04-25-12, 05:55 AM   #1
vlakarados
An Aku'mai Servant

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Laptop with external display

Hey guys, seeking for your recommendations here.
I have an Acer Aspire laptop and looking for an upgrade. Basically, I don't want a monster laptop as it should be affordable to say the least. The main requirement is that I want to run wow on an external display at 1920x1080 resolution without lags and good fps (best to be on highest video settings), can someone recommend me what are the best models to achieve this? Maybe someone can recommend me a mobile graphics card model so I could be looking myself further? If it would be a desktop PC it would not be a problem, but I have little knowledge of mobile hardware, so if some experienced users could answer me, I would be more than pleased!
Thank you in advance!
04-25-12, 07:03 PM   #2
semlar
A Pyroguard Emberseer

Let me start by saying that the problem with using a laptop for gaming is that the more power you put into it, the less portable it becomes, and you can't upgrade the system like you could with a tower. That being said, I can understand the need for someone who can only afford one machine.

I'll describe what I would personally be looking for in a gaming laptop if I were in the market for one.

Ram: 8gb minimum. Ram is cheap enough that you could buy 16gb for between $100 and $130. This is one of the only components you can actually upgrade yourself in most laptops.

CPU: Quad core i5 or i7, 2.4ghz and up will cover pretty much anything you need to do.