Quantcast Trying to replace a default texture, not sure what's wrong - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
06-01-13, 08:35 AM   #1
Kaleesh
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
 
Kaleesh's Avatar
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 10
Trying to replace a default texture, not sure what's wrong

Alright, so I've been trying to replace the default CastingBar texture for the longest time.

I had it as a .tga for a while, which, when I logged in, did absolutely nothing. Now that I've converted it to a .blp, it's doing something, but that something is a big green rectangle.

Usually this happens when the size is not a power of 2, but the dimensions of the texture are correct- in fact, I extracted and edited the original CastingBar directly. The filename is correct. The directory seems to be correct. It's under-

C:\Program Files (x86)\World of Warcraft\Interface\CastingBar\UI-CastingBar-Border.blp
The only thing I can think of at this point is that perhaps the parameters within the .blp file are incorrect, maybe something to do with color mode or something? I don't know the proper terms, but... I did have to convert the file many times before I got it to .blp. Maybe something got screwed in translation?

Here's the file if you need to see it.

http://www.mediafire.com/?kv6o9lbxo3bv3fk

I read somewhere in a thread from 2012 that sometimes textures need a toc file with them to work, but seeing as it's a default replacement, just like the AI-Art textures I'm using for the menu buttons are, it shouldn't need one. They work without it. If in fact it does need one, I'm not sure how to go about it.

Last edited by Kaleesh : 06-01-13 at 08:54 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-01-13, 11:28 AM   #2
Tonyleila
A Molten Giant
 
Tonyleila's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 759
Your file is corrupted for me please upload as tga or better png. I can't convert it back to png.
Make shure you use BLP2PNG I have tryed all blp converters here and this is still the best one.
When you replace it make shure your file works fine with the castbar AND the arena/BG countdown castbar (has a bad offset and looks silly if you try to make a thin border with the normal castbar)

I photoshoped it the preview to test if your texture is to big for the castbar and added it as blp. Looks a bit ugly new but you can be shure its not about the texture you use but the converting programm.
__________________
Author of: LeilaUI and Aurora: Missing Textures
__________________

Last edited by Tonyleila : 06-01-13 at 11:49 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-01-13, 12:08 PM   #3
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 750
opens with xnview but I have no time to test it
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
06-01-13, 12:22 PM   #4
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,662
I could see it using http://www.wowinterface.com/download...0-BLPView.html but then couldn't get BLP2PNG to do anything with the file...
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
06-01-13, 12:29 PM   #5
humfras
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 131
Try this conversion.
__________________
Author of VuhDo CursorCastBar OptiTaunt Poisoner RaidMobMarker
  Reply With Quote
06-01-13, 12:32 PM   #6
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,662
humfras's version of the texture does convert with BLP2PNG. The dimensions are all good and there is an alpha texture.
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Graphics Help » Trying to replace a default texture, not sure what's wrong

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off