Thread Tools Display Modes
08-20-12, 08:48 PM   #1
neerdeth
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Aug 2012
Posts: 3
all targeted?

I'm looking for an addon that tell whether all raid dps is on the same target.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-12, 09:49 PM   #2
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
I don't know of any dedicated addons for that purpose, but you could use any of the numerous tooltip addons that show you which group members are targeting the unit (eg. mouse over a unit nobody should be hitting, and see who is targeting it), or a combat meter addon showing damage taken by NPCs.

Or, here is a macro that will tell you which raid members are targeting a unit they can attack that is not the same as your target:
Code:
/run local g, n, t, u = UnitGUID, UnitName, "target"; for i = 1, GetNumRaidMembers() do u = "raid"..i; if g(u..t) ~= g(t) and UnitCanAttack(u, u..t) then print(n(u), "is targeting", n(u..t)) end end
If you want to use it in parties, change GetNumRaidMembers to GetNumPartyMembers and "raid" to "party".

MoP version:
Code:
/run local g, n, t, b, u = UnitGUID, UnitName, "target", IsInRaid() and "raid" or "party"; for i = 1, GetNumGroupMembers() do u = b..i; if g(u..t) ~= g(t) and UnitCanAttack(u, u..t) then print(n(u), "is targeting", n(u..t)) end end
You'll get false positives if you have an offtank holding another mob, or something, but it shouldn't report healers since it checks to make sure that the target is attackable before reporting.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.

Last edited by Phanx : 09-05-12 at 08:06 PM.
  Reply With Quote
08-20-12, 10:59 PM   #3
Seerah
Fishing Trainer
 
Seerah's Avatar
WoWInterface Super Mod
Featured
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 10,860
There are also tooltip addons that display the target of your mouseover unit (ie, you could mouseover your raid frames to see who/what they have targeted).
__________________
"You'd be surprised how many people violate this simple principle every day of their lives and try to fit square pegs into round holes, ignoring the clear reality that Things Are As They Are." -Benjamin Hoff, The Tao of Pooh

  Reply With Quote
09-04-12, 11:16 PM   #4
jedimasterlenny
A Defias Bandit
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 3
That macro doesn't work, can you explain why?
  Reply With Quote
09-05-12, 01:23 AM   #5
UrbanArmitage
An Aku'mai Servant
Join Date: Jun 2012
Posts: 37
Wow, that's a bit like 'I got in the space shuttle and pushed the 'launch' button and nothing happened. Can you explain why?'

You may need to provide a little more information before anyone is going to be able to even start trying to help you with your problem.
  Reply With Quote
09-05-12, 01:54 AM   #6
Phanx
Cat.
 
Phanx's Avatar
AddOn Author - Click to view addons
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 5,617
Make sure you read the whole post, and aren't using the WoW 4.x macro in WoW 5.x, or vice versa (I don't know what region you play in, or what patch is current there). Otherwise, yeah, be more specific. Do you get an error message? Do you have error messages enabled under Interface Options > Help? Do you have BugSack or Swatter installed and enabled? Were you in a party or a raid? Were you in a dungeon, a battleground, an arena, or sitting in the auction house? Are you sure any group members were targeting something that (a) was not the same thing you were targeting, and (b) they could attack? etc.
__________________
Retired author of too many addons.
Message me if you're interested in taking over one of my addons.
Don’t message me about addon bugs or programming questions.
  Reply With Quote

WoWInterface » AddOns, Compilations, Macros » AddOn Search/Requests » all targeted?


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off