Quantcast
map/quest log broken - WoWInterface
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
12-10-13, 07:54 PM   #1
Zyella
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
map/quest log broken

I'm using NUI+, and as of today, started having issues with my quest log and map. The log isn't showing quest info (and sometimes, not even quests), and my map is broken (either greened out, blanked out, or showing my location as wrong).
I turned off all my addons, and turned them back on one by one, but didn't encounter and issues until I checked off nui. I then tried to reinstall the entire interface, with no luck. The only two errors I'm seeing in swatter are the following:

Date: 2013-12-10 20:25:35
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 10
Message: ..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua line 217:
MainMenuMicroButton:SetPoint(): StoreMicroButton is dependent on this
Debug:
[C]: SetPoint()
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:217: UpdateMicroButtons()
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:260:
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:256
Locals:
(*temporary) = MainMenuMicroButton {
0 = <userdata>
tooltipText = "Game Menu (Escape)"
updateInterval = 1
newbieText = "Modify your settings, change your hotkeys or exit the game."
Flash = MainMenuMicroButtonFlash {
}
}
(*temporary) = "BOTTOMLEFT"
(*temporary) = StoreMicroButton {
0 = <userdata>
tooltipText = "Shop"
Flash = StoreMicroButtonFlash {
}
}
(*temporary) = "BOTTOMRIGHT"
(*temporary) = -3
(*temporary) = 0


Date: 2013-12-10 20:25:35
ID: 1
Error occured in: Global
Count: 10
Message: ..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua line 217:
MainMenuMicroButton:SetPoint(): StoreMicroButton is dependent on this
Debug:
[C]: SetPoint()
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:217: UpdateMicroButtons()
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:260:
..\FrameXML\MainMenuBarMicroButtons.lua:256
Locals:
(*temporary) = MainMenuMicroButton {
0 = <userdata>
tooltipText = "Game Menu (Escape)"
updateInterval = 1
newbieText = "Modify your settings, change your hotkeys or exit the game."
Flash = MainMenuMicroButtonFlash {
}
}
(*temporary) = "BOTTOMLEFT"
(*temporary) = StoreMicroButton {
0 = <userdata>
tooltipText = "Shop"
Flash = StoreMicroButtonFlash {
}
}
(*temporary) = "BOTTOMRIGHT"
(*temporary) = -3
(*temporary) = 0


Any ideas?
 
12-10-13, 08:01 PM   #2
Daveo77
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Daveo77's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 138
Yep. Same bug as this one: http://www.wowinterface.com/forums/s...ad.php?t=48645

It's caused by the one change Blizzard has made to the Menu Bar, added a In-Game Shop icon.

This is causing the Main Menu Bar Micro Buttons at top of nUI screen to bug out.
__________________
 
12-10-13, 08:03 PM   #3
Zyella
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Nov 2010
Posts: 5
Funny thing is, I'm not having any problems with the main menu bar that I can see. Just the quest log and map
 
12-10-13, 09:35 PM   #4
shockangel
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
same for me

if i re-size the map its done it goes all wacky its like it merges with part of the quest log and then log is empty all i see is minus sings where my quest should be kind of disappointing tho nui is the one and only bar i have always supported and used but blah cant even use the map to track my quest once they are done it shows no changes i have to close wow and restart to get the update of quest. if i maximize map is ok but yeah not sure what to do bout this to tired to try to figure out the problem anyways..
 
12-11-13, 10:20 AM   #5
Daveo77
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Daveo77's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2010
Posts: 138
Here's a screenshot of the Quest Log bug with nUI 5.07.40 and Patch 5.4.2...



Also, I see the Map bug and a bug with the Skada integration (Skada infopanel overlays all infopanels, so that you can change the infopanel but can't click any icons due to Skada been overlaided (XMage for example, can't click portals/teleports due to Skada info overlaying right hand infopanel).
__________________

Last edited by Daveo77 : 12-11-13 at 11:06 AM.
 
12-11-13, 11:37 AM   #6
shockangel
A Murloc Raider
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 5
is there a plan to fix this?

i mean im just wondering since there is no response from the creator im kind of wondering if this awesome nui will become obsolete or is he trying to fix it now?
 
12-11-13, 12:21 PM   #7
BO5ivojLupen
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 3
Spiel is a working person, but I'm sure he is working on a solution. Have patience my friend
 
12-11-13, 04:08 PM   #8
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
I'll take a look at the quest log thing, but my reply in the other thread regarding the mainmenu buttons positioning being affected by the new shop button blizzard added has worked wonders for me. I was playing hours last night.

Give the following file a go and see if it resolves the problem you are getting. The only thing I have seen so far that is missing from nUI are the two power info buttons either side of the main menu buttons. Not exactly game breaking as most of that information is available if you mouse over the computer icon button.

As for Scott, he may still be out on the road working at his job or working on that forest project he has been spending a lot of his spare time on, and thus may not be aware of this problem yet.

My fix isn't perfect but it allows you to play the game without any errors.

The attached picture is showing what my quest log looks like.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	WoWScrnShot_121113_220902.jpg
Views:	431
Size:	1.29 MB
ID:	7964  
Attached Files
File Type: lua nUI_MicroMenu.lua (20.1 KB, 255 views)
__________________

Last edited by Xrystal : 12-11-13 at 04:11 PM.
 
12-11-13, 04:17 PM   #9
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
'Why is the positioning of the main menu buttons related to displaying the quest log?'

The error regarding the main menu bar is triggered whenever blizzard tries to redraw the buttons which happens every time you click one of the buttons. Most of the time an error stops the rest of the process from happening, so imagine the following ...

1. Click Button
2. Frame starts being displayed
3. Update Main menu Buttons .... error ..
4. Rest of new frame display

When the error is triggered the next stage isn't executed, hence the incomplete display. This is how you sometimes see nUI not quite right, map not in the bottom, chatframes not in the right place etc. One error triggered at the wrong time can stop another process from running that is totally unrelated to the one that went wrong.
__________________
 
12-11-13, 05:21 PM   #10
Xrystal
nUI Maintainer
 
Xrystal's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 5,492
Actually, in investigating another non addon loaded problem I have been seeing I have come to realise that nUI is messing up my wtf file. Starting with an empty wtf file for your character nUI will either position the buttons at the bottom ( with my fix in this thread ) or position them at the top and error out (without my fix).

Will have to investigate further.

However, until I did that things were fine running the game with nUI. As soon as I turn off nUI though, after it has repositioned frames etc and then relog in without ANY addons the mainmenu doesn't appear. Rename that characters wtf folder and relog in and everything is fine until I load up nUI.
__________________
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » nUI, MozzFullWorldMap and PartySpotter » Support » nUI: Bug Reports » map/quest log broken

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off