Thread Tools Display Modes
07-20-18, 03:43 AM   #1
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Get current continent name or id?

Hello,

I used to use API GetCurrentMapContinent() to get continent where player is, but it throws an error in patch 8. So what is now teh correct way to retrieve this info?

Main goal is to know is cuurent zone is flyable *by the player*, depending its special abilities like "Fly in Draenor", etc.

Thank you.
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 04:20 AM   #2
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,710
Use IsFlyableArea()
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 05:10 AM   #3
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
IsFlyableArea() is an old API that wasn't accurate at all, even before WoD. Do you think it has been updated et fixed in patch 8?
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 06:32 AM   #4
Rilgamon
Premium Member
 
Rilgamon's Avatar
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2009
Posts: 822
For one of my addons I use this function. It does not return the "old" values. So you need to find the right values for your addon.
Lua Code:
  1. local function getContinent()
  2.     local mapID = C_Map.GetBestMapForUnit("player")
  3.     if(mapID) then
  4.         local info = C_Map.GetMapInfo(mapID)
  5.         if(info) then
  6.             while(info['mapType'] and info['mapType'] > 2) do
  7.                 info = C_Map.GetMapInfo(info['parentMapID'])
  8.             end
  9.             if(info['mapType'] == 2) then
  10.                 return info['mapID']
  11.             end
  12.         end
  13.     end
  14. end
__________________
The cataclysm broke the world ... and the pandas could not fix it!
  Reply With Quote
07-20-18, 07:44 AM   #5
Zax
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 147
Thank you, I'll try.
BTW, after a few tests, IsFlyableArea() seems more accurate then before patch 8.
  Reply With Quote
12-01-22, 06:57 PM   #6
chestercs
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Dec 2022
Posts: 1
Solution

Its pretty late to reply but:
https://gist.github.com/chestercs/6d...8b50b64d29bbf5

  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » Get current continent name or id?

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off