Thread Tools Display Modes
02-07-05, 04:16 PM   #41
aaronsullivan
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
One question answered

Well, I figured out how to get the second line of info from an npc.

You use the GetTooltipText2:something or other. (Don't have the code in front of me) Basically you can't get it from the target info any way I know of, but you CAN get it from the current tooltip text. Generally, the last tooltip someone is going to get before clicking on a target is going to be the tooltip for the target itself, so it's easy to match up the info.

Anyway, it's just what I needed. I can give more details if anyone is interested.

I still don't have a way to get a target's position, but I've noticed that AddOn's you might expect would get a target's position use the player's position instead, which is the method I'm already using.

Still, if anyone knows of a way, I'm interested. Seems like a harmless hook for Blizzard to add.
  Reply With Quote
02-07-05, 05:32 PM   #42
Cide
Swedeheart
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 96
They removed that because of TargetDistance mods, aaronsullivan. If you want to check if the npc you're interacting with is the same NPC as the player you just hovered over, use:

Code:
if ( UnitIsUnit("npc", "mouseover") ) then
__________________
CTMod Developer
  Reply With Quote
02-07-05, 05:46 PM   #43
aaronsullivan
A Deviate Faerie Dragon
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 12
Thanks, I didn't know about that issue with the distances. That's a bummer. How exactly was the target distance mod exploitive?

Still, it's good to know that it won't be coming, so I'll just go without it.

No problems with the tooltip and target data being connected.

Thanks again for the response.
  Reply With Quote
11-16-06, 03:25 PM   #44
Txzeenath
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
I was curious as to if there is a way to open the trainer UI via a script of some sort. I want to make a custom way to open the trainer window, but I can't seem to find how to open it. I've tried opening the UI itself, but it doesn't retrieve the listing of skills.

(the trainers i'm referring to are class trainers)

Last edited by Txzeenath : 11-16-06 at 04:20 PM.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » Script Possibilities

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off