Quantcast
Map re-drawing is laggy - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
04-02-09, 09:27 AM   #1
bezal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Map re-drawing is laggy

So since the recent update, the map redrawing is incredibly laggy. Sometimes it just plain shows the wrong map.

When I open my big world map, it either gives me some other zone, or it gives me a blank zone for a good 5 seconds before it can redraw itself to where I really am. I still see all the quest areas and my own pointer in the right places, it's just the map drawing underneath is wrong or lags.

Anyone else seen this?
 
04-02-09, 09:29 AM   #2
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Odd, working fine for me. Try rebooting the computer.
__________________
faatal
 
04-04-09, 07:58 PM   #3
bezal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
definitely not a restart issue been doing this for days.

on two different computers.
 
04-04-09, 08:38 PM   #4
Haavok
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Haavok's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 336
Originally Posted by bezal View Post
So since the recent update, the map redrawing is incredibly laggy. Sometimes it just plain shows the wrong map.

When I open my big world map, it either gives me some other zone, or it gives me a blank zone for a good 5 seconds before it can redraw itself to where I really am. I still see all the quest areas and my own pointer in the right places, it's just the map drawing underneath is wrong or lags.

Anyone else seen this?
Have you installed a new addon recently? What happens if you are only running Carbonite?
__________________
-Haavok
 
04-05-09, 02:40 AM   #5
Phantasia
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
This has been happening to me too, been using carbonite for... A good long time

For example, I arrived to the Barrens, open the main map and it shows me as being on Orgrimmar still. It takes around 5/7 seconds to give me the right map.

Happening a lot.

The addon list I am currently using is:

 
04-05-09, 02:47 AM   #6
Phantasia
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
Just tried to disable all addons except for Carbonite and what i get is:

- Entering ThunderBluff, opening map and being showed as in the middle of the ocean.
 
04-09-09, 06:25 AM   #7
qaarh
Sunshine BearTree
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 15
I've noticed this issue as well. Opening the map in Zangarmarsh, I see the map for Hellfire Peninsula.
 
04-10-09, 07:09 PM   #8
bezal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Been trying to snap some screenshots of when this happens.

Here is when it's blank, you can see I'm in combat by the text, but it still hasn't reset yet. Yes I'm in an instance, but this cleared up to show EPL after a few seconds wait:

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...709_211826.jpg


Here is when I am deep within Sholazar, but it still shows Icecrown - minimap is reading Wildgrowth Mangal. You can see my player arrow as well:

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...009_210635.jpg



And another in Dalaran. Yay mailboxes n stuff! :

http://i291.photobucket.com/albums/l...11-17-38AM.png

Last edited by bezal : 04-11-09 at 09:20 AM.
 
04-12-09, 08:34 PM   #9
Toeler
A Fallenroot Satyr
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 29
I've also been getting this problem for a long time too, I tried updating and that didn't fix the problem. Whats worse is when I'm in a BG sometimes I cant get it to redraw the map at all, so I'm stuck with the last BGs map, which can be a real pain.
 
04-12-09, 11:53 PM   #10
Mindleglalaxy
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 8
Lightbulb

Hi,

With no other addons running I also have the same issues others are talking about with the newest version 3.001. Hope you can work out what is wrong as it is very annoying when you only want to briefly look at the map for something and it hangs sometimes up to 10 seconds and obviously effects the enjoyment of the game and also using the brilliant addon.

Thanks heaps especailly for such a good addon
 
04-13-09, 12:28 PM   #11
Phantasia
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 4
I seem to have discovered that this ONLY happens with me when we select for the map to be closed instead of minimized.
 
04-13-09, 11:39 PM   #12
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Originally Posted by Phantasia View Post
I seem to have discovered that this ONLY happens with me when we select for the map to be closed instead of minimized.
Interesting. I always use the minimized map. Does it happen the first time you show the map or every time?
__________________
faatal
 
04-13-09, 11:50 PM   #13
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Middle mouse clicking on map or moving will select the current zone and show you for when it starts up showing the center of world.

Originally Posted by Toeler View Post
Whats worse is when I'm in a BG sometimes I cant get it to redraw the map at all, so I'm stuck with the last BGs map, which can be a real pain.
That started happening rarely for me maybe a few months ago. I found you could zoom out, select another zone, which switches the art and then move the mouse off the map, which selects the BG again.

Those bugs are random, zone change logic is complicated and can be affected by other addons. I need to look at the code, but it is dangerous since those type of changes can fix one thing and make other bugs in the process.
__________________
faatal
 
04-14-09, 06:48 AM   #14
Bastiene
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 21
Gather Icons

I noticed a bit of lag happening for me only when I got into Stranglethorn Vale. I have a toon that does both mining and herbalism, so when I had the carbonite nods set to show I had some lag, if I opened any other window, like the quest window, then I did a stutter step movement.

When I tuned off one of them it improved but still lagged, when I shut them both off, no lag at all.

I want to do more testing because I also use gathermate. Have not taken the time to see if disabling gathermate would make a difference, if I then turned carb nodes back on.

Just thought I would throw this data into the mix, if your looking at things that may cause others lag.
 
04-14-09, 04:38 PM   #15
bezal
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 7
Hmm I'll test that tonight with the minimized thing. The only change I remember making was having the carbonite map turn off... that option to "hide when pressing M or esc" or whatever it is.
 
04-14-09, 06:03 PM   #16
symbiosis
A Murloc Raider
 
symbiosis's Avatar
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 8
Map Not changin with rezoning

I have has this problem to since the last couple of updates..so you are not alone!! Another example could be you ousitside Dalaran (like stormwind to get some AH items for the cooking daily) then you call up the map cause u need to hand in the quest. The quest givers question mark is there but he may sometimes appear on the SW map..rather than the Dalaran map..very confusing!!! This is especially if you haven't done the quest before, or not many times.
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » Map re-drawing is laggy

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off