Quantcast
XPbar disappeared - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
11-12-14, 12:47 PM   #1
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
XPbar disappeared

So for some reason my xp bar disappeared. It was there, working fine for most of the day, but then it just randomly disappeared. This is my settings, I didn't change anything for before it disappeared.
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 12:53 PM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Well, I'd start by making those "media" and "config" variables local, not global. It's not farfetched at all to imagine that some other addon overwrote one or both with (hopefully accidentally leaked) globals by the same name. Same goes for all the variables you set in the event handler. Global "name" is just a disaster waiting to happen.

Other than that, since your frame has SetUserPlaced(true) set on it, I'd check your layout-cache.txt file and make sure there's nothing related to it in there; if the game is trying to manage the frame's position, it will overwrite any position you set in the main chunk of your file.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 12:57 PM   #3
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
how would I go about making those local (not amazing at this stuff)

Edit: Alright, so I changed that SetUserPlaced to false and then deleted my layout and it reappeared. Thx Phanx. Although I still kinda would like to know how to change the global setting to local.

Last edited by Mirrikh : 11-12-14 at 01:06 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 01:19 PM   #4
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
That's actually surprisingly easy

Where you now have :
Lua Code:
  1. variablename = value
Do
Lua Code:
  1. local variablename = value

Depending on the setup of the add-on; this might have some "fun" results though.

In your case :
lua Code:
  1. local media = {
  2.         flat = "Interface\\Buttons\\WHITE8x8",
  3.         font = "Interface\\Addons\\bXP\\font.ttf"
  4. }
  5. local config = {
  6.         enable = 1,
  7.         spawn = {"BOTTOM", UIParent, "BOTTOM", 0, 5},
  8.         width = 378,
  9.         height = 5,
  10.         color = {.4, .1, 0.6, 1},
  11.         restedcolor = {.2, .4, 0.8, 1}
  12. }
__________________

Last edited by MoonWitch : 11-12-14 at 01:20 PM. Reason: clarification
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 01:28 PM   #5
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
Cool, I was hoping it was that easy. Thank you

Edit: hmm, after adding that it disappeared again.

Last edited by Mirrikh : 11-12-14 at 01:30 PM.
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 01:36 PM   #6
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
It shouldn't though. The actual call stays the exact same.

Are there other files in bXP? I thought there weren't.

I get the feeling that the SetClampedToScreen is moving it OUTSIDE of the visible area.

Comment out line 43
Lua Code:
  1. --bar:SetClampedToScreen(true)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 01:39 PM   #7
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
the only other files are the toc and the font file. commented it out and still nothing.

Edit: Ok so, when I went into an inn and became "rested" it showed up.
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 04:13 PM   #8
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Are you max level with no watched faction?
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
11-12-14, 06:16 PM   #9
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
nope, leveling a toon.
  Reply With Quote
11-13-14, 12:08 AM   #10
10leej
A Molten Giant
 
10leej's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2011
Posts: 579
I see that blooblahguy made a return and is updating his addons are you using the latest version of bXP?
__________________
Tweets Facebook YouTube Website
  Reply With Quote
11-13-14, 01:18 AM   #11
Mirrikh
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Mirrikh's Avatar
AddOn Compiler - Click to view compilations
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 111
yep, I saw that too and updated, working fine now.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » XPbar disappeared

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off