Thread Tools Display Modes
10-08-09, 11:51 PM   #281
Tweeker
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Tweeker's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
huh?

I extracted the Ouf core into the right directory.. but all i get is stock wow unit frames.

Is there a trick to getting this to work?

I looked all over for any info and found none...
__________________
 
10-09-09, 12:28 AM   #282
wurmfood
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 122
Did you also install a layout?

oUF is just a framework. It requires a layout as well to be able to view anything. A list of layouts is available at http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/cat127.html

It's pretty easy to start from one of these and customize it as you wish with a little Lua knowledge.
 
10-09-09, 01:31 AM   #283
Tweeker
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
Tweeker's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 234
Originally Posted by wurmfood View Post
Did you also install a layout?

oUF is just a framework. It requires a layout as well to be able to view anything. A list of layouts is available at http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/cat127.html

It's pretty easy to start from one of these and customize it as you wish with a little Lua knowledge.

yes, got it working, but without a config menu, i can't see learning how to code just to get things how i like them...

Although I sure appreciate your response..

(much looking forward to an enhanced config menu)
__________________
 
10-09-09, 01:52 AM   #284
Gandoch
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
Gandoch's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 50
Originally Posted by Tweeker View Post
i can't see learning how to code just to get things how i like them...
Then this is not the unit frame solution for you.
 
10-09-09, 09:57 AM   #285
wurmfood
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 122
There are several oUF layouts that have in game configs. However, most of the oUF layouts require knowledge of Lua to alter.

Look at these layouts if you want something with an in game config:
oUF_Nivaya
oUF_Smee2
Lunar Unit Frames
 
10-27-09, 07:11 AM   #286
Xruptor
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Xruptor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
If possible could you add a function to the oUF core that can return the current style? This could be useful to libraries and other mods that require the name of the current style.

Currently aside from hooking functions there is no way to get a return value of the current style. Thanks!
__________________
Click HERE for the ultimate idiot test.

if (sizeof(sadness) > sizeof(happiness)) { initDepression(); }
 
10-27-09, 07:35 AM   #287
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Under oUF:RegisterStyle add:

Code:
function oUF:GetActiveStyle()
  return style
end
 
10-27-09, 07:39 AM   #288
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Originally Posted by Derkyle View Post
If possible could you add a function to the oUF core that can return the current style? This could be useful to libraries and other mods that require the name of the current style.

Currently aside from hooking functions there is no way to get a return value of the current style. Thanks!
Currently you can only retrieve the style of header frames. I can start adding this to all frames (soon). The problem with returning an active style is the fact that you can have multiple "active".

Originally Posted by mrruben5 View Post
Under oUF:RegisterStyle add:

Code:
function oUF:GetActiveStyle()
  return style
end
No.
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
 
10-27-09, 08:05 AM   #289
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Perhaps I should have made it clearer, what I was suggesting is something that could be done in theory.
Originally Posted by haste View Post
No.
Doesn't this do exactly what Derkyle wants? I imagine using a different name if all active styles were to be returned.

Last edited by ravagernl : 10-27-09 at 08:08 AM.
 
10-27-09, 08:44 AM   #290
Beladona
A Molten Giant
 
Beladona's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 539
When summoning a warlock pet, when a previous pet already exists (example, have the imp out, and summon the voidwalker) the name tag doesn't update. I have been able to work around this problem by doing:

self:RegisterEvent("UNIT_PET",function() self.Name:UpdateTag(self.unit); end);

I read somewhere else that this is the workaround you suggest as well, but I wanted to at least get it on your radar should it need to be fixed. If it seems like a lot for something only needed for one frame, I understand. I don't have a problem using the above workaround as this ONLY affects the pet frames.

I will put this in your bug list as well.
 
10-27-09, 09:09 AM   #291
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
While we are talking about updating tags. The default tag that shows the name and missing hp in one (the tag "deficit:something" - can't check it at this pc) is not updating properly either. Sometimes hp is missing (bar is not filled), but name is shown and sometimes it shows the last missing value and bar is full. From what I think it is supposed to be:
1. health bar full - missing hp value hidden, name shown
2. health bar not full - missing hp value shown, name hidden

I prefer using build in tags, over custom ones if possible.

Last edited by Dawn : 10-27-09 at 09:12 AM.
 
10-27-09, 12:15 PM   #292
haste
Featured Artist
 
haste's Avatar
Premium Member
Featured
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,027
Could all of you post issues here or on github? github is preferred, but by no means required.
__________________
「貴方は1人じゃないよ」
 
10-27-09, 01:03 PM   #293
Beladona
A Molten Giant
 
Beladona's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 539
Originally Posted by haste View Post
Could all of you post issues here or on github? github is preferred, but by no means required.
Will do. I wanted to test my own code (servers were down) before I posted it though =D
 
10-28-09, 06:20 AM   #294
Xruptor
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Xruptor's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 133
Originally Posted by mrruben5 View Post
Under oUF:RegisterStyle add:

Code:
function oUF:GetActiveStyle()
  return style
end
I'd prefer not having to modify the oUF_Core files. Otherwise I would have to alert others to do the same. Which is why I suggested it here as a proposed addition.
__________________
Click HERE for the ultimate idiot test.

if (sizeof(sadness) > sizeof(happiness)) { initDepression(); }
 
10-29-09, 02:35 AM   #295
Heimdall
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
I all,
i'm new to oUF and i'm trying to set the party width without success, i've used as a base the oUF_Lyn layout plus several others i've found to get some examples how this mod works.
Anyway i've changed something about the party frame (for example how debuff are shown, and the position), what i can't change is the width or height, this is the code i'm using (i managed to change size of the other frames anyway):
Code:
	if(self:GetParent():GetName():match"oUF_Party") then
		self:SetWidth(250)
		self:SetHeight(20)
		self.Health:SetWidth(240)
		self.Power:SetWidth(240)
		self.Health:SetHeight(15)
		self.Power:SetHeight(3)
		self.Power.value:Hide()
		self.Health.value:SetPoint("RIGHT", 0 , 9)
		self.Name:SetPoint("LEFT", 0, 9)

		--
		-- debuffs
		--
		self.Debuffs = CreateFrame("Frame", nil, self)
		self.Debuffs.size = 20 * 1.4
		self.Debuffs:SetHeight(self.Debuffs.size)
		self.Debuffs:SetWidth(self.Debuffs.size * 5)
		self.Debuffs:SetPoint("RIGHT", self, "LEFT", -5, 0)
		self.Debuffs.initialAnchor = "TOPRIGHT"
		self.Debuffs["growth-x"] = "LEFT"
	    self.Debuffs.filter = false
		self.Debuffs.showDebuffType = true
		self.Debuffs.spacing = 2
		self.Debuffs.num = 4 -- max debuffs
		
		--
		-- raid target icons
		--
		self.RaidIcon = self.Health:CreateTexture(nil, "OVERLAY")
		self.RaidIcon:SetHeight(24)
		self.RaidIcon:SetWidth(24)
		self.RaidIcon:SetPoint("LEFT", self, -30, 0)
		self.RaidIcon:SetTexture"Interface\\TargetingFrame\\UI-RaidTargetingIcons"
	end
This is how i spawn the frame:
Code:
local party	= oUF:Spawn("header", "oUF_Party")
party:SetManyAttributes("showParty", true, "yOffset", -15, "initial-width", 220)
party:SetPoint("TOPRIGHT", UIParent, "TOPRIGHT", -55, -350)
party:Show()
party:SetAttribute("showRaid", false)
Now i've tryed to put initial-width but i'm not using the right way it seems, if you look at the first two lines i've set the width of the frame but in game i can put 500 or 10 in that line that it doesn't matter, what am i missing?

Thanks a lot for the help
Heimdall

Last edited by Heimdall : 10-29-09 at 02:39 AM.
 
10-29-09, 03:30 AM   #296
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
You have to reverse your changes to the spawn code (remove initialwidth, it has to be placed elsewhere).

Your initial width goes here (in your case)...
Code:
	if(self:GetParent():GetName():match"oUF_Party") then

		self:SetAttribute("initial-height", YOURHEIGHT)
		self:SetAttribute("initial-width", YOURWIDTH)
	end
 
10-29-09, 07:20 AM   #297
Heimdall
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 9
Originally Posted by Dawn View Post
You have to reverse your changes to the spawn code (remove initialwidth, it has to be placed elsewhere).

Your initial width goes here (in your case)...
Code:
	if(self:GetParent():GetName():match"oUF_Party") then

		self:SetAttribute("initial-height", YOURHEIGHT)
		self:SetAttribute("initial-width", YOURWIDTH)
	end

You are right, there were some lines of code between the party definition and the spawning time in which it was set an initial-width, i commented them and now it's working fine also the party frame.

Thanks
Heimdall
 
11-02-09, 11:47 PM   #298
wakolv
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 38
ouf simple

is there a way for the default(blizzard) buffs/debuffs to hide and put it on the players frame instead? tyvm thats all... hoping for your kind and considation on this matter.
 
11-03-09, 05:37 AM   #299
Dawn
A Molten Giant
 
Dawn's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 918
Code:
	-- hide blizzard buff and weapon buff frame
	BuffFrame:Hide() -- hide buffs/debuffs
	TemporaryEnchantFrame:Hide() -- hide weapon enchants
 
11-09-09, 03:06 AM   #300
gorocketgo
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 2
To the addon author:

I am trying to make an improvement upon how the safezeone is calculated. I am only yet a novice at lua so please correct my understanding here:

1. Events like OnClick or OnKeyDown happen in the client (I can try casting if I am disconnected)
2. Events like UNIT_SPELLCAST_START arrive from the server (I cannot start casting if I am disconnected)

So here's an example of how my idea will work:

1. Hook the click or keypress that triggers a spell
2. In the script handler, I save the value of GetTime() to varA
3. In the event handler for UNIT_SPELLCAST_START I save the value of GetTime() to varB
4. I subtract varA from varB to find the latency for the cast.

Here's how I tested this idea:

Code:
local sent
local received

--Client starts cast
local button = CreateFrame('CheckButton', 'mybutton', UIParent, 'ActionBarButtonTemplate')
button:SetPoint("CENTER")
button:SetAttribute('type', 'spell')
button:SetAttribute('spell', "Lesser Heal")

button:SetScript("PostClick", function(self, button, down)
	sent = GetTime()

	DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(format(">>>Cast sent at %f", sent))
	end
)

--Client receives cast
local Test = CreateFrame('Frame')
Test:RegisterEvent("UNIT_SPELLCAST_START")

Test:SetScript("OnEvent", function()
	received = GetTime()
	local latency = (received - sent) * 1e3

	DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(format("<<<Event received at %f", received))
	DEFAULT_CHAT_FRAME:AddMessage(format("Latency results at %dms", latency))
	end
)
Now every time I cast it will find the right latency:

>>Cast began at 119838.474000
<<Event received at 119838.597000
Latency results at 123ms

And this value would be used to measure your safezone etc. I hope this makes sense. Please reply with your thoughts. Thanks.
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » oUF (Otravi Unit Frames) » oUF - General discussion

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off