Quantcast
Buffalo replacement? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-14-10, 02:49 PM   #1
speak
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
speak's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Buffalo replacement?

Hi, it looks like Buffalo has finally been broken for good, and won't be updated. Anyone know of a replacement mod that does what Buffalo did?

I really only need to have my buffs/debuffs shown as squares (never collapsed) and would like to scale their size down a bit, change the spacing between them, and move the whole buff frame up flush to the top of my screen and over towards my minimap.

Thanks for any ideas
  Reply With Quote
10-14-10, 03:03 PM   #2
Ravendwyr
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Ravendwyr's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 139
I recommend PhanxBuffs or Aptus Aura Frames.
__________________
Twitter | Player
  Reply With Quote
10-14-10, 03:09 PM   #3
nikapo
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 1
Originally Posted by speak View Post
Hi, it looks like Buffalo has finally been broken for good, and won't be updated. Anyone know of a replacement mod that does what Buffalo did?

I really only need to have my buffs/debuffs shown as squares (never collapsed) and would like to scale their size down a bit, change the spacing between them, and move the whole buff frame up flush to the top of my screen and over towards my minimap.

Thanks for any ideas
I've also been recommended Raven. I'm using Satrina's Buff Frames but it's not updated; fortunately, a couple people have posted some hotfixes in the comments. I'll probably try Raven if I can't get SBF to work.
  Reply With Quote
10-14-10, 10:32 PM   #4
Farook
A Molten Giant
 
Farook's Avatar
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 595
SBF has been updated now.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-14-10, 11:11 PM   #5
brotherhobbes
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 313
Originally Posted by speak View Post
Hi, it looks like Buffalo has finally been broken for good, and won't be updated. Anyone know of a replacement mod that does what Buffalo did?

I really only need to have my buffs/debuffs shown as squares (never collapsed) and would like to scale their size down a bit, change the spacing between them, and move the whole buff frame up flush to the top of my screen and over towards my minimap.

Thanks for any ideas
If you want something just like Buffalo, check out Bison
http://www.wowace.com/addons/bison/

If you want something new, check out all the other addons the above posters mentioned.
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 01:13 AM   #6
Luzzifus
A Warpwood Thunder Caller
 
Luzzifus's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 94
Bison doesn't work currently. No errors, but buffs are not showing up either.
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 12:44 PM   #7
brotherhobbes
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 313
I downloaded Bison yesterday and my buffs were showing up on it.
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 02:14 PM   #8
Kamikaze_Ice
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
My question is, which buff addon allows for right-click buff removal?


I was using Bison, but it gives dead areas of the screen (along with not allowing buff removal).

Just need something that basically allows blizzard buffs to go all on one line, with debufs below instead of how blizzard's is like 6 buffs per line.
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 02:26 PM   #9
Taryble
A Molten Giant
 
Taryble's Avatar
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 811
Nobody that I know of has written a buff addon that works with the new SecureAuraHeaders, which means that none of the ones out there (to the furthest extent of my knowledge) allow you to right-click off any buffs.

Blame Blizzard for wanting to break addons that auto-remove buffs.
__________________
-- Taryble
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 03:58 PM   #10
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,757
Try this new one: http://wow.curse.com/downloads/wow-a...asicbuffs.aspx
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 04:00 PM   #11
Kamikaze_Ice
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 9
Satrina Buff Frames 3
Does everything I need now. I can click off buffs AND customize them even more than I could previously!

Best (de)buff mod avalible now.

<3 you Satrina.

*Edit*
Since SBF3 locks the buff frame when in combat, you can't see what buffs you get from things like procs.
Looks like I'll have to make a seperate buff bar and filter these "proc" type effects from the clickable-main buff frame to one that works in combat.
so much more work, and here I thought I was done messing with my ui this week. :P

Last edited by Kamikaze_Ice : 10-15-10 at 04:42 PM. Reason: finished post.
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 07:04 PM   #12
speak
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
speak's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Thanks for all the great suggestions. I tried Bison first, but it doesn't disable the blizzard "consolidated buffs" box. There's an option to, and it does work at first, but the consolidated box eventually shows up again.

I don't care about not being able to right-click-remove buffs, so as long as the mod can move/scale the buffs & debuffs & wepbuffs, I'd be happy

I'll check out BasicBuffs tonight!
  Reply With Quote
10-15-10, 09:28 PM   #13
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,757
Just curious, but did you disable "Consolidate Buffs" in the Buffs section of Interface Options?
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
10-16-10, 02:27 PM   #14
speak
A Wyrmkin Dreamwalker
 
speak's Avatar
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 57
Originally Posted by Seerah View Post
Just curious, but did you disable "Consolidate Buffs" in the Buffs section of Interface Options?
i've been having trouble with that option. i'll disable it on one toon and it'll show up already-disabled on another toon. then i'll go back and it'll be on again. i wasn't sure if it was something mod-related (I thought maybe Bison was doing it) so I just gave up for then.

i'll definitely play around with it more to see if i can get the setting to stick.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Buffalo replacement?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off