Quantcast Nameplate hacking and unit IDs - WoWInterface
 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-14-16, 06:08 PM   #1
MunkDev
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
MunkDev's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 427
Nameplate hacking and unit IDs

In the Live version of my addon ConsolePort, I'm using a nameplate cursor that deviously hacks the nameplates by caching them securely and scaling them up to cover the entire screen. Coupled with a mouseover macro, this gave me control over targeting without using a mouse cursor. Here's a video of how it used to work:
https://youtu.be/8APU6SXDNpI

Now in Legion, I changed up my code to cache the unit frames associated with nameplates instead, thinking I could utilize the unit IDs. This works out of combat, but when I'm in combat, the frame handles are no longer accessible. My raid cursor (works the same way, but with raid frames) still works as intended, which probably means it's only related to the name plates. Either that, or I'm missing something vital here.

Tab-targeting seems to be better than ever, but I would ideally like to get this system working again with the new nameplate unit frames, because it gives much better control over tab-targeting when you can actually choose the direction in which it should look for the next target.

Here's the code that no longer works:
Lua Code:
  1. Cursor:SetAttribute("GetPlates", [[
  2.     Plates = wipe(Plates)
  3.     Visible = 0
  4.  
  5.     for i, frame in pairs(newtable(WorldFrame:GetChildren())) do
  6.         local name = frame:GetName()
  7.         if name and strmatch(name, "NamePlate") and frame:IsShown() then
  8.             local unitFrame = frame:GetChildren() -- returns nil in combat
  9.             local unit = unitFrame and unitFrame:GetAttribute("unit")
  10.             if unitFrame and unit and PlayerCanAttack(unit) then
  11.                 Plates[unitFrame] = true
  12.             end
  13.             Visible = Visible + 1
  14.         end
  15.     end
  16. ]])

Any suggestions on how to solve this, if it's even possible?
__________________

Last edited by MunkDev : 05-19-16 at 06:14 PM.
 
05-14-16, 06:43 PM   #2
syncrow
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
syncrow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by MunkDev View Post
Any suggestions on how to solve this, if it's even possible?
Lua Code:
  1. local activeUnitPlates = {}
  2.  
  3. local function AddNameplate(unitID)
  4.     local nameplate = C_NamePlate.GetNamePlateForUnit(unitID)
  5.     local unitframe = nameplate.UnitFrame
  6.  
  7.     -- store nameplate and its unitID
  8.     activeUnitPlates[unitframe] = unitID
  9. end
  10.  
  11. local function RemoveNameplate(unitID)
  12.     local nameplate = C_NamePlate.GetNamePlateForUnit(unitID)
  13.     local unitframe = nameplate.UnitFrame
  14.    
  15.     -- recycle the nameplate
  16.     activeUnitPlates[unitframe] = nil
  17. end
  18.  
  19. local frame = CreateFrame("Frame")
  20. frame:RegisterEvent("NAME_PLATE_UNIT_ADDED")
  21. frame:RegisterEvent("NAME_PLATE_UNIT_REMOVED")
  22.  
  23. frame:SetScript("OnEvent", function(self,event,...)
  24.     if event == "NAME_PLATE_UNIT_ADDED" then
  25.         local unitID = ...
  26.         AddNameplate(unitID)
  27.     end
  28.    
  29.     if event == "NAME_PLATE_UNIT_REMOVED" then
  30.         local unitID = ...
  31.         RemoveNameplate(unitID)
  32.     end
  33. end

This is hopefully what are looking for!

I'm currently constructing new plates for my UI with animated health bars and such things...
The new system is freaking awesome, and very handy!
__________________

Last edited by syncrow : 05-14-16 at 07:14 PM.
 
05-15-16, 07:48 AM   #3
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,739
Yes it sounds really awesome.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW) | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
 
05-15-16, 03:28 PM   #4
MunkDev
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
MunkDev's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 427
I'm confused by these answers. Did I ramble too much? The point of the post was that secure references to the unit frames attached to name plates seem to not be accessible in combat. That has nothing to do with styling them or storing them insecurely.
__________________
 
05-15-16, 04:00 PM   #5
semlar
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
semlar's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 1,059
Originally Posted by MunkDev View Post
I'm confused by these answers. Did I ramble too much? The point of the post was that secure references to the unit frames attached to name plates seem to not be accessible in combat. That has nothing to do with styling them or storing them insecurely.
I imagine there aren't that many people who really understand what you're talking about aside from me, because I wrote it, and yourself, since you needed something fairly specialized to suit your purposes.

Frankly it should be easier to do this in legion than it is on live, but I haven't had time to look into it. From what I can tell the unit frame isn't even mouse-enabled so you're still just clicking through it onto the WorldFrame, and there's nothing stopping you from scaling the nameplate and using a mouseover macro like you're doing now.

Just to be clear, it isn't working because you're trying to access the "unit frame", which isn't actually a secure unit frame, in the restricted environment in combat. Just use the nameplate.

Last edited by semlar : 05-15-16 at 04:21 PM.
 
05-15-16, 04:15 PM   #6
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,289
Originally Posted by MunkDev View Post
I'm confused by these answers. Did I ramble too much? The point of the post was that secure references to the unit frames attached to name plates seem to not be accessible in combat. That has nothing to do with styling them or storing them insecurely.
I've tried this and it's working fine for me:

Lua Code:
  1. Plates = wipe(Plates)
  2. Visible = 0
  3.  
  4. for i, frame in pairs({WorldFrame:GetChildren()}) do
  5.     local name = frame:GetName()
  6.     if name and strmatch(name, "NamePlate") and frame:IsShown() then
  7.         local unitFrame = frame:GetChildren()
  8.         local unit = unitFrame and unitFrame:GetAttribute("unit")
  9.         if unitFrame and unit then
  10.             Plates[unitFrame] = true
  11.         end
  12.         Visible = Visible + 1
  13.     end
  14. end

I have used it as a plain function tho. How does your hook looks like, when do you run the attribute itself?

Edit: The weird thing is the unit attribute seems to be like "nameplate1-30", you can get the proper unit attribute with a hack from the nameplate's buff/debuff frame like reaching this value: unitFrame.BuffFrame.unit, however that unit value seems to be broken too almost all the time.

Last edited by Resike : 05-15-16 at 04:40 PM.
 
05-15-16, 06:35 PM   #7
MunkDev
A Scalebane Royal Guard
 
MunkDev's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 427
Originally Posted by semlar View Post
I imagine there aren't that many people who really understand what you're talking about aside from me, because I wrote it, and yourself, since you needed something fairly specialized to suit your purposes.
Hehe. My threads can be quite technical at times, since my addon and the features it provides is unique in a way. Your code, which this was based on, might still work as it does in the live version, but I was hoping to get away from the scaling and use the unit attributes instead, because I would then be able to set the unit attribute in a preclick snippet and essentially remove the need for mouseover.

Originally Posted by semlar View Post
Frankly it should be easier to do this in legion than it is on live, but I haven't had time to look into it. From what I can tell the unit frame isn't even mouse-enabled so you're still just clicking through it onto the WorldFrame, and there's nothing stopping you from scaling the nameplate and using a mouseover macro like you're doing now.

Just to be clear, it isn't working because you're trying to access the "unit frame", which isn't actually a secure unit frame, in the restricted environment in combat. Just use the nameplate.
That was my thought exactly, now that we actually have unit attributes. I did not realize the unit frames themselves are not actually secure. I only dumped :IsProtected from the plate itself and just assumed the unit frames were also protected, since they seemingly behave and use attributes like any other unit frame.

Originally Posted by Resike View Post
I have used it as a plain function tho. How does your hook looks like, when do you run the attribute itself?

Edit: The weird thing is the unit attribute seems to be like "nameplate1-30", you can get the proper unit attribute with a hack from the nameplate's buff/debuff frame like reaching this value: unitFrame.BuffFrame.unit, however that unit value seems to be broken too almost all the time.
The reason it works when you run it as a plain execution on a secure header is because you can only do that out of combat. When you're out of combat, an insecure frame (as Semlar mentioned) would be returned in the list of frames from frame:GetChildren(), even in a secure environment. I'm running it in a binding, which should of course work regardless of combat state. Here's the code if you're interested:
https://github.com/seblindfors/Conso...Nameplates.lua

The unit ID probably works for targeting if you create clickable unit frames and assign type as unit and unit as the nameplate attribute, which could mean that Semlar's lazyplates concept would work to create a grid of name plate unit frames instead of hacking the whole system. I haven't tried anything like this yet, but it seems like it should work.

Btw; sorry if I came off as rude Syncrow. That's not the way I meant it. I realize this idea is pretty bananas in itself, so it's not far fetched for someone else to assume it was about caching active name plates and manipulating their look and function.
__________________

Last edited by MunkDev : 05-15-16 at 06:40 PM.
 
05-15-16, 05:48 PM   #8
syncrow
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
syncrow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 149
Originally Posted by MunkDev View Post
Did I ramble too much? The point of the post was that secure references to the unit frames attached to name plates seem to not be accessible in combat.
My bad, thought you need a way get the unitID / unit frame...
__________________
 
05-19-16, 06:18 PM   #9
galvin
A Frostmaul Preserver
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 263
One of the most frustating things on live. Is finding your cursor. When there are a lot of mobs and action going on. Your eyes just don't lock onto your cursor. Same problem in diablo 3 too.
 
05-19-16, 07:27 PM   #10
p3lim
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
p3lim's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 1,696
Originally Posted by galvin View Post
One of the most frustating things on live. Is finding your cursor. When there are a lot of mobs and action going on. Your eyes just don't lock onto your cursor. Same problem in diablo 3 too.
https://pandateemo.github.io/YoloMouse/

Probably violates the ToS/EULA in some way, I tried it out in Diablo last season.
 
05-23-16, 03:42 AM   #11
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,739
Is anyone building new unitframes around the fact that nameplates are now real unitframes with their own unitids?

I thought of making a new nameplate addon where nameplates and normal unitframes interfact. You could fade certain unitframes away (like target or party) if there are nameplates on screen that stand for the same unit.

I tanked my first instance with the default nameplates this weekend. Some nameplate settings are just horrible. I need to rewrite some of that.

What do you think is the best approach to adjust the current Blizzard nameplates? Is writing a new addon worth it or is styling enough (if possible). Can one even disable the current Blizzard nameplates? Probably not fully since you need the position for the frame.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW) | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)

Last edited by zork : 05-23-16 at 03:45 AM.
 
05-23-16, 05:23 AM   #12
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
I've thought about something similar re: hiding unnecessary unitframes when nameplate doubles exist. the playerframe seems totally pointless in combat now we have the player nameplate.

i'm halfway through working on an idea that detaches the nameplates & condenses them into a grid. a quick n dirty sketch: http://i.cubeupload.com/I188Bp.png

I've also found the plates relatively easy to style without a rewrite, though i haven't delved much into performance differences just yet:
https://github.com/obble/UIForModern...ates/plate.lua

Last edited by ObbleYeah : 05-23-16 at 05:30 AM.
 
05-23-16, 05:31 AM   #13
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,289
Originally Posted by ObbleYeah View Post
I've thought about something similar re: hiding unnecessary unitframes when nameplate doubles exist. the playerframe seems totally pointless in combat now we have the player nameplate.

i'm halfway through working on an idea that detaches the nameplates & condenses them into a grid. a quick n dirty sketch: http://i.cubeupload.com/I188Bp.png

I've also found the plates relatively easy to style without a rewrite, though i haven't delved much into performance differences just yet:
https://github.com/obble/UIForModern...ates/plate.lua
I don't see how could a nameplate be better in any way then a static unitframe with fuckloads of more information.
 
05-23-16, 05:42 AM   #14
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
i've always been about cutting back unnecessary extras where it seems relevant though, having a ton of information on hand is cool but also gets extremely messy and convoluted quickly with priorities getting buried under other heaps of data.

anyway what does the player frame have that the nameplate doesn't? a dropdown menu and your portrait texture?

just a pet project anyway, i don't think id ever do anything beyond questing with something so minimal
 
05-23-16, 05:50 AM   #15
zork
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
zork's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jul 2008
Posts: 1,739
Nameplates are now normal unitframes with unitids. They have all the features as any other unitframe.
__________________
| Simple is beautiful.
| WoWI AddOns | GitHub | Zork (WoW) | TDMOG

"I wonder what the non-pathetic people are doing tonight?" - Rajesh Koothrappali (The Big Bang Theory)
 
05-23-16, 05:54 AM   #16
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,289
Originally Posted by ObbleYeah View Post
i've always been about cutting back unnecessary extras where it seems relevant though, having a ton of information on hand is cool but also gets extremely messy and convoluted quickly with priorities getting buried under other heaps of data.

anyway what does the player frame have that the nameplate doesn't? a dropdown menu and your portrait texture?

just a pet project anyway, i don't think id ever do anything beyond questing with something so minimal
I issue i see, is that the nameplate itself is moving around the screen while an unitframe have static position. I doubt any healer would like to heal off name plates.
 
05-23-16, 06:06 AM   #17
lieandswell
A Cyclonian
 
lieandswell's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 45
Originally Posted by ObbleYeah View Post
having a ton of information on hand is cool but also gets extremely messy and convoluted quickly with priorities getting buried under other heaps of data.
I've always thought it's better to have the right information. "Fuckloads more of it" is often just UI spam. Minimal UIs can be really useful in raids if they maximize the attention you can give to encounter mechanics. For example: if you're not a healer or a raid leader, you don't really need to see the raid frames.

That said, in the example you posted I'd find the lines linking the mobs to the unit frames really distracting. Nameplate position on screen provides that information already in a much more intuitive, less intrusive way.
__________________
1/5 15:55:46.001 UNIT_DIED, 0x0000000000000000, nil, 0x80000000, 0xF130001942161FB7, "Gamon", 0xa28
 
05-23-16, 06:10 AM   #18
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
That said, in the example you posted I'd find the lines linking the mobs to the unit frames really distracting. Nameplate position on screen provides that information already in a much more intuitive, less intrusive way.
agreed just exploring ways to have my cake and eat it too, benefiting play styles that prefer static frames like Resike states above. i also thought about a numbering system that puts '#1' next to the frame and above the head. but again: less intuitive, more cumbersome read process.
 
05-23-16, 06:12 AM   #19
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,289
Originally Posted by lieandswell View Post
I've always thought it's better to have the right information. "Fuckloads more of it" is often just UI spam. Minimal UIs can be really useful in raids if they maximize the attention you can give to encounter mechanics. For example: if you're not a healer or a raid leader, you don't really need to see the raid frames.

That said, in the example you posted I'd find the lines linking the mobs to the unit frames really distracting. Nameplate position on screen provides that information already in a much more intuitive, less intrusive way.
I don't think that you would like to see the friendly nameplates as a dps in raid, since you don't want to target them accidentally. So your only options is the unitframes, you can disable whatever part that you don't want to see.

Also: I doubt it that you can sort nameplates by role/class/name/party etc.
 
05-23-16, 06:14 AM   #20
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by Resike View Post
Also: I doubt it that you can sort nameplates by role/class/name/party etc.
you should *technically* be able to do this right? these are the same compactunitframes that the raid frame uses after all
 
 

WoWInterface » Site Forums » Archived Beta Forums » Legion Beta archived threads » Nameplate hacking and unit IDs

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off