Quantcast AddOn for zone name translations? - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
08-31-19, 03:59 PM   #1
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
AddOn for zone name translations?

I have an AddOn I'm working on that has a database with fields like:

Code:
[L("Stormwind City")] = {
   IsCity = true,
   Continent = 2,
   MapFile = "Stormwind-City",
   MapScale = 0.03819701270887,
   MapOffset = { x = 0.41531450060561, y = 0.67097280492581 },
So you can see that "Stormwind City" is the key. Right now it's set to use local localization files to do the translation as what it used to use (libBabble-Zone) has died. Does anyone know of a similar addon that I could use for these translations rather than keeping them locally?

Thanks!
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 04:01 PM   #2
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Note that this is for WoW Classic as well.
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:12 PM   #3
Nimhfree
A Frostmaul Preserver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 260
Instead of using the name of the zone as the key you can use Blizzard's mapId as the key. You can also ask the Blizzard API for the localized name of that mapId as well so you do not need to keep it in your structure. Look at the Blizzard API C_Map.GetMapInfo() for what its name and other goodies.
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:17 PM   #4
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by Nimhfree View Post
Instead of using the name of the zone as the key you can use Blizzard's mapId as the key. You can also ask the Blizzard API for the localized name of that mapId as well so you do not need to keep it in your structure. Look at the Blizzard API C_Map.GetMapInfo() for what its name and other goodies.
I was thinking of going this route, but a lot of instances have more than one MapID (at least for 8.x). I'd like to have two versions of my addon (one for 8.x, one for classic), but I'm stuck on 8.x because of this issue. I was hoping to find a Classic specific version of https://wow.gamepedia.com/InstanceID/Complete_list to see if it has the same problem. Some of the zones in Classic don't even exist in 8.x either, so that list isn't helpful to me.
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:18 PM   #5
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
I was thinking of going this route, but a lot of instances have more than one MapID (at least for 8.x). I'd like to have two versions of my addon (one for 8.x, one for classic), but I'm stuck on 8.x because of this issue. I was hoping to find a Classic specific version of https://wow.gamepedia.com/InstanceID/Complete_list to see if it has the same problem. Some of the zones in Classic don't even exist in 8.x either, so that list isn't helpful to me.
Sweet, I just found https://wow.gamepedia.com/UiMapID/Classic
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:25 PM   #6
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
So that gets me map IDs for everything I need except for these dungeons (at least for Classic):

Dire Maul
Gnomeregan
Wailing Caverns
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:27 PM   #7
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
So that gets me map IDs for everything I need except for these dungeons (at least for Classic):

Dire Maul
Gnomeregan
Wailing Caverns
And here we go, their instance IDs..

https://wow.gamepedia.com/InstanceID#Classic_Dungeons
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:28 PM   #8
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
And here we go, their instance IDs..

https://wow.gamepedia.com/InstanceID#Classic_Dungeons
Although that's for BfA.. not sure if they're the same for WoW Classic. :/
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 06:47 PM   #9
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
Although that's for BfA.. not sure if they're the same for WoW Classic. :/
Hm, missing Naxxramus for Classic as well.
  Reply With Quote
08-31-19, 11:00 PM   #10
Ketho
A Molten Giant
 
Ketho's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 884
Originally Posted by kernighan View Post
Hm, missing Naxxramus for Classic as well.

Naxxramas should be the same Instance ID as in BFA (533)
https://wow.tools/dbc/?dbc=map&build...87#search=naxx
  Reply With Quote
09-01-19, 03:29 AM   #11
myrroddin
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
myrroddin's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 1,073
Does Orgrimmar have different IDs for each floor? I only see one ID in the list.

Last edited by myrroddin : 09-01-19 at 03:20 PM. Reason: typo
  Reply With Quote
09-01-19, 04:24 PM   #12
kernighan
A Cyclonian
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by myrroddin View Post
Does Orgrimmar have different IDs for each floor? I only see one ID in the list.

Two different issues -- Classic, I'm set, everything has a single ID.

However, for BfA, locations have multiple IDs. Since it's tracking vendor locations, I think I'll just have to use the local ID for where the vendor is located, which means a larger set of keys for the database but overall it'll work.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » AddOn for zone name translations?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off