Thread Tools Display Modes
08-12-10, 11:10 AM   #1
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
Need help testing FreeShout.

http://www.wowinterface.com/download...FreeShout.html

I released this earlier today and it works perfectly for me, but for one of my friends, the reminder won't go away in combat even when he has the shout buffed. Our talents and all are the same and I'm utterly clueless as to what could be causing this.

I'd appreciate some testers to see if it works properly, and if not, perhaps help me debug it.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-10, 04:05 PM   #2
Nobgul
A Molten Giant
 
Nobgul's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 693
Seems to be working fine for me. Only tried it on the low lvl mobs outside of org. But that should not matter. As for your friend, have him disable all his addons except this one and see what happens.
  Reply With Quote
08-12-10, 04:44 PM   #3
ravagernl
Proceritate Corporis
Premium Member
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 1,176
Are you sure it is not working or is it just greater blessing of might(the improved one overwrites battle shout, iirc)?

By the way, your OnEvent is slightly inefficient in that it also triggers updates for every unit in your raid, and targets etc when their aura's change.
Code:
if event == "UNIT_AURA" and ... ~= "player" then return end
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 02:18 AM   #4
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
Thanks for the replies. I did ask him to disable all other addons, but it changed nothing.

mrruben5, if the battle shout mode is on the addon also checks for (greater) blessing of might, so it can't be that - he didn't have that buff on him, either.

Thank you for the efficiency remark. I've added UNIT_ENTERING_VEHICLE and UNIT_EXITING_VEHICLE too, because otherwise they'll also fire for other raid units.

Code:
if (event == "UNIT_AURA" or event == "UNIT_ENTERING_VEHICLE" or event == "UNIT_EXITED_VEHICLE") and ... ~= "player" then return end
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 06:06 AM   #5
Sideshow
A Flamescale Wyrmkin
 
Sideshow's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 103
you are using spell id's - it could be another id

it is of course the most elegant way, but checking simply on buff names instead, will never ever be wrong... string "Battle Shout" is always the same, no matter what level, rank or talents ...
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 06:16 AM   #6
yj589794
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 314
Originally Posted by Sideshow View Post
you are using spell id's - it could be another id

it is of course the most elegant way, but checking simply on buff names instead, will never ever be wrong... string "Battle Shout" is always the same, no matter what level, rank or talents ...

Even on non-English game clients? I'd be surprised if the strings were not localised.
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 06:20 AM   #7
yj589794
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 314
Originally Posted by Haleth View Post
http://www.wowinterface.com/download...FreeShout.html

I released this earlier today and it works perfectly for me, but for one of my friends, the reminder won't go away in combat even when he has the shout buffed. Our talents and all are the same and I'm utterly clueless as to what could be causing this.

I'd appreciate some testers to see if it works properly, and if not, perhaps help me debug it.
You are only checking for the highest rank of the aura. Might be worth checking the lower ranks and giving a warning that a higher rank is available.

Also, get your friend to check the rank of shout they are using. (learning a new spell rank in dual-spec is known to cause spell rank issues when switching to the other spec)


-------

Your commanding shout check is searching for the lowest rank of the aura, I suspect you meant to check for the highest rank

Last edited by yj589794 : 08-13-10 at 06:23 AM. Reason: added commanding shout stuff
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 06:23 AM   #8
Ailae
A Rage Talon Dragon Guard
 
Ailae's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 318
It's using the localized name for each buff. GetSpellInfo(id) returns the localized name as its first return.
__________________
Oh, the simulated horror!
  Reply With Quote
08-13-10, 06:30 AM   #9
Haleth
This Space For Rent
 
Haleth's Avatar
Featured
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,173
As far as I know GetSpellInfo will work on any rank and shouldn't affect the functionality, right? I've tried it on both a level 80 and a level 2 warrior, it doesn't make a difference.

I checked with my friend and his spell ranks are the same, so I really don't know what can be causing this.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » Released AddOns » Need help testing FreeShout.


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off