
Nifty, Cloud addons.

Although why not seperate McRun into a separate addon and allow for better addon-> macro compression?
Yeah, I've already done that with AutoMcRun. Might as well extend it to the libraries.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 12:44 AM   #12
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Cogwheel View Post
Yeah, I've already done that with AutoMcRun. Might as well extend it to the libraries.
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...768-McLib.html
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 01:41 AM   #13
Docnsane
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
With a little bit of trial and error, I've figured out a bit of how the bars you create relate to the real bars for documentation purposes.

The first 12 buttons you create uses Bar 1, the next 12, uses bar 2, and so on until you hit bar 10 (120 total global buttons).

While you can create additional bars past that, it they will not be assignable as they are reserved for various things such as the totem bar.

It does not matter how you actually split the bars, but the assignment is in order of whatever you create the bars in the config.

Looking at your example,

Code:
bars={
 {B=28,W=7,V=180,H=-320,
  S="[form:1]1;[form:2]2;[form:3]3",N=3,
  K={'1','2','3','4','5','6','7',
     "'",',','.','P','Y','F','G',
     'A','O','E','U','I','D','H',
     ';','Q','J','K','X','B','M',},
 },
 {B=36,W=9,V=180,H=50},
}
B = Number of buttons in the bar
V= Pixels from bottom
H= Pixels from Center, positive going right.
W = Number of buttons per row (rows are generated based on [b]uttons/[W]idth)
S = Switching based on the model form:1 => bar 1
N= ??? I have no idea
K= Key binding, ordered by the order of bars from left to right, top row to bottom, placed in a single dimension array.

So...what's N? I couldn't figure that out at all as the code is of course obfuscated for compactness.

FYI: I'm Pallyana on the "other" forum thread.

Last edited by Docnsane : 05-20-10 at 01:43 AM. Reason: Add who the heck I am.
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 06:16 AM   #14
Slakah
A Molten Giant
 
Slakah's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 863
lua Code:
  1. local f,l=CF()f:SSc("OnEvent",function()for b=0,4 do for s=0,GetContainerNumSlots(b)do l=GetContainerItemLink(b,s)if l and select(3,GetItemInfo(l))==0 then ShowMerchantSellCursor(1)UseContainerItem(b,s)end end end end)f:R"MERCHANT_SHOW"

Ok heres an autojunk seller, 237 characters (it's not tested but it's pretty much identical to tekjunkseller).
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 07:57 AM   #15
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
So...what's N? I couldn't figure that out at all as the code is of course obfuscated for compactness.
N is the number of states used by S. The states in S (which use the macro option system) must go from 1 to N unless you want to waste action slots (which may actually be desirable if you just want to add to the built-in bars)

There's also an unused option, P for "Point", which sets the anchor point of the bar relative to UIParent (usually equal to the screen edges). It defaults to "BOTTOM", hence the descriptions of H and V. You can use any of the anchor points used by SetPoint.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 08:57 AM   #16
Docnsane
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 2
Oo..thanks. That's what I figured it was for, but wasn't sure.

Also, in case anyone else was trying to figure it out. The configurations go in a macro called "CBConfig1" (or CBConfig<n> as many configuration files as you need.)
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 09:29 AM   #17
Wella
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Wella's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 322
Originally Posted by Cogwheel View Post
Essentially it's an addon framework that loads code from macros, which are stored on the server. No addons required, and you have access to the modifications no matter what computer you play on.
So, put short, it's a nifty thingamybob which means you don't have to config your UI on another computer?
__________________
Addons I use, not that any of you care
* Bejeweled - For boring 5 minute flights to Tanaris
* Genie - Blizzard really should have implemented bag sorting by now
* ncHoverBind - I'm a Lock, what can you expect?
* oGlow - Agan, a missing feature
* Recount - Derp
* ShooShards - Another missing feature


"Your idea is good. So i will try it."
- popmissa
  Reply With Quote
05-20-10, 09:35 AM   #18
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by Wella View Post
So, put short, it's a nifty thingamybob which means you don't have to config your UI on another computer?
At least the most important parts of your UI, as long as they're built with McRun addons.

CogsBar was my main motivation for creating McRun since my action bar needs are so specific.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote
05-21-10, 04:48 AM   #19
dafire
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 216
Since I'm at work and can't try it here maybe someone can answer me a small question

Is it possible to switch buttons/bars when you switch your talents to the second spec ?
  Reply With Quote
05-21-10, 08:15 AM   #20
Cogwheel
Sans Poisson
 
Cogwheel's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 237
Originally Posted by dafire View Post
Since I'm at work and can't try it here maybe someone can answer me a small question

Is it possible to switch buttons/bars when you switch your talents to the second spec ?
Hmm... At the moment all the underlying actions will change since that's handled server-side. CogsBar won't get the message, though, so right now there's no way to automatically switch the physical layout.

I was hesitant to bump CogsBar's macro slot use up to 4 just for state-based visibility, but dual spec support would certainly be worth it.

In the meantime, you can work around it by keeping two separate CConfig macros and change the names when you switch specs.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » McRun - Official thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off