11-01-08, 12:19 AM   #1
HyperGig
A Cyclonian
StatusBar Time Best Practice?

I'm new to making teh mods and i have a best practice question.

I have a StatusBar that i would like to use to keep track of a particular buff and i was wondering what the best way to do this is? Originally i was doing something like this...

Code:

local name, rank, icon, count, debuffType, duration, expirationTime, isMine, isStealable =UnitBuff("target",i)
local bar = getglobal("Form".."StatusBar1");
local left = (expirationTime - (time()-1225488545)) / duration; 
bar:SetValue(left);
..and stuck this function in the <OnUpdate> tags in the xml.

This can't be the best way to do this right? Like there is some sort of built in thing-a-ma-jig that does times and durations for you?

Thanks in advanced
11-01-08, 01:05 AM   #2
d87
A Chromatic Dragonspawn

AddOn Author - Click to view addons
1) you could store expirationTime in some variable, not to query it every time
2) or could do some thing like
bar:SetMinMaxValues(GetTime(),expirationTime)
when you initializing your timer and then just put bar:SetValue(GetTime()) in OnUpdate and you don't even need to store anything
3) you could limit amount of OnUpdate calls, but here it's unnecessary, onupdate func is very small already

This can't be the best way to do this right? Like there is some sort of built in thing-a-ma-jig that does times and durations for you?
no, for something involving time updating it's the only way.
Try to use AceTimer lib, but that's the same onupdate in more friendly way
11-01-08, 08:52 AM   #3
HyperGig
A Cyclonian
Thank you for your quick reply!!

It baffles me that we have to do this on every update. It just seems very inefficient that on every single update we are making these calls.