Thread Tools Display Modes
07-26-14, 02:44 AM   #21
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Actually on second thought, I don't think you need the SetMovable/SetUserPlaced stuff for the boss frames, since they don't support manual movement like the player/target/focus frames. Just use the ClearAllPoints and SetPoint lines.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 03:12 AM   #22
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Can confirm that doesn't work either. The printouts do indicate that there's a small window to allow movement/repositioning before InCombatLockdown takes effect though.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 04:36 AM   #23
Lombra
A Molten Giant
 
Lombra's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 554
Aha. I was thinking of arena frames, maybe.

I don't know what you could do short of repositioning that MinimapCluster anchor then. Maybe if you set a different point than TOPRIGHT, though I don't know what the logic behind anchor priority is, and it might have some unwanted side effects. That UI parent frame managing function is gonna get executed every now and then and reset the position.
__________________
Grab your sword and fight the Horde!

Last edited by Lombra : 07-26-14 at 04:46 AM.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 09:52 AM   #24
jeruku
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 223
Does this help?

This should replace the need to hook SetPoint, though you may still need the combat check.

Lua Code:
  1. Boss1TargetFrame:ClearAllPoints()
  2. Boss1TargetFrame:SetPoint("TOP", Minimap, "BOTTOM", 0, -70)
  3.  
  4. hooksecurefunc("UIParentManageFramePositions", function()
  5.     Boss1TargetFrame:ClearAllPoints()
  6.     Boss1TargetFrame:SetPoint("TOP", Minimap, "BOTTOM", 0, -70)
  7. end)
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison

Last edited by jeruku : 07-26-14 at 02:40 PM. Reason: erroneous code
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 10:30 AM   #25
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Code:
unexpected symbol near ')'
and

Code:
Usage: hooksecurefunc([table,] "function", hookfunc)
when i tried to add an "end" ^

from that.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 12:12 PM   #26
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Lombra View Post
Aha. I was thinking of arena frames, maybe.

I don't know what you could do short of repositioning that MinimapCluster anchor then. Maybe if you set a different point than TOPRIGHT, though I don't know what the logic behind anchor priority is, and it might have some unwanted side effects. That UI parent frame managing function is gonna get executed every now and then and reset the position.
It's not anchored to the minimap sadly, its on the UIParent.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 12:15 PM   #27
Resike
A Pyroguard Emberseer
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 1,290
Originally Posted by Phanx View Post
Actually on second thought, I don't think you need the SetMovable/SetUserPlaced stuff for the boss frames, since they don't support manual movement like the player/target/focus frames. Just use the ClearAllPoints and SetPoint lines.
The key of the SetUserPlaced here would be that it's going to set in place inside Blizzard's code, and not from an addon code, so it can modifiy protected frames in combat too.
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 02:44 PM   #28
jeruku
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 223
Originally Posted by ObbleYeah View Post
Code:
unexpected symbol near ')'
and

Code:
Usage: hooksecurefunc([table,] "function", hookfunc)
when i tried to add an "end" ^

from that.
Try removing the first part inside hooksecurefunc. I fixed my code in my previous post to reflect this.
I haven't tested it yet so I apologize in advance.

I will check later.
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison
  Reply With Quote
07-26-14, 04:27 PM   #29
ObbleYeah
A Cobalt Mageweaver
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 210
Code:
:317: hooksecurefunc(): UIParentManageFramePositions is not a function
  Reply With Quote
07-27-14, 01:02 PM   #30
jeruku
A Cobalt Mageweaver
 
jeruku's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Oct 2010
Posts: 223
Sorry for the wait.

Yeah, aside from making an exact copy and disabling the Blizzard boss frames I got nothing. I had even thought of some other options but being secure frames makes playing with them difficult.
__________________
"I have not failed, I simply found 10,000 ways that did not work." - Thomas Edison
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » Developer Discussions » Lua/XML Help » taint from moving unit frames

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off