Quantcast
4 fps - WoWInterface
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
05-01-09, 07:12 PM   #1
Spectro
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Spectro's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 142
4 fps

Today I am averaging 4 fps with Carbonite enabled (I'm 30+ fps w/o it).

My computer is slowly dying, so it may just not be able to handle Carbonite anymore, but I don't know.. still seems kind of strange, I guess.
__________________
multiplayermaniacs.com
 
05-01-09, 10:23 PM   #2
thunndaar
A Murloc Raider
 
thunndaar's Avatar
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 7
Originally Posted by Spectro View Post
Today I am averaging 4 fps with Carbonite enabled (I'm 30+ fps w/o it).

My computer is slowly dying, so it may just not be able to handle Carbonite anymore, but I don't know.. still seems kind of strange, I guess.
you posted no information regarding your computer specs or carbonite
 
05-01-09, 11:11 PM   #3
Spectro
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Spectro's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 142
Originally Posted by thunndaar View Post
you posted no information regarding your computer specs or carbonite
What difference do my computer specs make? It's worked fine for over a month now. I've tried running just Carbonite with all video settings on low and I still get under 10 fps. All settings on medium-high with all my mods enabled and I average 30 fps.

The problem is clearly with Carbonite..
__________________
multiplayermaniacs.com
 
05-02-09, 03:31 AM   #4
stormkeep
Drunken Dorf
 
stormkeep's Avatar
Premium Member
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 66
Originally Posted by Spectro View Post
What difference do my computer specs make? It's worked fine for over a month now. I've tried running just Carbonite with all video settings on low and I still get under 10 fps. All settings on medium-high with all my mods enabled and I average 30 fps.

The problem is clearly with Carbonite..
Not necessarily, which is why you need to provide more details.

Carbonite has 0 impact on my fps so using the same logic you are using I could just rebut and say it's clearly NOT carbonite.

Neither one of us would be necessarily correct because the logic is flawed. Potentially you could have a hardware issue that causes your problem and something unique to carbonite is why you see the issue when carbonite is running. That doesn't make it a problem with carbonite though, if the underlying issue is hardware.

Let me give you an example using my own system. I have high end memory that requires higher voltage than the default settings my bios assigns to it. If I do not manually increase the voltage for my memory I will get frequent crashes but ONLY when playing high end games that push my system to the limit. When I originally discovered this problem I only had a single game that would cause this crash. With your logic, I should have concluded that the game was the problem and needed a patch. That was absolutely not the case, and no amount of patches would have solved my problem because the CAUSE was my memory voltage, and not the game at all.

You could also have a different addon causing problems in conflict with carbonite, but it sounds like you are saying your problem exists even with all addons other than carbonite enabled.

Anyway, you do need to give more details if you actually want your problem solved. Your snotty reply when asked for those details doesn't help your case any.

Last edited by stormkeep : 05-02-09 at 03:35 AM.
 
05-02-09, 08:12 PM   #5
Spectro
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Spectro's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 142
I gave up on waiting. Fresh install fixed it. I guess I was right.
__________________
multiplayermaniacs.com

Last edited by Spectro : 05-02-09 at 08:45 PM.
 
05-03-09, 10:24 PM   #6
carboniteaddon
A Pyroguard Emberseer
 
carboniteaddon's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 2,245
Fresh install of what? The game? Carbonite? Installing addon files again actually does nothing settings wise, since all addon settings are in files in the folders in the WTF folder.
__________________
faatal
 
05-04-09, 01:40 PM   #7
Spectro
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Spectro's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 142
I meant I deleted the WTF files as well as the addon files (just in case one file may have conflicted with another, or something).
__________________
multiplayermaniacs.com
 
 

WoWInterface » Featured Projects » Carbonite » Carbonite Archive » 4 fps

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off