Quantcast Simple LUA -> addon site - Page 2 - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-26-11, 02:49 PM   #21
Wimpface
A Molten Giant
 
Wimpface's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 648
Originally Posted by Nibelheim View Post
Punishment is blind.

Or is that justice?
Both. Headless chickens.
__________________
All I see is strobe lights blinding me in my hindsight.
  Reply With Quote
11-26-11, 03:38 PM   #22
SDPhantom
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
SDPhantom's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 1,889
This thread is getting severely derailed. Security concerns are ok, but there's a point where it's just grasping at straws to prove a theory.

The more autonomous a site is, the more difficult a hack would be. Vlad's site would have no backend to hack. There's no need for one to exist. The hacker would either need direct access to the server's filesytem or a method to hijack DNS servers to point to their own server.

Packetsniffing is a moot point since the entire infrastructure of the internet is based on devices that route packets that are marked to go to X network specifically through port Y. The only way packetsniffing may be a problem is if the user is on a public wireless network, in which the entire communication is broadcasted with no encryption and no control over what receives it.
__________________
ESOUI AddOns | WoWInterface AddOns
"All I want is a pretty girl, a decent meal, and the right to shoot lightning at fools."
-Anders (Dragon Age: Origins - Awakening)
  Reply With Quote
03-08-19, 04:04 AM   #23
Vlad
A Molten Giant
 
Vlad's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 792
I recently updated the site to use jszip so the whole thing is now done in the browser and nothing is being sent to the server.

I agree that having a site that supposedly does something "as simple as zipping up some plain text" should not need a server to take the request and package the zip for you, but back in 2011 I don't think this functionality was mature enough to utilize.

Anyway I did redesign the layout a bit and for now dropped showing the extra TOC fields since it's probably not the biggest reason someone would use it anyway.

If you have some suggestions I wouldn't mind to see if I can implement them.
__________________
Profile: Curse | Wowhead
  Reply With Quote
03-08-19, 08:57 AM   #24
Fizzlemizz
I did that?
 
Fizzlemizz's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2011
Posts: 1,184
I for one will miss the ability to see/adjust the .toc "on site".

When sending someone to addon.bool.no (which happens semi-regularly on the WoW UI and macro forum) it's quite easy to describe what they will see/click/do all in one place and not have to add "and now open the addon folder, find the .toc file, open in an editor, yes, notepad will do..........

Which is also a back handed way of saying thank you for keeping the site going, it is greatly appreciated and a great resource to the community .
__________________
Fizzlemizz
Maintainer of Discord Unit Frames and Discord Art.
Author of FauxMazzle, FauxMazzleHUD and Move Pad Plus.

Last edited by Fizzlemizz : 03-08-19 at 10:05 AM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Tutorials & Other Helpful Info. » Simple LUA -> addon site

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off