Quantcast Incorrect Addon Detections - Page 2 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-28-09, 11:59 PM   #21
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
Just thought I'd let you guys know, I do have a plan to deal with a lot of this. We'll see how good that plan is in action probably tomorrow. Unfortunately I'm working 10-11 hour days this week so I have very little time to progress on this problem, but I hope to have something available very soon.
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
05-29-09, 01:43 AM   #22
Morax
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 40
Here are some more..
--- fixed in 2.3.1 - marked addon not avail --------------------------------------------------------------
battlefield commander
http://wowui.incgamers.com/?p=mod&m=1935
--- became ---
commander
http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info12771.html
--- 2.3.1 gets this wrong --------------------------------------------------------------
AutoBar 3.00.08.15 beta
http://code.google.com/p/autobar/downloads/list
--- became ---
AutoBar 3.00.02.09 beta
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...2-AutoBar.html
-----------------------------------------------------------------

And my absolute favorite so far..
--- fixed in 2.3.1 --------------------------------------------------------------
Loggerhead (ver 3.1.0.93)
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...oggerHead.html
--- became ---
Loggerhead (ver 3)
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...oggerHead.html

Last edited by Morax : 06-01-09 at 02:59 AM.
  Reply With Quote
05-29-09, 05:52 AM   #23
break19
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 116
Shirik, It'd be a LOT easier to determine which addons are incorrect, if it showed the addon it's intending to DOWNLOAD, rather than the name of the actual addon.

For example:

InLine Aura
InLine Aura Configuration

Both of those show correctly in the list of addons, however, upon updating them, I get Aura Unit Frames..

Another Example:

Auctioneer Suite: after downloading, and installing, it's now showing up as Auc:Util:FixAH (which happens to be a module of auctioneer) but its downloading and installing properly.

Minion, should, in my opinion, show the addon(s) it detects, as the exact addon title on WowI. This would make it MUCH MUCH easier to see incorrect detections -before- they screw things up.

break19
  Reply With Quote
05-29-09, 09:46 AM   #24
solynar
Premium Member
Premium Member
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Installled: WoW-Pro_TourGuide_Alliance and WoW-Pro_TourGuide_Horde

(http://www.wow-pro.com/leveling_guid...ourguide_style)


Installs TourGuide as update.

ID: N/A not on wowinterface.
  Reply With Quote
05-29-09, 10:03 AM   #25
Tearstar
A Cyclonian
 
Tearstar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 42
Originally Posted by break19 View Post
Shirik, It'd be a LOT easier to determine which addons are incorrect, if it showed the addon it's intending to DOWNLOAD, rather than the name of the actual addon.

For example:

InLine Aura
InLine Aura Configuration

Both of those show correctly in the list of addons, however, upon updating them, I get Aura Unit Frames..

Another Example:

Auctioneer Suite: after downloading, and installing, it's now showing up as Auc:Util:FixAH (which happens to be a module of auctioneer) but its downloading and installing properly.

Minion, should, in my opinion, show the addon(s) it detects, as the exact addon title on WowI. This would make it MUCH MUCH easier to see incorrect detections -before- they screw things up.

break19
This is knd of my thought, instead of just having the version number of the proposed update, maybe the addon name with version name that it is linking to, then we should be able to see the comparison of addon installed to proposed update by name rather than just ver number
__________________
Author of Mini-Targ

Magelo Profile
My Myspace
My Youtube Channel

My First Video I made for my kids - please comment and/or rate

  Reply With Quote
05-29-09, 03:21 PM   #26
Sekrin
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 150
I've just gone through my entire list of addons and found the following issues:

Buggrabber leads to Bugsack. Buggrabber doesn't appear to be on WoWI.

SharedMedia leads to Healbot continued. SharedMedia isn't available on WoWI.

Shock and Awe leads to Inquest (as does the Inquest addon itself). There is an outdated version of Shock and Awe here, but it's in the outdated mods section. Current version is on Curse.


Minion seems to get very confused with ZOMGBuffs. It lists the core addon as not available, but it doesn't recognise the modules as children of the core. Instead, ZOMGBuffs [Blessings], ZOMGBuffs [Log], and ZOMGBuffs [Portalz] are listed as also unavailable whilst ZOMGBuffs [Blessings Manager] leads to WoW Manager 2.2, ZOMGBuffs [PallyPower Comms] is recognised as Pallypower, ZOMGBuffs [Raid Buffer] is recognised as Broker Paladin Buffer, and ZOMGBuffs [Self Buffs] is recognised as O-Wheely!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 12:39 AM   #27
Dargo
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 1
Totem Timers, current installed version of Totem Timers 9.1i , Minion wants to update to a Beta version 5. Unsure what the WoWI ID is.
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 01:30 AM   #28
Bluspacecow
Giver of walls of text :)
 
Bluspacecow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 770
Originally Posted by Sekrin View Post
Buggrabber leads to Bugsack. Buggrabber doesn't appear to be on WoWI.
Bug Grabber is included in the Bugsack download zip
__________________
tuba_man on Apple test labs : "I imagine a brushed-aluminum room with a floor made of keyboards, each one plugged into a different test box somewhere. Someone is tasked with tossing a box full of cats (all wearing turtlenecks) into this room. If none of the systems catch fire within 30 minutes, testing is complete. Someone else must remove the cats. All have iPods." (http://community.livejournal.com/tec...t/2018070.html)
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 03:14 AM   #29
Sekrin
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 150
Originally Posted by honem View Post
Bug Grabber is included in the Bugsack download zip
Ah...I didn't know that - they used to be two seperate addons (maintained by two different authors IIRC).
__________________
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 11:28 AM   #30
eternalphear
A Murloc Raider
 
eternalphear's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 4
SharedMedia is installing Healbot.
__________________
I has elbows.
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 12:39 PM   #31
Maul
Ion Engines, Engage!
 
Maul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 401
I have two unpublished "Macaroon" addons called -

MacaroonMinimap and MacaroonUnits

Minion seems to think both of these are Macaroon itself

Here are the tocs -

MacaroonMinimap -
Code:
## Interface: 30000
## Title: Macaroon: Minimap
## Author: Maul
## Version: preview.3
## Notes: Minimap managed by Macaroon!
## DefaultState: enabled
## Dependencies: Macaroon
## SavedVariablesPerCharacter: MacaroonMinimapSavedState
MacaroonUnits -
Code:
## Interface: 30000
## Title: Macaroon: Unit Frames
## Author: Maul
## Version: preview.3
## Notes: Unit frames to complement the addon Macaroon
## DefaultState: enabled
## Dependencies: Macaroon
## SavedVariablesPerCharacter: MacaroonUnitsSavedState
__________________

Twitter: @IonMaul | Windows Live: [email protected] | Google Talk: [email protected]
  Reply With Quote
05-30-09, 02:28 PM   #32
Astryne
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 1
Ari's Mod Pack

Its amazing how many of the individual parts of Ari's Mod Pack are linked back to it. Free Refills is another one and by updating it, it added all of the stuff from this compilation that I never had before. I would suspect that there are others out there that are pointing to compilations as well.
  Reply With Quote
05-31-09, 07:59 PM   #33
Bluspacecow
Giver of walls of text :)
 
Bluspacecow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 770
Ok guys

Version 2.3.1 core 2.21 wowinterface module has been released.

Can everyone who posted in this thread about incorrect addon detections retest this ?

For each addon that was detected :

Make a back up of both your WTF and Interface folders

Attempt to update just that one addon through Minion (onion ?)

Watch the addons folder for changes.

If it's doing its job correctly it should install the latest version of that addon avaliable on Wowinterface. if not you'll see extra folders that aren't meant to be there !

Report back on your findings
__________________
tuba_man on Apple test labs : "I imagine a brushed-aluminum room with a floor made of keyboards, each one plugged into a different test box somewhere. Someone is tasked with tossing a box full of cats (all wearing turtlenecks) into this room. If none of the systems catch fire within 30 minutes, testing is complete. Someone else must remove the cats. All have iPods." (http://community.livejournal.com/tec...t/2018070.html)
  Reply With Quote
06-01-09, 02:19 AM   #34
GravityDK
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 3
GEM3 and Quartz and TankPoints are all detecting the right addon, but WowInterface has an older version than is actually current (it might be on Curse, for example).

New version otherwise improved accuracy a lot.
  Reply With Quote
06-01-09, 07:04 AM   #35
Ne0nguy
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Ne0nguy's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 22
Name of addon that is installed: Fishing Buddy (0.9.7f from curse)
Name of addon that is detected: Fishing Buddy (0.9.6p EBA)
WoWInterface ID of the addons: 4239

http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-a...hingbuddy.aspx
http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info4239.html

Granted, its hosted on curse. However, the 'update' it wants to install is an older version and actually includes a few other addons with it.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Name of addon that is installed: Stubby (5.6.4279 from auctioneeraddon.com)
Name of addon that is detected: Stubby (5.0.0.2995)
WoWInterface ID of the addons: 4889

http://auctioneeraddon.com/dl/#preview
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...89-Stubby.html

Ditto for this, but I should also mention it is trying to install an addon not tagged as 3.1 compatible.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Also a note of minor annoyance:
I have two addons with a similar name installed (BadBoy, and BadPlayer).
They are two completely different and unrelated addons from each other, however BadPlayer will not even look to see if an update is available until BadBoy has been updated.

----------------------------------------------------------------

Other than that, It's runnin great! I'm lovin' the minion.
  Reply With Quote
06-02-09, 05:50 AM   #36
thebadmf
is in disguise
 
thebadmf's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Mods tagged Beta or Release

Since I don't mind submitting bugreports, I tend to download Beta and sometimes Alpha versions using Curse Updater.

I'm noticing a trend where Minion is saying that a current, up to date version from curse is flagged as an upgrade via minion, when infact the installed version is the same.

If I look at the version naming conventions minion omits any hyphen in the version number or the preceding r.

Example - Castdonut. Curse lists as Version r4-release. Minion lists 4release

This happens for others, Fishermans Friend r92-release vs 92release. Friends with Benefits, Gnomish Yellow Pages, Locksmith and many others.

How about splitting the status column, so we have a listing of what minion thinks is there and what it wants to install?

Last edited by thebadmf : 06-02-09 at 05:54 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-02-09, 08:40 AM   #37
Shirik
Blasphemer!
Premium Member
WoWInterface Super Mod
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 818
The omission of dashes is interesting.

The dropping of "r" or "v" from the front is intentional. This is because there are people that like to put "r123" on the TOC file and "123" on the site (or vice-versa), and this corrects that problem.

You've confirmed that the dashes are in fact in the file/on the site?
__________________
たしかにひとつのじだいがおわるのお
ぼくはこのめでみたよ
だけどつぎがじぶんおばんだってことわ
しりたくなかったんだ
It's my turn next.

Shakespeare liked regexes too!
/(bb|[^b]{2})/
  Reply With Quote
06-02-09, 09:21 AM   #38
thebadmf
is in disguise
 
thebadmf's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by Shirik View Post
The omission of dashes is interesting.

The dropping of "r" or "v" from the front is intentional. This is because there are people that like to put "r123" on the TOC file and "123" on the site (or vice-versa), and this corrects that problem.

You've confirmed that the dashes are in fact in the file/on the site?
I was looking through Tekkub's stuff at the time so I can pick a few from there.
C: = on Curse Updater (showing alpha versions)
W: = the version listed on WoWI addon page
M: = on Minion

Ampere.
C: 3.0.3.14-Release
W: 3.0.3.14-Releas
M: 3.0.3.14Releas

Cork.
C: 3.1.0.21-Beta
W: 3.1.0.21-Beta
M: 3.1.0.21Beta

MoveAnything
C: 3.0.2-8
W: 3.0.2-8
M: 3.0.28

I hope this helps clarify my observation. On a side note, is there any way for minion to tell if installed Beta's are actually newer and not suggest older release versions as updates? An example would be Bartender 4.

Last edited by thebadmf : 06-02-09 at 09:24 AM.
  Reply With Quote
06-02-09, 10:57 AM   #39
IndigoDreams
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1
Necrosis LdC v3.0 r221 ---> Necrosis LdC V3.0 RC1 (very old version not updated in 6+ months)

Kill Emote has a file which you put in to the character folder, this is being downloaded in to the addons folder
  Reply With Quote
06-02-09, 03:36 PM   #40
todd3835
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 89
New version installed (2.3.1).

WebDKP Helper
Not availible on WoWI, but recieved from curse.
Minion detects it as WebDKP, which I also have installed =]

Also: GuildFu (fubar plugin) detects as Ari's Mod pack http://www.wowinterface.com/downloads/info11245.html which does include GuildFu.


On a more general note, I just had a thought. Because "Mod Packs" are just a package of mods put together (and sometimes tend to have out of date mods), maybe not offer said modpacks through Minion. I don't use Mod Packs, because I always had the problem of out of date mods every time i "upgraded". I know it seems silly since in reality that people using minion are more likely to be notified of said upgrades to mods from mod packs, but it was just a thought.....

Edit: Another thought is to maybe have minion completely refresh after installing a modpack, to make sure it's not missing outdated mods!
__________________




People with OCD (Or CDO in Scott's Case) prefer nUI+! Find it at www.nuiaddon.com
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Minion » Archive » Incorrect Addon Detections

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off