Quantcast Addon fix/help "Mounted" - WoWInterface
Thread Tools Display Modes
10-21-14, 10:30 AM   #1
Uggers
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Uggers's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 26
Addon fix/help "Mounted"

Hey all,

I'm trying to look for a fix for one of my favourite addons Mounted

The 2 errors I'm getting are;

Code:
70x Mounted\Libs\LibMounts-1.0\LibMounts-1.0-20121017183220.lua:25: table index is nil
Mounted\Libs\LibMounts-1.0\LibMounts-1.0-20121017183220.lua:25: in function <Mounted\Libs\LibMounts-1.0\LibMounts-1.0.lua:21>
(tail call): ?

Locals:
(*temporary) = "COMPANION_LEARNED"
(*temporary) = "COMPANION_LEARNED"
(*temporary) = <function> defined =[C]:-1
and

Code:
70x Mounted\Core.lua:239: attempt to index local 'mntName' (a nil value)
Mounted\Core.lua:239: in function <Mounted\Core.lua:230>
(tail call): ?

Locals:
(*temporary) = "COMPANION_LEARNED"
(*temporary) = "COMPANION_LEARNED"
(*temporary) = <function> defined =[C]:-1
I have no idea what's up with it specially, it might be the Lib-Mount that's causing the errors, I do miss the addon though as it always showed the icon for the mount and also the icon for the in combat and unavailable parts to so I knew what was about to happen, instead of the addons that just show a random icon.

Any help to get it working would be appreciated
  Reply With Quote
10-21-14, 10:36 AM   #2
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 361
This is crossposted.
  Reply With Quote
10-21-14, 08:35 PM   #3
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Basically everything about the mount API changed. The entire addon would have to be rewritten.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
10-21-14, 09:29 PM   #4
Coote
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
Coote's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 440
Yssaril stopped playing around the time I did in early MOP, and I don't think he even plays WoW anymore. Mounted has been broken since I came back for 5.4, and was probably long since dead by then, as well. I'll miss it, as it's the best mount addon I've ever come across.
__________________

"This is the fifteen-thousandth four hundredth and ninety-eighth occurence".
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 10:17 AM   #5
Uggers
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Uggers's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 26
Originally Posted by Coote View Post
Yssaril stopped playing around the time I did in early MOP, and I don't think he even plays WoW anymore. Mounted has been broken since I came back for 5.4, and was probably long since dead by then, as well. I'll miss it, as it's the best mount addon I've ever come across.
Yeah its such a shame, I mean the other mount addons are pretty good to, but they don't have the icon/tooltip auto changes and usually just have their default icon so you can't be 100% sure what's gonna happen until you hit it.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 08:18 PM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
While the new "random favorite mount" feature in 6.0 has allowed to me to get rid of Squire2 (which is fortunate because Squire2 hasn't been updated yet) I've already had to write my own addon to replace built-in random function, since the default UI (a) won't let me set class-specific mounts as favorites, and (b) still summons flying mounts in non-flying areas which, even though they *can* run on the ground, look ridiculous doing so.

I don't have an ETA on a release for my addon (still need to finish fixing my existing addons before I spend time getting a new one into a release-ready state) but I may be persuaded to add useful macro feedback after it's released, since that was something that did annoy me about Squire2 in the past when I had it on a visible button.
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 10:10 PM   #7
Torhal
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
Torhal's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1,196
Squire2 won't be updated, because Squire3.
__________________
Whenever someone says "pls" because it's shorter than "please", I say "no" because it's shorter than "yes".

Author of NPCScan and many other AddOns.
  Reply With Quote
10-23-14, 10:36 PM   #8
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Originally Posted by Torhal View Post
Squire2 won't be updated, because Squire3.
You know, this trend of addon authors creating new projects for new major versions is really annoying. It's the same addon, and the old version won't work anymore. Just use the same damn project page and stop making things difficult for your users for no reason. There's not even a link on the old page, so I guess I'm just supposed to be psychic, or at least obsessed with checking the "new and updated" list on Curse, to know about the new page.

Anyway, it still just uses the favorites defined in the mount journal, which doesn't solve the problem of class mounts not being selectable as favorites. We'll see...
__________________
Author/maintainer of Grid, PhanxChat, oUF_Phanx, and many more.
Troubleshoot an addonTurn any code into an addonMore addon resources
Need help with your code? Post all of your actual code! Attach or paste your files.
Please don’t PM me about addon bugs or code questions. Post a comment or forum thread instead!
  Reply With Quote
10-24-14, 04:36 AM   #9
Talyrius
An Onyxian Warder
 
Talyrius's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 361
Judging by Adirelle's actions (incrementing to Squire3), I'm guessing that he no longer intends to manage a mount selection separate from Blizzard's which is unfortunate. I applaud Blizzard for finally implementing something, but it's far from perfect.
  Reply With Quote
10-24-14, 11:39 AM   #10
PickyCZ
A Kobold Labourer
Join Date: Oct 2014
Posts: 1
I'm glad I'm not the only one who misses Mounted. I tried to look for alternative but neither does what Mounded do - custom macro support. It's so awesome I can't emphesize that enough. Vendor mount under alt+click, mimi head under ctrl+click, random without any modifiers. With option to increase/decrease likelihood of summon for favourite/least favourite mounts. Such a pity it's discontinued and kind of broken now (kind of as it works, just spams errors with lib-mounts, at least for me)
  Reply With Quote
10-24-14, 05:40 PM   #11
MoonWitch
A Firelord
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 455
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
While the new "random favorite mount" feature in 6.0 has allowed to me to get rid of Squire2 (which is fortunate because Squire2 hasn't been updated yet) I've already had to write my own addon to replace built-in random function, since the default UI (a) won't let me set class-specific mounts as favorites, and (b) still summons flying mounts in non-flying areas which, even though they *can* run on the ground, look ridiculous doing so.

I don't have an ETA on a release for my addon (still need to finish fixing my existing addons before I spend time getting a new one into a release-ready state) but I may be persuaded to add useful macro feedback after it's released, since that was something that did annoy me about Squire2 in the past when I had it on a visible button.
I've got a basic one done, just having issues getting the class specifics etc done. (eg Ghostwolf can be used in combat/inside)
__________________
  Reply With Quote
10-25-14, 04:53 AM   #12
Uggers
A Fallenroot Satyr
 
Uggers's Avatar
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 26
Originally Posted by PickyCZ View Post
I'm glad I'm not the only one who misses Mounted. I tried to look for alternative but neither does what Mounded do - custom macro support. It's so awesome I can't emphesize that enough. Vendor mount under alt+click, mimi head under ctrl+click, random without any modifiers. With option to increase/decrease likelihood of summon for favourite/least favourite mounts. Such a pity it's discontinued and kind of broken now (kind of as it works, just spams errors with lib-mounts, at least for me)
Yeah, forgot about that functionality, its a shame alot of addons are no longer being maintained but I appreciate author are never going to play forever and when blizzard do major UI updates that break things they aren't easily repairable. I just wish I understood enough to fix it, but after spending a few hours trying to google it I don't know were to begin with this addon
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Help/Support » Addon fix/help "Mounted"

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off