Thread Tools Display Modes
07-27-07, 09:01 AM   #1
Rhyl
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 1
Item querying and me

Hi folks

I have been trying query items from servers this way: user types id, lets say 20**, and after that addon queries all items with id from 2000 all way to 2099. But no luck, even with my close to none coding experience...
Does anyone have any ideas how this would be possible?

Also question number two, is there any way to query quests to .wdb like querying items?

-- Rhyl
  Reply With Quote
07-27-07, 09:07 AM   #2
Gemini_II
A Molten Giant
 
Gemini_II's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 762
I'm not sure if you could automate a script or addon to automatically query multiple items. Blizz isn't fond of that kinda thing and it can cause disconnects.

A simple solution from the sounds of it may be Fizzwidget's Linkerator. Install that, type "/link item name or ID " and you're good to go.

For question number two... sorry, haven't the faintest idea on that one.
__________________
Retired prior to 3.2, before all challenge was removed.

  Reply With Quote
07-27-07, 10:09 AM   #3
Siz
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 52
You are almost guaranteed to be disconnected by this. I also haven't tested it

Make a hidden scanning tooltip as explained here: http://www.wowwiki.com/UIOBJECT_Game...p_for_scanning

for itemNum = 2000, 2099 do
ScanningTooltip:SetHyperlink(itemNum)
end

You may need to put some sort of delay in between queries. The SetHyperlink function is what does the querying.

I don't know anything about the quest API.
  Reply With Quote
07-27-07, 11:47 AM   #4
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...259-Sniff.html
  Reply With Quote
07-27-07, 02:58 PM   #5
Tekkub
A Molten Giant
 
Tekkub's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
There is no API for the quest cache, you can only get at the processed details in the user's questlog.

As for forced queries, the big question is why? I've seen only a small handful of reasons to force this in game and risk disconnection. In most cases the user is better off going to a datamine site like wowhead.

So yea, why exactly do you want to do this?
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Item querying and me


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off