Thread Tools Display Modes
08-20-07, 03:19 PM   #1
Trefane
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Simplifying Kael'thas

My guild is working on Kael'thas, and one part of that fight which is a pain is the looting of the legendary weapons when they die. You're trying to select an item that's laying under four other still-active items and 15 other guildies that are still fighting them. They despawn after only a minute so getting them quickly is vital. I'm looking for ways to simplify that, I have a code editor and I'm not afraid to use it.

Every player needs to

1. Find the corpse of their weapon(s)
2. Open the corpse
3. Loot the corpse
4. Equip

1, 3 & 4 seem possible (/tar Staff, UseContainerItem, /equip Staff). It's #2 I'm wondering if it's possible to do programmatically.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 03:36 PM   #2
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
First your post had me laugh both for the description of the messy event (I can visually imagine the guildies running and jumping all over the place in the middle of the weapon-ware stuff) and for
Originally Posted by Trefane
I have a code editor and I'm not afraid to use it.
As far as the request is concerned it seems to me most of the steps involved are protected and require hardware event, so I am not sure how much of it you can automate with an addon / macro
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 03:44 PM   #3
Trefane
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Separate hardware events for every step would be just fine. I could put 4 different icons on the screen somewhere that people could click individually. It would still be faster than manually finding the item, shift-click looting it and then opening inventory to equip. Step #2 is the real problem since half the time you end up selecting either a mob or a guildie.

Is it possible to programmatically open a corpse you have selected?
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 04:26 PM   #4
Tekkub
A Molten Giant
 
Tekkub's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Originally Posted by Trefane
Is it possible to programmatically open a corpse you have selected?
NO.

Best you're going to manage is turning off auto-loot and moving the loot frame for the selected item under the cursor for fast looting, or closing the loot box if the target item isn't shown. The player still has to sift thru the boddies manually.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 04:29 PM   #5
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
Originally Posted by Tekkub
NO.
Is it just me or we can feel the pain of thousands of crying souls lost in the darkness of never-ending torments in that answer ?
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 04:54 PM   #6
Trefane
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Indeed, it's exactly the kind of sound I would expect to hear from the contents of my soul bag. Thanks for the responses though.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 05:39 PM   #7
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
But now that you mentioned this I think it would be nice to have the build-in UI provide a way to "keyboard-select" dead targets. It could be something like shift-tab that would cycle through dead units just like regular tab cycles through enemy units.

Worse is when you kill a couple dozen mobs on the same spot it's sometimes impossible to loot the ones at the bottom of the pile. Or that time Vazruden died just underneath Nazan so that you could not loot the letter
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 05:47 PM   #8
Tekkub
A Molten Giant
 
Tekkub's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Originally Posted by Kaomie
Worse is when you kill a couple dozen mobs on the same spot it's sometimes impossible to loot the ones at the bottom of the pile.
Uh, that was "fixed" last patch. I've certainly had an esier time with piles than before. Doesn't help for this issue though, since the bodies aren't being completely looted.

However, I had another thought. These items are party loot (everyone gets one), so what's the issue? Everyone just loots everything and equips the weapon they will use. The items go away anyway, and raiders don't generally fill up their bags with grey items dropped along the way... seems like the simple solution to me.

Is it wrong to expect that a batch of high end raiders don't have 7 free slots on them?
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 05:54 PM   #9
BlackPanther
A Fallenroot Satyr
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 24
Also the items aren't soulbound so if you pick up several different weapons and someone failed to get theirs, because it despawned too fast or because they had to go to their tank spot, you can trade it to them.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 05:56 PM   #10
Kaomie
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Kaomie's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 438
Originally Posted by Tekkub
Uh, that was "fixed" last patch.
Whoops missed it sorry
Originally Posted by Tekkub
so what's the issue?
The issue is not how or what to loot, it's merely to be able to find the corpse in the mess around it including other corpses, living mobs and party / raid members. Once you managed to find the spot that is actually mousing over the corpse I agree you are good to go and loot however you want to.
__________________
Kaomie
"WE LOTS OF PEOPLE FROM STRONG SERVER GUILDS" - Trade Channel
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 08:30 PM   #11
Trefane
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 7
Yes, this is loot with no restrictions, everyone can grab one and it can be traded, but that doesn't work well in practice. You're on a short timer and certain players will need to loot their specific item while others are still fighting on top of it. If anyone fails to get the item they need before the 60 second despawn the attempt is likely botched.

/tar [item] will select the corpse you need, it's just the dang click to open the item that is troublesome.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-07, 08:36 PM   #12
Tekkub
A Molten Giant
 
Tekkub's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 960
Watch the mouseover unit name... if it's an unwanted corpse turn off autoloot. If the player opens loot on that corpse, close the frame. Reenable autoloot when the mouseover goes away. End result: right click a bunch, unwanted targets aren't auto-looted.

*edit*
Though the items are not bound, they are unique, so the player still only need 7 slots free. Still seems to me the simplest solution is "loot em all and sort it out later"... especially if you're on a timeframe here. Run in, auto-loot till you find your item, get out of the way of the other loot whores.

Last edited by Tekkub : 08-20-07 at 08:40 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Simplifying Kael'thas


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off