09-09-12, 05:51 PM   #1
Maggz
A Cyclonian

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Updating tooltip while tooltip is still active.

ok i am still a bit on the newb side, so im asking this question to see if this is something that is even possible. i can show a tiny snippet of my code to see what im tying to accomplish.

Lua Code:
  1. local malObject = {
  2.     type = "launcher",
  3.     icon = "Interface\\Addons\\MaggzAutoLog\\disabled",
  4.     label = "MaggzAutoLog",
  5.     OnClick = function(self, button)
  6.         if button == "RightButton" then
  7.             LOGSTATE()
  8.         end
  9.         if button == "LeftButton" then
  10.             if LoggingCombat() then
  11.                 disablelogging()
  12.             else
  13.                 enablelogging()
  14.             end
  15.         end
  16.     end,
  17.     OnTooltipShow = function(tooltip)
  18.     tooltip:AddLine("|cff00FF00MaggzAutoLog|r");
  19.     tooltip:AddLine("hold left mouse button to drag");
  20.     tooltip:AddLine("right click to enable/disable logging");
  21.     if LoggingCombat() then
  22.         tooltip:AddLine("Logging |cff00FF00Enabled|r");
  23.     else
  24.         tooltip:AddLine("Logging |cffFF0000Disabled|r");
  25.     end
  26. end,
  27. };

i used the minimap button creation tips i had found thru searching and atm it all works well for me, with one minor issue, i cant seem to find any documentation anywhere about how to update that last tooltip:AddLine("information here"); while the tooltip is still open and displaying. If this is something that cant be currently done that would be nice to know as well.