Quantcast
Nameplate Set Height - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-22-10, 11:39 AM   #1
Ither
A Firelord
 
Ither's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 497
Nameplate Set Height

Ok.. so supposedly Blizzard fixed the nameplate bugs and it's clearly working as it should in Tidyplates. However, that addon uses the SetScale option for the bar and it holds. If you use

Code:
self.healthBar:SetHeight(3)
It holds at reload but turn away and back it resets.

Is this the actual widget in the API that is causing it or a bad configuration?

I'm trying to fix caelNameplates as nobody has a clue if the author plans to.
__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-22-10, 11:56 AM   #2
v6o
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 399
caelnameplates should have 2 functions. one that gets run the first time a nameplate is shown and then an update function.

i think you'll need to make sure the size is set in the update function, otherwise it will reset to blizzards size.
__________________
I stopped playing back World of Warcraft in 2010 and I have no plans on returning.
This is a dead account and if you want to continue any of my addons or make a fork then feel free to do so.
This is your permission slip.

If you need to contact me, do so on Twitter @v6ooo

Best regards, v6.
  Reply With Quote
10-22-10, 12:12 PM   #3
Ither
A Firelord
 
Ither's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 497
Originally Posted by v6o View Post
caelnameplates should have 2 functions. one that gets run the first time a nameplate is shown and then an update function.

i think you'll need to make sure the size is set in the update function, otherwise it will reset to blizzards size.
I've scanned the code and the only setheights there are is;

Code:
	self.healthBar:SetHeight(caelLib.scale(3))
	self.castBar:SetHeight(caelLib.scale(3))
	self:SetHeight(caelLib.scale(3))
Regardless, if you turn and look back it goes to default.

Could it be an update function is missing?
__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-23-10, 05:22 AM   #4
Duugu
Premium Member
 
Duugu's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 851
The upadate function is

Code:
local UpdatePlate = function(self)
[..]
end
in caelNameplates.lua
(starts at line 59)

It hooks the OnShow event of the plate frames.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-10, 01:59 PM   #5
Ither
A Firelord
 
Ither's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 497
Originally Posted by Duugu View Post
The upadate function is

Code:
local UpdatePlate = function(self)
[..]
end
in caelNameplates.lua
(starts at line 59)

It hooks the OnShow event of the plate frames.
Right, which has the set height. Still don't get why it just reverts back; it's driving me nuts.

__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-23-10, 07:04 PM   #6
v6o
An Onyxian Warder
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 399
It has to do with bloattest. If you set it to 0 it won't change the size of your nameplates but they will probably not show up at all and if you set it to 1 it will change the size but they will show up.

Give us back our old nameplates Blizzard!...
__________________
I stopped playing back World of Warcraft in 2010 and I have no plans on returning.
This is a dead account and if you want to continue any of my addons or make a fork then feel free to do so.
This is your permission slip.

If you need to contact me, do so on Twitter @v6ooo

Best regards, v6.

Last edited by v6o : 10-23-10 at 07:15 PM.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-10, 08:46 PM   #7
Ither
A Firelord
 
Ither's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 497
Yep.. turned it off and all was fine with the exception of missing plates.

Damn you blizzard!
__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-23-10, 09:09 PM   #8
OttoDeFe
A Chromatic Dragonspawn
 
OttoDeFe's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 178
Originally Posted by v6o View Post

Give us back our old nameplates Blizzard!...

BUT - with a scaling option!!
__________________
"They say
the pen is mightier than any saber -
any sword -
but if there's a war
I just don't know if a Bic will save ya..."

-- Last Offence
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Nameplate Set Height

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off